Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 3833 (Misses Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 185 times 46 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:Sixtiesgirl
photo
About Sixtiesgirl
NM
Member since: 9/29/12
Reviews written: 73
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 73
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/3/13 5:16 PM
Last Updated:11/3/13 5:19 PM
Project Photo:Simplicity: 3833 by Sixtiesgirl

Simplicity: 3833 by Sixtiesgirl  Simplicity: 3833 by Sixtiesgirl  
Pattern Photo:Simplicity 3833
Simplicity Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Recommend, with Modifications
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton Sateen  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description: A line vintage 60's dress with sleeve options and optional back belt.

Pattern Sizing:
6-14
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? It looked like it but I did make some changes in the sleeves and added a collar.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? The sizing on the 60's patterns is strange. They have a very high neck and tight arm scythes. I like the yoke and back belt on this pattern.

Fabric Used: I used a cotton sateen for the yoke and sleeves and a quilting cotton for the remainder of the dress.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I added a scalloped cap sleeve and a scalloped collar with buttons down the front. I also increased the arm scythe. I cut a size ten but took it in at the waist to a size 6. My daughter needs the 10 for the shoulder width.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I am still experimenting with the neckline and arm scythe on this dress.

Conclusion: I am pleased with how this pattern turned out. I wanted to make a little dress in fall colors that could be worn with tights and boots.

Sewing Sixties
Buy this pattern for $15.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
madbadger said...
Love your print selection!
11/3/13 5:45 PM
Lavenderblonde said...
Looks beautiful!
11/3/13 7:50 PM
Pink Flamingo said...
Looks great! You've inspired me -I have this in my pattern stash and have been meaning to give it a go for a while now.
11/4/13 0:23 AM
stonecutter17 said...
I love your take on this one!
11/4/13 1:59 AM
Pj3g said...
Really cute and I like the fabrics!
11/4/13 4:41 PM
Rosalaya said...
Yes, this is an inspired dress. Love the fabric choices. I can see that it would also suit to have the bodice I a knit fabric.
11/7/13 6:40 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

No Pattern Used story board
photo
Review by bananaoil on 3/19/11
Read Review

Sis Boom Vanessa Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Vanessa Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Shannon Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Shannon Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Drafted from RTW 0001
photo
Review by Mosews2 on 6/7/13
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings
Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern
SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9780 Pattern
Burda 9780 Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6176 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )
New Look 6176 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us