Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Cake patterns: 0369 (Red Velvet Dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 339 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:theseedsof3
photo
About theseedsof3
Member since: 4/6/13
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/17/13 6:55 PM
Last Updated:11/17/13 7:04 PM
Project Photo:Cake patterns: 0369 by theseedsof3

Cake patterns: 0369 by theseedsof3  Cake patterns: 0369 by theseedsof3  
Pattern Photo:Cake patterns 0369
Cake patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Recommend, with Modifications
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $14.06 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:ITY Jersey  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Click Here to go to blog post with lots more photos, information, and pattern alterations

Pattern Description: (from envelope back) The Red Velvet Knit Dress features a faced circular neckline with optional petal collar and pleated underbust seam. Choose the origami-style scissor pleated skirt, or reverse it for a flat boxy-pleat effect. A cleverly concealed ticket pocket holds a few coins, cards, or lipstick.

Pattern Sizing: 30-59" bust, 25-55" waist

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? yes!

Were the instructions easy to follow? crystal clear

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
1) I love the connect-the-dots for a customized fit with the midriff pieces
2) The skirt is practical and stylish.
3) The midriff creates a flattering silhouette and allows to to play around with coordinating fabrics, etc.
4) I do not like that me, and it seems like everyone else participating in the sew-along, need to do some type of bodice lengthening. Sewing Cake has two comprehensive photo tutorials for this, but I feel that is should not be a necessity. This may make it challenging for a beginner to get a good fit.
5) There is also a faced neckline (that some may not care for) that is quite easy to misshape with even careful handling, so beginners beware and take care!
6) There are release pleats at the bust for shaping, but I feel that they are not the most flattering. They end up looking like nips in many cases. But, it is easily converted to a bust dart.

Fabric Used: ITY jersey. I think this is the best fabric to use for the dress to have adequate stretch and drape without adding bulk with the skirt pleats. I made a muslin with thicker fabric and it did not drape as well and was a little bulky at the waist.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: Lengthened the bodice (necessary), lengthened the sleeves (preference), converted the bust pleats to darts (as far as I am concerned necessary), shortened the midriff (I am short torsoed), added pockets (preference)

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Yes and yes, but everyone will need to play close attention to the bodice length and probably lengthen it. I would also caution you to be extra gentle when handling the neckline so it does not get misshapen and gape. I actually used stay tape as well as stay stitching to keep mine gape free. And, shy away from thicker knits. It will be best to choose a lightweight knit.

Conclusion: I adore the dress and will make others. It is comfortable, stylish and flattering, but does take a little finessing to get the fit right.

Buy this pattern for $14.06     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
kidmd said...
It looks great! I love that you put the midriff on the bias. Super fun!
11/17/13 7:27 PM
MrsCharisma said...
This looks amazing on you and I LOVE the plaid knit! How fun!!!!
11/17/13 8:07 PM
michellep74 said...
I'm participating in the sewalong, and I agree with everything you've said. I didn't need to add any bust length to my Tiramisu, but had to add a whopping 3" to the RV. I avoided the neckline issues by doing a self-fabric binding, rather than using the facing. I'll be curious to see how my finished dress turns out.
11/17/13 9:05 PM
Rebecca D said...
Thanks for the review. Your dress looks great and thanks for the comments about fabric selection and bust sizing.
11/18/13 7:08 AM
sewing for fun said...
I agree... the bust length addition is HUGE PIA for a pattern that is supposed to be so easily customizable... I have traced mine, but not cut yet... thanks for your review!
11/18/13 11:06 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Simplicity 4412 Jacket
photo
Review by snowflake ... on 5/16/07
Read Review

Sis Boom Molly Peasant Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Molly Peasant Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Lullaby Layette Set Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Lullaby Layette Set Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2497 Misses Dresses
photo
Review by CissieW on 5/24/12
Read Review

Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern
Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King
TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $27.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8880 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8880 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6499 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
McCalls 6499 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us