Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8825 (Misses' Tunic, Dress And Pants) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 512 times 22 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:Sew Good
photo
About Sew Goodstar
CA USA
Member since: 12/28/04
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/28/13 12:15 PM
Last Updated:11/28/13 10:18 PM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 8825 by Sew Good

Vogue Patterns: 8825 by Sew Good  Vogue Patterns: 8825 by Sew Good  
Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 8825
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Great Wardrobe Builder
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:ITY Jersey  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Sizing: I purchased a multi size 8 thru 14 but made an 8 and graded to a 10 for the skirt.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? On the hanger, my dress looks like a bathrobe but, yes, it does look like the picture

Were the instructions easy to follow? The instructions were fairly easy to follow

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I love sewing on knits (not sure why, I have been having trouble with my machine on knits lately) I love the way the thin knits feel when I wear them. Originally, I was attracted to this pattern because of the sleeves. I used to wear sleeves like this when I was a girl. I also love wrap and faux wrap dresses.

Fabric Used: I used a pink Poly/lycra ITY from Fashionfabric.com It's light on one side with a slight sheen and a bit darker on the other. I used the darker side.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

Since I am short/petite, I made the cuffs shorter. Just as petite people should use smaller prints and make pockets a bit smaller, I felt the cuffs were out of proportion for my size.

I didn't make any other design changes but as usual, I added clear elastic to the back of the neck and I used my serger as much as possible. Both prevent puckered seams and help the fabric keep its shape. I also used clear elastic in the cuffs at the connection with the sleeves.

I also used "tape" instead of pins to put the pieces together. This worked wonderfully on the sleeves since the raglan seams were curved. I believe the "tape" is from Clover. You can sew on it without gumming up the needles. It's awesome for adhering patch pockets before sewing.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I'm not sure if I would sew it again for a long time. Usually, the clothing I make last FOREVER! I have clothing that is 10 years old and still look new. If I did make it again, I would shorten the ties as they are heavy and way too long. I would also use a patterned fabric. I see everyones beautiful fabrics. I just keep getting drawn to solid colors and need to start expanding my horizons!

Conclusion: I would not recommend this pattern for beginners because of the sleeves. It is really hard to join the shoulder seams and make them match at the neck (I'm a perfectionist and it would really bother me if they didn't match). Plus I don't think knits are ideal for beginners. I do, however, recommend the pattern for others. It is a quick sew (one day from start to finish) without a zipper or any notions other than my addition of clear elastic. IMPORTANT NOTE FOR PEOPLE TALLER THAN 5 FEET: The length of this dress fits me perfectly Quite unusual for me. I usually cut off 3 inches or more. Not with this pattern!!!

Buy this pattern for $22.50     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
WinterQueen said...
Your dress is just beautiful. You look amazing in it and such a gorgeous colour too :)x
11/28/13 12:48 PM
EleanorSews said...
Your dress is absolutely lovely...it fits beautifully and the color is spectacular. This is clearly perfection for you!
11/28/13 1:40 PM
caper81 said...
Beautiful dress! I just *love* the colour:)
11/28/13 6:37 PM
Sew Good said...
Thank you all. I wasn't sure if I loved the color or not. I seldom wear pink :)
11/28/13 10:19 PM
AuntieShel said...
Very pretty on you!!
11/28/13 10:42 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
You look stunning.
11/29/13 5:25 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great fitting and looking dress. I really should give this one a try.
11/29/13 8:31 AM
Byrdie said...
Very pretty dress!
11/29/13 2:56 PM
MariannaSew2Pro said...
That's a great pattern; thanks for drawing my attention to it. You look lovely btw. Have fun wearing it!
11/29/13 5:44 PM
mhk3boys said...
Your dress looks better than the Vogue!
11/29/13 6:38 PM
Sheseams said...
oh nice I've been thinking about making this dress
11/30/13 5:12 PM
norie creates said...
Beautiful dress and thanks for the tip for us over 5 footers : )
12/6/13 2:44 PM
Deepika said...
Beautiful dress. Thanks for the tip on reducing the cuff width. I'll do that too.
12/27/13 3:54 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Vogue Patterns 1170
photo
Review by SueV on 5/18/10
Read Review

Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)
Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things The Wrap Dress Pattern
Favorite Things The Wrap Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Strappy Sandals Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Strappy Sandals Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Maddie Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Maddie Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2009-102 Jacket/blouse
photo
Review by Jali on 11/3/09
Read Review

Simplicity 1702 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3 )
Simplicity 1702 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 9014 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 9014 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us