Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 6842 (Misses' Skirts) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 239 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:Dellia45
photo
Friend of PR
About Dellia45star
SC USA
Member since: 2/6/13
Reviews written: 50
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 48
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/10/13 5:29 PM
Last Updated:11/22/13 11:33 PM
Project Photo:McCall's: 6842 by Dellia45

McCall's: 6842 by Dellia45  McCall's: 6842 by Dellia45  
Pattern Photo:McCall's 6842
McCall's Pattern Info

More Info provided by Dellia45

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $14.36 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description: Misses skirt with length varations. Drop waste and flounce skirt.

Pattern Sizing: 14-22. I used a 14.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I loved the fact that there were not a lot of pieces to cut out or figure out.

Fabric Used: Wool.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I cut a 16 at the waist then graded down to a 14 at the hips.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I WILL be sewing this again. I recommend this pattern as one of the GO TO patterns for skirts.

Conclusion: This was an awesomely easy pattern. I enjoyed every minute with this project. I like the little flirty piece at the bottom of the skirt. It's like a little girl's twirly skirt. I also think that the fabric suggestions might limit a lot of people when making this skirt. I would encourage you to think outside the box when it comes to fabric with this one. I used a light weight wool because of the suggested fabric, but I know I can use this pattern for a denim skirt later.

Buy this pattern for $14.36  List Price: $17.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
WinterQueen said...
Lovely skirt and looks great on you. I cant wait to make this too, for my trip to NYC :)x
11/10/13 5:44 PM
Dellia45 said...
Thanks WinterQueen, you are going to be making more than 1 of these. Have fun on you trip.
11/10/13 5:50 PM
MrsCharisma said...
I just picked this pattern up. Your skirt is exactly as I envisioned for me. I love it! And the pink looks so good. Nice work!!
11/10/13 6:20 PM
sewmytime said...
This is so cute!
11/10/13 9:04 PM
SewLibra said...
Your skirt looks so pretty, and I love it paired with your sweater and metal belt. Awesome look!
11/11/13 0:26 AM
EleanorSews said...
Very pretty skirt. Even at age 64 I love a skirt that moves. Yours appears to hang so gracefully. Just lovely and great fit.
11/23/13 4:31 AM
mary in FL said...
I like the flirty part, too! That's one good looking skirt!
11/23/13 12:56 PM
merry-one said...
Cute, love the shoes too.
11/23/13 6:59 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Vogue Patterns 1165 Misses' Shirt
photo
Review by Ann Smith on 7/19/10
Read Review

Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern
Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt
Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Hang Time Basketball Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Hang Time Basketball Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Secret Agent Trench Coat Digital Pattern ( 6M- 4)
Oliver + S Secret Agent Trench Coat Digital Pattern ( 6M- 4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7556 Misses DRESS
photo
Review by lqtang on 12/29/13
Read Review

Butterick 5951 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Butterick 5951 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1367 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 1367 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us