Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2506 (Toddler Costumes) thumbsup - Type:Costumes    printable version
Viewed 33 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:Writebarb
photo
Friend of PR
About Writebarb
Member since: 2/13/12
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Beginner
patterns reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/16/13 3:37 PM
Project Photo:Simplicity: 2506 by Writebarb

Pattern Photo:Simplicity 2506
Simplicity Pattern Info

More Info provided by Writebarb

Pattern Rating:Easy & Great for Beginners
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    Toddlers    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Fleece  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description:
Toddlers' animal costumes, including toddler mouse costume, devil, dragon, angel, bear sewing patterns

Pattern Sizing:
I made a size 4, which fit well.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow?
This was my first sewing project since making a stuffed animal in Home Ec 30 years ago. So, it is difficult to really say if the instructions were easy to follow as I am learning the very basics and everything is new. As a beginner I was able to figure every step out independently, except one area in which I asked a sewing friend to help me interpret what to do.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I thought the pattern was fairly easy for a beginner sewer and produced a decent item (good enough for a night of trick-or-treating). The costume itself was very cute and garnered a number of positive comments.

Fabric Used:
Fleece

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I did not make the booties, as my son primarily used the costume outside.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes.

Conclusion:
This was a great item to sew as a beginner. The instructions were clear enough and I was able to try several skills (stay-stitching, set-in-sleeves, cuffs, velcro) on a project that was not meant to be worn a great deal or needed to be perfect.
Buy this pattern for $16.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
3 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RoseE said...
So adorable!
11/16/13 9:12 PM
Pj3g said...
You first project in 30 years -- I think you did a fabulous job!!! It doesn't look like that easy of a project either!!!
11/17/13 10:03 PM
Chempac said...
What a cute costume! Love it!
11/19/13 4:18 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Simplicity 3835
photo
Review by colourbynu... on 1/9/09
Read Review

Oliver S Hula Hoop Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver   S Hula Hoop Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Yoga Girl Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Yoga Girl Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2011-127 Bustier
photo
Review by marusya gr... on 2/28/14
Read Review

PerfectFuse Medium Black
PerfectFuse Medium Black

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Baby Doll Puppet Pattern
SewBaby  Baby Doll Puppet  Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7114 Pattern
Burda 7114 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 2447 Pattern ( Size XLG-XXL-XXXL )
McCalls 2447 Pattern ( Size XLG-XXL-XXXL )

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us