Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5825 (Women's Dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 208 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:knitsewmuch
photo
Friend of PR
About knitsewmuchstar
VA USA
Member since: 10/31/08
Reviews written: 37
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 13 people
patterns reviewed: 36
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/10/13 9:05 AM
Last Updated:11/10/13 9:18 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 
Project Photo:Butterick: 5825 by knitsewmuch

Pattern Photo:Butterick 5825
Butterick Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Recommend, with Modifications
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Plus    
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Ponte Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description: Close-fitting dress has overlapped right front, stitched hems and uneven front hemline. Topstitching. A: Bands. A,B: Welts. C: Single-layer flounce (wrong side shows).


Pattern Sizing: 18W to 32W

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, although they were somewhat unusual to me. You are instructed to sew the left front and back shoulder and side seams. Then sew corresponding facings. You are then instructed to sew the facing assembly to the left front and the back neckline, then sew the right side seam but not the right shoulder seam. After the sewing the front facing the right shoulder seam is sewn.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I've made this before and did not like the hemmed flounce so this time I made the change described below.

Fabric Used: royal blue ponteroma knit from Hancock Fabrics.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I took my cue from a RTW dress I have that has a flounce and left the flounce edge unfinished. I trimmed away the hem allowance from the flounce and since I was using a knit I did not have to worry about the raw edges. Although the wrong side shows it is not as obvious since there is no sewn hem showing on the wrong side of the flounce. I like this look much better.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Now that I have the pattern alterations worked out I will make view A.

Conclusion: I almost did not give this pattern a chance. The modifications I have made on this dress and the first dress I made from this pattern make this pattern a keeper. I think th asymmetrical flounce is figure flattering.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Adaire said...
Beautiful! Wish this pattern came in smaller sizes as it is very flattering.
11/10/13 9:29 AM
Sew Good said...
Yes, I agree with Adaire. I would love to make this dress to if it came in more sizes. I would take your suggestion about leaving the flounce with a raw edge. It probably hangs nicer too. Great job. It's very flattering on you
11/10/13 10:16 AM
redside said...
That dress looks really fabulous on you!
11/10/13 10:39 AM
canei said...
Very nice!
11/10/13 11:41 AM
sunnysewing said...
very pretty! I love the ruffle down the front.
11/10/13 1:29 PM
knitmachinequeen said...
You look fabulous in it. I now want to add this to my stash! Thanks for the heads-up on the unhemmed flounce.
11/10/13 4:10 PM
BeaJay said...
That dress looks lovely on you and as you say - very flattering
11/10/13 4:14 PM
stonecutter17 said...
Just lovely!
11/10/13 8:36 PM
TJSEWS said...
Gorgeous! The placement of the ruffle is just perfect. Beautiful color too.
11/10/13 10:05 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Very nice dress! Love the flounce!
11/11/13 6:46 AM
charliegirl127 said...
Love your dress. The flounce is just right and so flattering. Hate that this dress doesn't come in smaller sizes.
11/12/13 11:04 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

BurdaStyle Magazine 11-2009-134 Pyjamas
photo
Review by lara900 on 11/23/09
Read Review

McCalls 5965 Pattern ( Size 1-2-3 )
McCalls 5965 Pattern ( Size 1-2-3 )

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5947 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Butterick 5947 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5525 Misses' Top
photo
Review by Michelle L on 10/3/10
Read Review

Victory Anouk Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Anouk Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Close Case Files Bombshell Swimsuit Digital Pattern (Print at home)
Close Case Files Bombshell Swimsuit Digital Pattern (Print at home)

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern
SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us