SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 1543 (Misses' Tunic & Knit Pants by Patty Reed)

6 more reviews
Viewed 447 times 
Reviewed by:Nenewhis
photo

 
 
About Nenewhisstar
CA USA
Member since: 9/27/10
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/17/13 11:31 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
gramma b said...
I made my usual Med and it was huge, so select 1-2 sizes smaller. I re-cut the top of sleeves tracing a raglan sweatshirt--our shoulders slope, these do not--thus wrinkles! Ran elastic up seam for stable ruching instead of thickness of ties & casing in my heavier knit. Did like the different square neckline, but check width in a sample before I made the pockets wider with a diagonal opening, then ran into side seams. Next try I will join them for a center kangaroo type pocket.
10/30/14 3:22 PM
gramma b said...

10/14/14 3:55 PM
SewWil said...
Your tunic turned out great!
12/30/13 6:28 PM
Passion4Sewing said...
I should have read your review before making my top. Both the neckline and pockets are too narrow. They're doable, but my next one, both will be wider :-)
12/29/13 1:10 PM
atymonw said...
A great top! I have this pattern and will be checking the pocket and neckline width before I make it up. Thanks!
11/19/13 3:36 PM
Elke said...
Very cute on you! Thanks for the info on the neckline and pockets!
11/19/13 7:53 AM
Mc Donna said...
I recently bought this pattern and appreciate the tips! Looks great on you!
11/18/13 10:57 PM
carolynw said...
Looks great on you - so much better than the pattern envelope.
11/18/13 7:19 PM
Saint Nolt Sews said...
Love yours! I didn't change the pockets or neckline. It was those football padded shoulders for me. Love it!
11/18/13 6:53 PM
Nenewhis said...
To Lanna, yes this is loose and slips on over my head easily. Suggested fabrics are crepe back satin, laundered silks-rayons, sandwashed silk (I wish I could find that!!) , crinkled gauze, double georgette, linen and linen blunts, lightweight knits. Just be careful of that neckline though, and the pockets too. The pattern pieces are really cut wrong.
11/18/13 6:16 PM
missyyz said...
I ordered this pattern last week, and now I'm REALLY glad I did. Love your top !
11/18/13 2:09 PM
Lanna said...
This top looks loose enough, that it could be made with a woven, like a rayon. Looks as though it would slip over your head easy. Do you think that would be ok, NeneWis ? I just love it !
11/18/13 12:03 PM
Lanna said...
That looks so great on you ! I really like this pattern. And you have done a great job !
11/18/13 11:58 AM
Melwyk said...
This looks lovely on you -- love that colour! I've been wanting to see this made up as well -- glad to see it turns out so well. Thanks for the tips on construction, too.
11/18/13 10:25 AM
prttynpnk said...
Oh I'm so glad to see this made up- I've been wanting to make it- now after seeing yours- I must!
11/18/13 7:05 AM
Vivienne said...
Beautiful - looks elegant and comfortable.
11/18/13 6:31 AM
ArtAttack said...
SO cute on you!
11/18/13 0:49 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

New Look 6448

photo
by: zoeope

Review
Simplicity 2339

photo
by: weekendsti...

Review
Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

More Info
SewBaby Five Easy Booties Pattern

SewBaby Five Easy Booties Pattern

More Info