Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5954 (Misses' Tunic) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 583 times 12 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
Reviewed by:feltont
photo
About feltont
MI USA
Member since: 9/24/09
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/17/13 3:48 PM
Project Photo:Butterick: 5954 by feltont

Butterick: 5954 by feltont  Butterick: 5954 by feltont  
Pattern Photo:Butterick 5954
Butterick Pattern Info

More Info provided by feltont

Pattern Rating:Easy & Great for Beginners
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag: tops for me  
Fabric:Acrylic Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description: Close-fitting and flared, pullover tunic has front variations, shaped hemline, and narrow hem. Wrong side shows on back hemline. C, D: Collar.

Pattern Sizing: XS-S-M. I sewed the small. I usually sew a 12 or 14 in patterns using woven fabric. However, I have found that with knits it is best to go for negative ease so I sew a size smaller than normal.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, but I used my own method of sewing knit tops.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I love this tunic. It is simple but still stylish. It was very easy to sew and took less than 2 hours to complete.

Fabric Used: A clearance sweater knit from Joann's. The fabric is very soft.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: None. I sewed my sleeves in flat because it's easier when working with knits. I also serged all my seams and finished all the hems before sewing the pieces together. I always fuse my knit hems with fusible web before sewing. I have found this keeps the hems from looking wonky.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I plan to sew it again in another sweater knit. I would recommend this to anyone who appreciates a tunic. This is very easy to sew and looks great!

Conclusion: I love this top. I have already started on a second one in a different sweater knit. I will probably make view B for a easy tee. This is one pattern marked easy that actually is easy. I will keep this one in my files for future use.

Finished Garment
Buy this pattern for $17.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
BillieJean said...
Beautiful tunic!
11/17/13 4:44 PM
Judy Kski said...
You've really done a nice job on this top! It drapes beautifully and I love your fabric choice.
11/17/13 4:48 PM
carolynw said...
I've been thinking of getting this pattern. Now that I see yours WOW - this one is on it's way to me. Your fabric is beautiful
11/17/13 5:11 PM
bebro said...
Beautiful job, the fabric choice is gorgeous!
11/17/13 5:23 PM
Bobbi B said...
Love it! Thanks for sharing.
11/17/13 5:34 PM
wimmie said...
really very pretty and just detailed enough for a quickie to get my attention.
11/17/13 5:58 PM
sewtime said...
Absolutely beautiful Love tunics. This will be next on my list!!
11/17/13 6:57 PM
Sewmetoo said...
Cute top
11/17/13 7:28 PM
Vintagelover said...
I agree with the others great drape - lovely tunic!!
11/17/13 7:36 PM
BeaJay said...
That is gorgeous. Love the fabric too. Wouldn't have looked at the pattern had I not seen your top.
11/17/13 8:43 PM
atymonw said...
I love this fabric too! I've been on the fence about this pattern, but your version is gorgeous.
11/17/13 9:20 PM
LynneH said...
Your top is gorgeous. I love the fabric. I made this top for myself and ended up taking in in quite a bit and gave it to my daughter. If you carry extra weight in the hips it might not be a top for you. My daughter loves the top and uses it as a nursing top and get compliments whenever she wears it. I love your version and really wish it worked out for me.
11/17/13 9:43 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Love your fabric and this is cute!
11/17/13 10:00 PM
cmcarr said...
This is beautiful!
11/17/13 11:06 PM
Nenewhis said...
So cute, I would love to see you wearing this! Beautiful job!
11/17/13 11:40 PM
marec said...
I passed this pattern by because I thought it would be too much...but yours is so pretty and the fabric really is wonderful.
11/18/13 0:37 AM
CTBarb said...
Wow...what a great use of fabric and design. You did an incredible job! How did I miss thus pattern? Thanks for pointing it out to me.
11/18/13 8:02 AM
CSM--Carla said...
Beautiful! Great job on the hem. That's the part that intimidates me...any suggestions to make it so nice and smooth/flat like yours?
11/18/13 10:07 AM
SewLibra said...
Love the brush stroke fabric and drape. Nice work!
11/18/13 4:12 PM
Pj3g said...
It's wonderful!
11/18/13 11:01 PM
1SewSweet said...
I really like this sweater! I am going to get this pattern too! Thanks for bringing it to our attention! Great job!
11/19/13 9:19 AM
feltont said...
Thanks all. I got many compliments at work on this one. CSM....When I sew knits I always fuse the hems with fusible webbing/stitch witchery before sewing. You can then either sew a regular or coverhem stitch. It's an extra step but they come out perfectly even.
11/23/13 6:38 AM
MrsCharisma said...
How did I miss this? I love it! The fabric is gorgeous. Nicely done!
11/24/13 10:00 PM
Judy Kski said...
Question answered above. Thank you!
11/27/13 3:16 PM
Gilberta said...
I purchased this pattern yesterday because of your lovely top. Yours looks way better than the pattern photo. Thanks for the review~
11/30/13 10:12 PM
Jan Crews said...
Love that fabric! Just made the collarless version for my DGD and she loves it. I'm next!! :)
1/10/14 5:59 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2013-119 Blouse
photo
Review by MNBarb on 8/21/13
Read Review

Jalie 976 Pattern
Jalie 976 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6501 Pattern ( Size 101/2-12 1/2-14 1/2-16 1/2 )
McCalls 6501 Pattern ( Size 101/2-12 1/2-14 1/2-16 1/2 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1033 OOP
photo
Review by FreyaStark on 11/7/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Charlotte Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Charlotte Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S After-School Shirt + Pants Digital Pattern (6M-4)
Oliver + S After-School Shirt + Pants Digital Pattern (6M-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 502 Pattern
Petite Plus 502 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

A-Door-Ables
A-Door-Ables

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us