SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Needle Nook Fabrics> Queen Bra Elite (Queen Bra Elite)

2 more reviews
Viewed 189 times 
Reviewed by:JDpenelope
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About JDpenelopestarstar
Member since: 9/9/03
Reviews written: 84
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 27 people
patterns reviewed: 78
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/11/13 6:04 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annette Wright said...
Oops, I guess I need to remember to comment on the underwires, I'll add that soon. Yes, I always use underwires.
11/13/13 7:45 AM
lacroise1 said...
great review... Thanks for all the info... It is hard finding that elusive perfect bra pattern.
11/12/13 3:08 PM
JDpenelope said...
Immelu Ha! I was just beginning to conclude the same thing about the band size! If I don't add the 4 inches (or whatever), then the difference between my rib age measurement and bust would mean that I would need a G cup, using Anne St Claire's formula � going on memory here, but the figures are in the ballpark. And a G cup is what Anne said I need, although how she arrived at that I'll never know. Thanks for the links; will study them carefully. Now your review just posted is calling me to read it!
11/11/13 10:56 PM
Immelu said...
For band size, I think the whole measure yourself and add 4 inches (or is it 5?) is just bogus. I use the true measurement to determine the band size, then figure out the cup size up from that. I learned this in the clothhabit sew along. Here's the link where she describes what size to make: http://clothhabit.com/2013/01/bra-making-sew-along-measuring-for-fit/ I also like my bras snug though, but not so tight that I can't breathe. You should be able to pull the back of the band out a couple of inches...here's a good visual. http://www.herroom.com/bra-fitting-advice,902,30.html
11/11/13 9:54 PM
sewing for fun said...
Thank you so much for sharing your experience and excellent photos. Your bra looks very pretty and I'm glad you will try again. I prefer Anne's daughter Monica's bra pattern, the Bravo 2, for support and shape for my own breast shape. I also highly recommend Monica's bra fitting/pattern adjustment video (it is wonderful!!!) and her construction video - see bravobellabras.com . Keep up the great work. You might also like the bramakerssupply.com Shelly bra pattern... or maybe even clone your own.
11/11/13 8:38 PM
JDpenelope said...
Quickie and Immelu (and Annette!): Thanks for your generous feedback; it is really encouraging, after initial discouragement. Quickie � Never thought I was plus size, until looking in the mirror and seeing myself in this bra. I have been over and over the measurement instructions and can't see that I've made a mistake, but the bra cups are definitely too small. And maybe the band is too long. (Not sure about that. So it's back to the drawing board. Immelu, now I realize you are right: that I shouldn't even attempt to make a finished, wearable bra until the sizing issues are worked out. I just discovered the fascinating, 46-page discussion in the Beginner's Forum about Bra Making, and am slowly making my way through it.
11/11/13 8:01 PM
Immelu said...
Wow, thanks for the shout out!!! It sounds like this was a great learning experience! For the top stitching on the cup, I've found that I prefer to use my triple stitch zig zag. For whatever reason, I think it makes a far less noticeable line. I found that when I was trying to get the right size, I'd do super quick and dirty muslin using muslin for the cups, power net for the band, ribbons for straps (attached by safety pins!) and underwire casings, basted on hooks and eyes (and usually completely mis matched thread from random bobbins that I had no known use for.) While these were quite possibly the ugliest bras ever (if you could even call them that), they helped out a lot, and I didn't feel like i wasted time on a failure. The powernet and hooks would get recycled on the real bra. Good luck on the next try! Once you have the sizing down, you'll be golden.
11/11/13 7:16 PM
Quickie said...
In bra making for plus sizes you have to overcome yout wadders first. At least it has taught you to completely sew the bra. The support of the bra for plus sizes is generally not achieved in the first bra. Go on trying.... You will win
11/11/13 1:30 PM
JDpenelope said...
Annette, Thanks for the helpful feedback. We are the same size, and after re-reading your terrific reviews of Kwik Sew 3594, I might order that pattern. (KS 3594 is the bra that you sewed for the lingerie contest, and placed 2nd, as I recall!). I read both of your reviews and don't see any mention of underwires in them or in the pattern description. I guess it would be easy to add channeling and underwires, though. You asked about the size Yes, the cups are too small; also, the cups appear too pointy and there isn't enough uplift (but that could be due to my insubstantial straps).
11/11/13 10:08 AM
Annette Wright said...
For a first bra it actually fits quite well (except for being too small) Is the too small just the cup size issue, and not a band issue? Does the underwire sit under your bust. I too didn't think this pattern fit my bust the best, but it was an excellent learning experience. Your elastic under the cup being too larger is normal, cutting it away is correct and stitching over it. Very nice job and glad you will try again.
11/11/13 9:25 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

McCall's 5525

photo
by: velosewer

Review
Vogue Patterns 8248

photo
by: halleyscom...

Review
Mini Miranda Bag

Mini Miranda Bag

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 100mm Shell Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 100mm Shell Purse Pattern

Buy Now