Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 6796 (Misses' Tops) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 316 times 19 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:SewButterflySew
photo
About SewButterflySewstar
CA USA
Member since: 9/10/12
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/7/13 1:13 PM
Project Photo:McCall's: 6796 by SewButterflySew

Pattern Photo:McCall's 6796
McCall's Pattern Info

More Info provided by SewButterflySew

Pattern Rating:Easy & Great for Beginners
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $14.36 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Sweater Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description:
MISSES' TOPS: Close-fitting, pullover tops have collar variations and narrow hem. C and D: button trim. Designed for medium weight moderate stretch knits. SUGGESTED FABRICS: Jerseys, Cotton Knits, Sweater Knits.

Pattern Sizing:
A5(6-8-10-12-14), E5(14-16-18-20-22)

I cut a straight 10, my usual size for knit tops. I don’t know if it was the pattern or the fabric, but I had to remove a lot of fabric from the pieces. I think I ended up taking about an inch off of each side seam.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes, though I lengthened the sleeves from 3/4 to full-length as I'm not a fan of 3/4 length sleeves.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
I didn't do much more than glance at them, but they looked fine.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
The angled/split cowl with the buttons gives the top just enough of a pop to make it more than just a t-shirt without being too edgy/extreme, and makes for a very versatile top that I can wear with jeans or can dress up and wear to work.

Fabric Used:
A very stretchy ribbed sweater knit that wound up being way more difficult to work with than I expected it to be.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes, definitely. Though it is fairly distinctive, I do plan to make one or two more, as I have a feeling it will look significantly different in different colors/textures.

See more on my blog post about this top here
Buy this pattern for $14.36  List Price: $17.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
canei said...
Really nice! Love the fabric and looks good on you. I am making my version this weekend.
11/7/13 1:43 PM
sunnysewing said...
Lovely top! The neckline with the button/split/cowl is very eye catching. I love that it can be dressed up or down. too bad your rib knit was difficult to work with but you turned out a beautiful top!
11/7/13 3:05 PM
grays08 said...
Very cute and great fit. I've got this on my list to do soon so appreciate your review. : )
11/7/13 4:33 PM
caper81 said...
This top turned out really nice! Perfect for fall:)
11/7/13 6:50 PM
madbadger said...
Lovely sweater!
11/7/13 8:25 PM
SewWil said...
Pretty top!
11/7/13 8:41 PM
carolynw said...
Great looking top you made it a perfect fit for you
11/7/13 11:13 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
So luxe looking! Great fabric and fit.
11/8/13 10:43 AM
bunnypn said...
Great top. Would love to know what you did with your edges. They are a nice touch and darker.
11/9/13 12:11 PM
SewButterflySew said...
Bunnypn, I finished the edges on the hem/sleeves using my serger to do a mock rolled hem - I go into more detail on that in my blog post mentioned above if you want more detail.
11/9/13 7:09 PM
Ashford said...
Good choice to use your fabric for this sweater. They compliment each other. And, the sweater compliments you, too. Well done on working with the difficult fabric and getting the fit just right. I agree. Do make several more. It looks good on you.
11/17/13 7:14 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Simplicity 5581
photo
Review by Larisa on 6/26/13
Read Review

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Jack and Jill Shortalls Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4 T )
Peek-A Boo Jack and Jill Shortalls Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4 T )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S School Bus T-Shirt Digital Pattern (6m-4)
Oliver + S School Bus T-Shirt Digital Pattern (6m-4)

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7364 COORDINATES
photo
Review by nickelc624 on 6/22/13
Read Review

Simplicity 1900 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 1900 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6960 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
McCalls 6960 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us