Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2156 (Girls Jumper, Jacket, Leggings, Dress and Top) thumbsup - Type:Kids(boys & girls)    printable version
Viewed 173 times 11 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:Aroura
photo
About Arourastarstarstar
OR USA
Member since: 7/30/09
Reviews written: 137
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 132
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/17/13 2:01 AM
Last Updated:11/17/13 2:03 AM
Project Photo:Simplicity: 2156 by Aroura

Simplicity: 2156 by Aroura  Simplicity: 2156 by Aroura  
Pattern Photo:Simplicity 2156
Simplicity Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    Coat/Jacket    Activewear    Kids(boys & girls)    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $14.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Faux Suede  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description:
Girls' Jumper, Jacket and Knit Leggings and Dress or Top.

I made the jacket.

Pattern Sizing:
3 through 6

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Pretty much, yes

Were the instructions easy to follow?
The instructions were fine.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
My daughter is slender, so she ends up with mixed sizes now. I have to cut a 4 wide, and a 6 in length. The way this jacket is pieced together was not easy to figure out which parts were width and which were length. I'm still not sure if there is a pattern error, or if it was user error, but the width of the back shoulder is about 1" longer on each side than the collar piece.

I tried to double check, and it looks like I matched up the sizes correctly, so I just did the best I could. I ended up making a small pleat in each back shoulder in order to get it to fit. It makes the back a little strange, but overall the fit still worked out.

I like the back ruffle, very cute!

Fabric Used:
Faux Suede

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I tried to alter the size, but somehow messed it up, so I ended up making pleats in the back shoulder.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I'm kind of mixed. I like the outcome, but it doesn't drape the way you'd like easily, but I like the shape of the front and collar.

Conclusion:
A good pattern, possible collar issues, check our measurements!
Please check out my blog for more info and pics of the entire outfit.
Buy this pattern for $14.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Vintagelover said...
the collar looks wonderful--sweet model too:)
11/17/13 4:34 AM
Adaire said...
Very pretty on her! That hair is to die for! Lovely!
11/17/13 8:32 AM
Heatherrique said...
She's growing up so quickly. BEAUTIFUL!
11/17/13 11:06 AM
Heatherrique said...
She's growing up so quickly. BEAUTIFUL!
11/17/13 11:06 AM
Pj3g said...
Love it! I have that pattern. This makes me want to sew it!
11/17/13 10:10 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Cute jacket!
11/18/13 5:22 AM
RLL said...
The little ruffle is adorable
11/18/13 7:34 AM
Patricia Ellen said...
I agree that the jacket pattern is adorable. However, after making the jacket from a faux fur fabric, similar to the picture on the front of the pattern, I have the following issues with the pattern: 1)The pattern envelope should make clear that if you want the finished jacket to look like the one on the cover, you need enough of the "same garment fabric" for the collar interfacing. 2) If you are using a faux fur fabric, sewing with a "walking foot" is helpful and serging the seams is a must. 3) You need to tack down the lapel to keep the appropriate folds in place, if you use a heavier fabric. 4)The diagram for Step #6 is a bit misleading. The diagram looks as if you needed to sew over a fold in the collar. I did not find that to be the case. Matching the dots on the neckline and collar was tedious. It took me HOURS of studying instructions to attach the collar. A video on YouTube was somewhat helpful. My friend, who has a lot of garment sewing experience was also helpful, but it took us a LONG time to figure out the collar!! I just mailed the finished jacket to my granddaughter. I hope it fits. She usually wears a size 6 in the store, but her measurements were closer to the size 5 pattern measurements listed.
1/14/14 11:47 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Vogue Patterns 8251 Misses' tops
photo
Review by Erica B. on 12/4/06
Read Review

Peek-A Boo V-Neck Cardigan Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo V-Neck Cardigan Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Sailboat Top, Skirt & Pants Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver + S Sailboat Top, Skirt & Pants Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5391 Misses Shorts
photo
Review by QuiltSewSe... on 9/27/08
Read Review

Favorite Things Little Bow Peep Pattern
Favorite Things Little Bow Peep Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 651 Pattern
Petite Plus 651 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Colette Patterns Hazel Pattern (1021)
Colette Patterns Hazel Pattern (1021)

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6407 Pattern
New Look 6407 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us