Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 1715 (Misses' & Miss Petite Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 427 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:Sixtiesgirl
photo
About Sixtiesgirl
NM
Member since: 9/29/12
Reviews written: 73
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 73
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/16/13 8:05 PM
Last Updated:11/26/13 11:40 AM
Project Photo:Simplicity: 1715 by Sixtiesgirl

Simplicity: 1715 by Sixtiesgirl  Simplicity: 1715 by Sixtiesgirl  
Pattern Photo:Simplicity 1715
Simplicity Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton Blend  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description: Amazing Fit pattern with dropped waist, princess seamed bodice and pleated skirt and sleeves.

Pattern Sizing: 4-12 in one envelope

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, the instructions are good but I didn't do all of that basting and sewing inside out for fitting. I just pinned it to check the fit.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I love the fit of this pattern. The princess-seamed bodice is perfect and hugs the waist to flare at the hips. There aren't too many pleats so the overall shape of the dress is adorable. Of course, the collar is a real favorite. I like how it turned out done in the bias in this large plaid.

Fabric Used: A cotton blend shirting fabric with a little spandex in it. I got it on the remnant table at Joanns and the whole dress cost $15 to make.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: It was really perfectly sized as is. I didn't need to make any alterations.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? This is the second time I have made this pattern. The bodice fits so well that I am thinking of combining it with other skirts.

Conclusion: My daughter wanted a plaid dress to wear for fall with her lace up black boots. I think this dress will fit the bill.

Sewing Sixties
Buy this pattern for $17.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sweetheart3 said...
I love it! It looks great in the large check.
11/16/13 8:15 PM
AussiePupOwner said...
Love it!
11/16/13 9:12 PM
cmcarr said...
Beautiful.
11/16/13 11:55 PM
yummymummy38 said...
I like the large plaid and the pattern, cute bias collar too...
11/17/13 7:38 AM
DJWa said...
Totally adorable! Love the collar, pleats, everything!
11/17/13 10:03 AM
ASiverson said...
Love it. The plaid switched around is terrific. Great work! TFS!
11/17/13 10:42 AM
liliv said...
Have I told you that you make the cutest dresses? I like all the details, it's very very pretty!
11/17/13 1:07 PM
TGWGWS said...
Lovely dress! Great arrangement of the plaid stripes!
11/17/13 4:46 PM
Marie-Claude said...
Oh so cute! Love how it turned out!
11/26/13 4:45 AM
MrsCharisma said...
Super cute! I love, love, love bias cut plaid!
11/26/13 3:07 PM
swirlgurl said...
Cute!!!
11/26/13 6:51 PM
gonetroppo said...
looks fantastic in the large plaid ;o)
11/26/13 8:18 PM
JamieB said...
Wow, I never would have thought to do this in plaid. I love it!
11/26/13 9:50 PM
SewWil said...
Pretty dress! Love your fabric choice.
11/27/13 0:37 AM
KathleenS said...
It looks great in the large scale plaid! I would never have dared to try it myself.
11/27/13 4:41 AM
madbadger said...
Very nice!
11/28/13 10:31 AM
cleverkitty said...
You DO make the best dresses!!!!
11/29/13 7:17 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Simplicity 1816
photo
Review by kathleencr... on 8/24/12
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Duck Slippers Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Duck Slippers Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Amaryllis Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Amaryllis Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4865
photo
Review by annakeeton on 5/22/11
Read Review

Petite Plus 202 Pattern
Petite Plus 202 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern
You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6376 Pattern ( Size 3-45-6 7-8 )
McCalls 6376 Pattern ( Size 3-45-6 7-8 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 4016 Pattern
Kwik Sew 4016 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us