Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 10-2013-120 (pleated skirt with yoke) - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 203 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:French.Seam
photo
About French.Seamstarstarstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 12/10/07
Reviews written: 146
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 130
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/18/13 10:51 AM
Last Updated:11/24/13 1:17 PM
Project Photo:BurdaStyle Magazine: 10-2013-120 by French.Seam

Pattern Photo:

Pattern Info provided by French.Seam

Pattern Rating:Great Wardrobe Builder
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Polyurethane Laminate  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
(the green sweater is this pattern)

Pattern Description:
pleated mini skirt with deep yoke

Pattern Sizing: I picked a 38 based on my measurements, but it was way too big

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? not really

Were the instructions easy to follow? I didn't use them. NB: they don't tell you how to make pleats, you have to work that out for yourself

Fabric Used: I found the fabric on sale in my local store, and really wanted to make a PVC (now rebranded as 'polyurethane') snakeskin (python) skirt, but thought a pencil skirt would look too dominatrix.

I didn't think the fabric would press well, and doubted it would hold a sharp pleat edge, but it did. It didn't melt when pressed on a Cotton setting. Remarkable

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
- I took 18cm out of the waist
- I lengthened the skirt to knee length
- I made box pleats instead of knife pleats. No reason, that's just how my brain did them

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I might. I do like pleated skirts, they have a nice swing to them, and of course I can cycle in it

Conclusion: Pleats + python, I think, are quite modern

There are a few on this site

Mine cost a fraction of French Connection's version
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kemish said...
Great skirt. The fabric is fabulous.
11/18/13 11:05 AM
marec said...
Fantastic skirt. I love your comment "pleats and python..."
11/18/13 11:08 AM
Terri A said...
Nice skirt - really modern and cool print.
11/18/13 2:01 PM
MNBarb said...
Love the entire outfit with the boots and tights.
11/22/13 1:01 PM
Dee2 said...
Gorgeous skirt--the outfit is wonderful!
11/24/13 5:35 PM
Re Becca said...
Super cute! I love the flippy, easy look of the pleats without having the bulk around the waistline. Great job, very flattering.
11/25/13 12:41 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Kwik Sew 3694 Tops
photo
Review by Steffie on 1/29/10
Read Review

Simplicity 1687 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 1687 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6864 Pattern
New Look 6864 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5171
photo
Review by KamiSue2 on 9/2/11
Read Review

MariaDenmark Laura Lounge Digital Pattern
MariaDenmark Laura Lounge Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.20
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Gracie Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Gracie Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern
Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 605 Pattern
Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us