Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6910 thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 314 times 14 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:Tonya P
photo
About Tonya Pstar
AL USA
Member since: 9/6/13
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/14/13 1:40 PM
Last Updated:11/16/13 4:52 PM
Project Photo:New Look: 6910 by Tonya P

New Look: 6910 by Tonya P  New Look: 6910 by Tonya P  
Pattern Photo:New Look 6910
New Look Pattern Info

More Info provided by Tonya P

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Silk  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description: Misses' Dresses and Lined Jacket

Pattern Sizing: A (8-10-12-14-16-18) I used the size 14

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes - it is a great pattern for a beginner to learn some new skills.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I am very satisfied with the pattern.

Fabric Used: A luxurious velvet and a slinky silk I found on clearance at Hancock Fabric (more about that in the conclusion remarks)

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I haven't made any changes yet, but I may try to find a way to tack the back of the collar to the back of the jacket. The heavy fabric pulls down and exposes the seam line.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I have already purchased the fabric to sew another. I highly recommend it to others.

Conclusion: The pattern itself was quite easy and the directions well written. My fabric choice, on the other hand...not so much. I have a bad case of anythingnotquiltingcottonphobia as well as a bad track record for sewing anything for myself. So a couple weeks ago I say to myself "Self, it's time you expanded your sewing horizons and make something bigger than 2T in something other than quilting cotton." So off I go to Hancock Fabric (with a pit stop at Starbuck's for a venti quad skinny no whip pumpkin spice latte - which probably wasn't one of my better ideas). There were a couple pattern brands on sale so, on my caffeine induced high, I searched the catalogs for what seemed like hours (time has a whole new dimension when you add quad to latte). Failing to find anything there, I took a look at the lower priced New Look pattern catalog. So many lovely patterns! I might have to quit my job (that was the latte talking)! I decided on this one. On to the selection of fabric. Pulling my cart away from the quilting cotton fabric, I discovered a whole other world. I found a beautiful brocade for the dress and a lovely wool for the jacket. I had enough sense at that point to know that it wouldn't be a good idea for me to just slap this pattern together with fabric that cost more than a tank of gas. I headed for the mark down fabric and found a silk for the dress and the velvet for the jacket to practice on. I was so stinking proud of myself until I decided to look online about sewing on velvet and silk. Eegad!! I lost my latte buzz. Quite honestly, it wasn't nearly as terrifying as I had thought it would be. I did experience a little of the velvet right side together "nap fight" on the jacket, but with a little patience I managed. Having to steam and finger press the folds was time consuming but I didn't dare break the first rule of velvet - DON'T PUT THE IRON ON THE VELVET!!!!!! The gathering at the collar balked at the fabric thickness so it turned out a smidge wonky. Since the fabric is heavier than what the pattern suggests, it does drag down the back of the collar a little bit, but all in all I think it turned out quite lovely. I think it will dress up a pair of jeans nicely. Next up, silk!! *gulp*

I have made the dress since I originally posted this review. It was my first time sewing silk. I think the tension wasn't quite right so I'll have to fiddle with that some more before I make the pattern in the silk brocade. I had to watch a couple YouTube videos to understand the princess seam construction, but after that it was a breeze. The back of the dress hangs a little funky at the waist. That could have more to do with my fabric choice than the pattern. All-in-all, I couldn't be more pleased with this pattern. I might even wear this practice dress out if the mister ever decides to take me somewhere special. I'll be steering clear of Starbucks.

Any suggestions on how to tack a collar to the back of a jacket so the seam isn't exposed would be welcome.
Buy this pattern for $4.49     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
carolynw said...
You are funny - good latte - great looking jacket - so is the trial jacket? looks way too good to not be worn proudly! Good job sewing velvet for the first time
11/14/13 2:48 PM
Tonya P said...
Thanks CarolynW! This is the trial jacket. I think I might get some wear out of it if my daughter doesn't snag it out of my closet when she visits next week. I took a look at some of your reviews recently. I'm flattered to have my work complimented by such such an experienced and talented sewist. Thanks again!
11/14/13 3:28 PM
Pj3g said...
Definitely a very helpful and very humorous review! Your jacket looks great! Pat yourself on the back! Satin will be easy peasy compared to this!
11/14/13 6:59 PM
Vonnevo said...
Love your velvet jacket and your excellent review. I have this pattern too - and a few other New Look in my "library".
11/15/13 5:36 AM
CissieW said...
Very pretty jacket. I don't notice the wonkiness at all. Can't wait to hear about your adventure with satin!
11/15/13 7:29 AM
EleanorSews said...
Cute jacket. And, is that now the dress in satin? It is gorgeous and looks amazing with your hair and coloring. Nice work!!!!
11/16/13 4:42 PM
Tonya P said...
Thanks everyone! You caught me mid edit, EleanorSews. Yes, that is the dress in silk. A little difficult to work with, but worth it.
11/16/13 5:02 PM
Vonnevo said...
You and your total look are fabulous !!!! Love the styles and colours you chose.
11/16/13 5:26 PM
MaryDB said...
Wow, I'm impressed. Beautiful jacket and dress; you should be proud of yourself for such lovely work. Looks terrific on you.
11/17/13 2:34 AM
KathleenS said...
Great dress. You really dealt well with the challenges of working with satin.
11/17/13 3:15 AM
ArtAttack said...
Beautiful outfit! Love the colors and it looks very elegant and Jackie O on you!
11/17/13 11:56 AM
sewing addict said...
Lovely outfit and very entertaining review. As for your collar droop, could you pinch out a stitch or two on the undercollar in an invisible area so that the undercollar is slightly smaller than the top collar.
11/17/13 3:02 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2009-102
photo
Review by cabinbaby on 6/1/09
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Sweet Dreams Buttom-Up PJ set Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Sweet Dreams Buttom-Up PJ set Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Shannon Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Shannon Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 2674 5 easy pieces
photo
Review by JoleneF on 7/22/04
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern
You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 6006 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )
Butterick 6006 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6454 Pattern
New Look 6454 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us