Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5850 (Misses' Dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 548 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:GoodbyeValntino
photo
Friend of PR
About GoodbyeValntinostarstarstarstar
SC USA
Member since: 9/18/11
Reviews written: 111
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 125 people
patterns reviewed: 107
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/17/13 8:44 AM
Last Updated:11/17/13 8:48 AM
Project Photo:Butterick: 5850 by GoodbyeValntino

Butterick: 5850 by GoodbyeValntino  Butterick: 5850 by GoodbyeValntino  
Pattern Photo:Butterick 5850
Butterick Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Recommend, with Modifications
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Silk  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description: Dress has fitted, lined bodice variations, gathered skirt and single layer tie ends (wrong side will show) with narrow hem, and side zipper. B: semi-fitted skirt. A,B: mock wrap, front bodice extends into pleated back neckline. C: front shoulder pleats.

Pattern Sizing: 8 - 16 16 - 24 I cut out a 10

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Not completely.

Were the instructions easy to follow? They were fine although I had to read and re-read the neckline and pleat instructions.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
LIKES: I was attracted to the photo and illustrations. I loved the cut in shoulders and the bow.
DISLIKES: The bodice is huge and the shoulders were not cut in.

Fabric Used:silk/viscose blend from Mood Fabrics. I loved the fabric!

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

1. The armsyce was so large I thought I had made a mistake, but after reviewing the instructions I determined it was drafted large and I removed 3” from each side.

2. Removing such width affected the darts in the bodice which I remedied by extending the existing darts by one inch. It also created awkward lines in the side seam forcing me to redraw the seams.

3. The shoulders are not cut in as the illustration implies. The look is achieved by creating a pleat in the back neck which is not nearly as dramatic as the illustration.

4. I overlooked the pattern description regarding the bow in which the wrong side of the fabric shows. I folded the sashes in half, sewed right sides together and turned so that the right side of the fabric would show when tied. This worked fine with my fabric but could be bulky with a heavier fabric.

5. The ties ran very long and I removed 10 inches from each tie.

I made the pattern work but it wasn’t exactly what I was expecting. Had I studied the line drawing more carefully I might have had a different vision of the final result.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I doubt I will sew it again.

Conclusion: I made it work and like the dress primarily due to the fabric. I look forward to accessorizing it with different options.

Visit the blog for more details. Click Here
Buy this pattern for $18.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Jstarr4250 said...
Well, despite all the pattern issues you've got a fabulous cocktail dress for the holidays. I've been holding on to this pattern for ages trying to figure out what fabric would suit it best but you hit the nail on the head. Oh- and I love the bow AND the length :))
11/17/13 8:54 AM
Immelu said...
Gorgeous dress! I've always liked this pattern and you nailed it...despite the issues! Great job!
11/17/13 9:17 AM
Vintagelover said...
your dress is spectacular. I am not sure I could achieve such a stylish look with all the little problems that occurred. Stunning fabric choice
11/17/13 9:48 AM
cequimby said...
This dress is so beautiful on you! I loooove the fabric.
11/17/13 10:37 AM
Baja Susana said...
Lovely fabric, and pretty dress, nice result inspite of the poor pattern drafting.
11/17/13 10:45 AM
ArtAttack said...
Ditto the other comments. This style suits you perfectly and kudos on all of the pattern re-drafting...you really made it work. And rock!
11/17/13 11:52 AM
Rhoda K said...
I'll have to ditto all comments, too. Your dress is gorgeous!
11/17/13 12:52 PM
liliv said...
You look very hot in this!! It looks like very expensive rtw!
11/17/13 1:08 PM
Aroura said...
Wow! All the work and alterations paid off. Amazing dress!
11/17/13 3:12 PM
Bobbi B said...
Gorgeous outfit. You look absolutely stunning.
11/17/13 5:40 PM
carolynw said...
You are good to stick with it - I simply lack the patience. But I should try. Look what it did for you - a beautiful dress and you look great in it!
11/17/13 5:47 PM
WinterQueen said...
Look at you all dressed for the ball :) ! Well worth the issues you had xx
11/17/13 6:14 PM
SewWil said...
Good for you for making this pattern work. You have a gorgeous dress to show for your efforts. The fabric looks wonderful. Must check it out.
11/17/13 7:56 PM
CraftAddict said...
Oh yes ma'am! This dress is GORGEOUS! Very much worth the effort.
11/18/13 8:34 AM
Barbara V said...
Absolutely gorgeous dress, fabric and fit! It will be perfect for holiday celebrations!
11/19/13 12:59 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Vogue Patterns 8805
photo
Review by BarrieHayw... on 6/12/12
Read Review

Vogue 8863 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 8863 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8987 Pattern ( Size 34-36-38-40 )
Vogue 8987 Pattern ( Size 34-36-38-40 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

HotPatterns 1093
photo
Review by SueV on 1/21/10
Read Review

Oliver + S Pinwheel tunic + slip dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )
Oliver + S Pinwheel tunic + slip dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Library Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Library Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sassy Bag
Sassy Bag

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Hope Skirts Pattern
Favorite Things Hope Skirts Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us