Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 7937 (MISSES'/MISSES' PETITE SKIRT) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 234 times 33 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:kristylee
photo
Friend of PR
About kristyleestar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 2/15/06
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/16/13 6:58 AM
Last Updated:11/16/13 7:01 AM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 7937 by kristylee

Vogue Patterns: 7937 by kristylee  Vogue Patterns: 7937 by kristylee  
Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 7937
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton Blend  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description:
A Vogue basic design for a panelled pencil skirt with several variations - I made view B that has two vents at the back.

Pattern Sizing:
Pretty spot on - I ignored the pattern sizing table which said I should have made a size 14/16 and instead made a size 12 based on the actual pattern measurements because I wanted a fitted skirt.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

Yes, exactly like the envelope drawing.

Were the instructions easy to follow?

It's a very simple skirt but the instructions were clear and helpful, especially how to do the mitred vents on the hem -not being a quilter a reminder on how to do this is always helpful.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

I really like the simple lines of the skirt, having the double mitred vent at the back is a little bit more detailed than a simple pencil skirt. There's nothing I dislike about this pattern.

Fabric Used:

I used a cotton-linen blend, underlined with a thin polyester-cotton poplin to stop the fabric from sagging out too much as well as provide a bit more thickness to the fabric to prevent any sheerness.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

I ended up taking the skirt in a few centimetres to get a good fit, but next time I would just take it out of the centre front and centre back panels - they seem a little wide to me and the proportions are off slightly.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

This is the second time I've sewed this skirt and it won't be the last. I don't know if I'd make the pleated back versions though - I imagine they would get very creased from sitting down on them very quickly.
Conclusion:
A great basic pattern that is quick and easy to sew. More details and photos on my blog
Buy this pattern for $18.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Dellia45 said...
Great fit. Love the colors.
11/16/13 8:14 AM
merry-one said...
Very Cute!
11/16/13 8:19 AM
Immelu said...
That's a fantastic skirt!!
11/16/13 8:55 AM
canei said...
Nice, nice!!
11/16/13 9:03 AM
EleanorSews said...
Lovely fit on this skirt. Thanks for the reminder on this classic pattern.
11/16/13 10:21 AM
velosewer said...
This is a great fit and style Kristy.
11/16/13 6:22 PM
Dilliander said...
Yes, it is indeed a great fit and style :)
11/16/13 9:04 PM
BeaJay said...
Great skirt Kristy. Love the fabric - great that you were able to get slacks and a skirt. I have fabric envy again.
11/17/13 1:56 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2009-102
photo
Review by cabinbaby on 6/1/09
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Sweet Dreams Buttom-Up PJ set Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Sweet Dreams Buttom-Up PJ set Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Shannon Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Shannon Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 2674 5 easy pieces
photo
Review by JoleneF on 7/22/04
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern
You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 6006 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )
Butterick 6006 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6454 Pattern
New Look 6454 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us