SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5850 (Misses' Dress)

3 more reviews
Viewed 705 times 
Reviewed by:GoodbyeValntino
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About GoodbyeValntinostarstarstarstar
SC USA
Member since: 9/18/11
Reviews written: 114
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 144 people
patterns reviewed: 110
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/17/13 8:44 AM
Last Updated:11/17/13 8:48 AM


Butterick: 5850 by GoodbyeValntino  Butterick: 5850 by GoodbyeValntino  
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
slmstyle said...
I'm in love with this dress on you :) The gold silk/viscose fabric is absolutely beautiful with your coloring!!!! And the shape-so pretty. I'm sorry you were not as pleased as you expected, but with the minor tweaks you made, it's really pretty!
11/24/14 0:26 AM
sewnaughty said...
Thanks for the review. I purchased this pattern for a semi formal affair. The shoulders on view B was what attracted me to the dress. I am going to try it with many alterations!!!
6/13/14 2:25 PM
Barbara V said...
Absolutely gorgeous dress, fabric and fit! It will be perfect for holiday celebrations!
11/19/13 12:59 PM
CraftAddict said...
Oh yes ma'am! This dress is GORGEOUS! Very much worth the effort.
11/18/13 8:34 AM
SewWil said...
Good for you for making this pattern work. You have a gorgeous dress to show for your efforts. The fabric looks wonderful. Must check it out.
11/17/13 7:56 PM
WinterQueen said...
Look at you all dressed for the ball :) ! Well worth the issues you had xx
11/17/13 6:14 PM
carolynw said...
You are good to stick with it - I simply lack the patience. But I should try. Look what it did for you - a beautiful dress and you look great in it!
11/17/13 5:47 PM
Bobbi B said...
Gorgeous outfit. You look absolutely stunning.
11/17/13 5:40 PM
Aroura said...
Wow! All the work and alterations paid off. Amazing dress!
11/17/13 3:12 PM
liliv said...
You look very hot in this!! It looks like very expensive rtw!
11/17/13 1:08 PM
Rhoda K said...
I'll have to ditto all comments, too. Your dress is gorgeous!
11/17/13 12:52 PM
ArtAttack said...
Ditto the other comments. This style suits you perfectly and kudos on all of the pattern re-drafting...you really made it work. And rock!
11/17/13 11:52 AM
Baja Susana said...
Lovely fabric, and pretty dress, nice result inspite of the poor pattern drafting.
11/17/13 10:45 AM
errantpear said...
This dress is so beautiful on you! I loooove the fabric.
11/17/13 10:37 AM
Vintagelover said...
your dress is spectacular. I am not sure I could achieve such a stylish look with all the little problems that occurred. Stunning fabric choice
11/17/13 9:48 AM
Immelu said...
Gorgeous dress! I've always liked this pattern and you nailed it...despite the issues! Great job!
11/17/13 9:17 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
Well, despite all the pattern issues you've got a fabulous cocktail dress for the holidays. I've been holding on to this pattern for ages trying to figure out what fabric would suit it best but you hit the nail on the head. Oh- and I love the bow AND the length :))
11/17/13 8:54 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Other 0000

photo
by: ChrisS

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 268307-1005

photo
by: sewnaomi

Review
Gracie Handbag

Gracie Handbag

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Okashi Courier Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Okashi Courier Bag Pattern

Buy Now