Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Jalie: 3245 (Raglan Tee, Racerback Tank and Tunics) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 321 times 14 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:michellep74
photo
Friend of PR
About michellep74starstarstar
WA USA
Member since: 7/19/07
Reviews written: 140
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 105 people
patterns reviewed: 121
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/11/13 1:52 PM
Last Updated:11/11/13 2:00 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 
Project Photo:Jalie: 3245 by michellep74

Jalie: 3245 by michellep74  Jalie: 3245 by michellep74  
Pattern Photo:Jalie 3245
Jalie Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Great Wardrobe Builder
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Rayon Jersey  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Background: I wanted some simple tunics to wear with black leggings/ponte pull-on pants and boots, since that's the standard "mom-on-the-go" uniform here in Seattle. This pattern looked like a nice option for that, with the added bonus that I could whip up a matching top for my daughter at the same time. (Cheesy, I know, but we won't wear them at the same time except for this photo shoot!)

Pattern Description: From the Jalie web site: "A: Raglan top with curved hem, half sleeve and binded neckline B: Raglan tunic with curved hem, half sleeve, patch pockets and binded neckline C: Racerback top with curved hem, binded neckline and armhole D: Racerback tunic with curved hem, patch pockets binded neckline and armhole."

I started off with the intent of making the tunic for myself, but didn't check the length before cutting my fabric. The finished length of the tunic was far too long for me (I'm 5'2"--the tunic ended just above my knee), so I took 3.5" off the length.

I sewed the top version for my daughter. I didn't see a tunic hem option in the children's sizes.

Pattern Sizing:

All 29 sizes included in one envelope: Size 12M through women's sizes up to a 52" full bust.

I sewed a size E (18M) for my 16 month-old-daughter who usually wears a size 18M in RTW. Width was spot-on for her, but the sleeves and overall length was a bit short. To get longer use out of the top, I'd sew a 2T the next time.

For myself (48" full bust) and having heard that you can go by full bust size with Jalie AND that there's a famous lack-of-ease in Jalie patterns, I went up a size and sewed a size EE (50" full bust). I'm not sure if it's because my fabric is very stretchy/drapey or the style of the top compared to other Jalies, but I would have been fine going by my size chart size (DD).

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

Yes, except that mine was much longer on my short figure, pre-hemming. If you're short-ish, you'll want to check the length on this one before cutting your fabric.

Were the instructions easy to follow?

The instructions were very clear and concise. This is my second Jalie pattern, and I still can't decide if I like their method of binding. It leaves a neat finish, though.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

Likes: I love that all of the pattern sizes are included in one envelope. The top/tunic goes together very fast, as well. I think I spent about 4-5 hours total, between tracing, cutting out, and sewing both tops. This is a good, basic pattern.

Dislikes: I would have liked more shaping at the waist, but that's easy enough to add.

Fabric Used:

For the main body, I used a rayon knit (formerly a "one crazy priced fabric" from a few weeks ago) from FabricMart. The sleeves are from a bamboo/rayon knit from my stash, originally purchased from fabric.com a few years ago. I chose the fabric combo for the print/color, but in future versions, I'd go with fabrics with a bit more body.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

None, this time. Will lengthen for my daughter (or go up a size) next time, and will just go with the "top" (not tunic) view for myself next time, and possibly go down a size, if I feel like re-tracing the pattern for something this basic.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

I would definitely sew this again, and I would recommend this to anyone looking for a nice, basic scoop neck raglan top/tunic pattern.

Conclusion:

Good, basic top pattern. A good pattern to have in your arsenal, especially if you're sewing for multiple women or girls of different sizes.

Buy this pattern for $12.75     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewme47 said...
Cute on both models! It's good to know that this pattern will work for us busty girls.
11/11/13 2:51 PM
mhk3boys said...
Very cute! They look comfortable.
11/11/13 3:10 PM
Riesie said...
You're looking fabulous, and your munchkin is a doll!! Love the top, too
11/11/13 4:26 PM
AuntieShel said...
Ooh, twins!!! You both look adorable and I don't think the matching outfits are cheesy at all!!!
11/11/13 7:30 PM
Christas said...
I've been thinking about buying this pattern. You both look wonderful in your new tops! I love matching outfits! I used to dress five of my daughters in the same fabric. That was probably cheesy of me, but your twinkie versions look great!
11/11/13 11:24 PM
1SewSweet said...
These are so cute! Not "cheesy" at all, I love this look and would love to do the same with my granddaughter!
11/12/13 5:17 AM
canei said...
Cute...I think you both look super cute... do wear them at the same time...
11/12/13 7:03 AM
cocosloft said...
Super cute, love that you show both versions! I've been thinking about getting this pattern, thks for the review!
11/12/13 7:44 AM
sew4grands said...
Take it from someone who was dressed by Mom with matching Mother-Daughter outfits. Not only cheesy, but humiliating for daughter. I hated dressing like my Mother, she loved it.
11/12/13 11:02 AM
USMCMom said...
You both look great! Thanks for the tip about the tunic length. I'm 5 ft. 1 and a member of the FBA club, so always have to watch out for length/scale with tops like this. Nice review
11/13/13 3:38 PM
AdaH said...
I like the strip and solid together. Very comfortable looking and the shoulders fit.
11/26/13 6:21 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Butterick 5173
photo
Review by didda on 5/30/08
Read Review

SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern
SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King
BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Class Picnic Blouse & Shorts Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)
Oliver + S Class Picnic Blouse & Shorts Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Betsey Apron Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Betsey Apron Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Keyka Lou Curvy Clutch
photo
Review by FJT on 5/2/12
Read Review

Vogue 2842 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22 )
Vogue 2842 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9447 Pattern
Burda 9447 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us