Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 6614 (Misses'/Men's Tops and Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 223 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:WinterQueen
photo
About WinterQueenstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 5/27/12
Reviews written: 37
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 37
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/8/14 11:48 AM
Last Updated:1/8/14 12:57 PM
Project Photo:McCall's: 6614 by WinterQueen

Pattern Photo:McCall's 6614
McCall's Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Recommend, with Modifications
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Jackets    Tops    Coat/Jacket    Mens - Shirts    
Available for sale on PR: $15.16 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Boucle  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description:
His and hers zipped top or pullover jumper. Pullover has princess seams, neckband and cuffed raglan sleeves. Zipped top has pockets and hood. I made the pullover top.

Pattern Sizing:
Unisex Sml-Med-Lrg (XM) I made the small.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes!

Were the instructions easy to follow?
The instructions were as easy to follow as this was to make. I didn't follow them but I read through them before construction.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
Dislike the photo on the pattern envelope! Doesn't do this top justice at all. The diagrams are what made me notice this pattern. I also disliked the fit. Other reviewers said this pattern came up big. I agree.
I Like how it was quick and easy to make and the princess seams. They turned out to be a blessing for fitting!

Fabric Used:
I used a beautiful Boucle fabric (which was probably far too nice to be used for this pattern lol!)

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I made no design changes but I had to more or less re-fit the entire front. The pattern envelope says this is close fitting. It's not. Not for a female anyway. The front panel is far to wide, I had to cut that seam down by 1" each side. I also had to do the same on the front raglan sleeve seam. With these tweaks, it fitted much nicely.

After completing this jumper I didn't like how it looked on me at all (see my blog) No fault with the pattern, the length just didn't suit me. So I shortened it (quite a lot!) and that has made a HUGE difference.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I wouldn't make this again but would recommend with fitting adjustments. Yes its labelled as an easy pattern (which it is) but you would need to know how to alter the pattern for the fit. Not so easy for a beginner.

Conclusion:
With fit modifications this is a lovely jumper which I am now pleased with.

For more photos and info, please stop by my blog
Click here

Buy this pattern for $15.16  List Price: $18.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
2 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
lamstu said...
The princess seams had caught my eye, but too bad about it not really being fitted. Yours looks really lovely in a fantastic color too, and thanks for the heads up!
1/8/14 9:54 PM
Levone said...
Cute top, thanks for the helpful information regarding the fit.
1/9/14 11:37 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Christine Jonson 1010
photo
Review by SueV on 6/29/10
Read Review

Towne Purse
Towne Purse

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PerfectFuse Medium White
PerfectFuse Medium White

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Angela Osborn Bobby Shorts Digital Pattern (SS10-11-401)
Angela Osborn Bobby Shorts Digital Pattern (SS10-11-401)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Sundress Digital Pattern
Salme Sundress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 2759
photo
Review by drsue on 2/4/05
Read Review

McCalls 6105 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6105 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5964 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Butterick 5964 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us