Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2054 (Misses knit dress and cowl collar) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 677 times 22 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:MrsCharisma
photo
Friend of PR
About MrsCharismastarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 2/1/13
Reviews written: 109
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 40 people
patterns reviewed: 106
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/18/13 10:54 AM
Project Photo:Simplicity: 2054 by MrsCharisma

Simplicity: 2054 by MrsCharisma  Simplicity: 2054 by MrsCharisma  
Pattern Photo:Simplicity 2054
Simplicity Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Great Wardrobe Builder
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Double Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description:

Misses' knit dresses and cowl, Cynthia Rowley Collection.

Pattern Sizing:

6-14, I cut a 14

Finished measurements 37.5/37.5/45. My measurements are 39.5/34/43

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

Pretty much - mine is shorter

Were the instructions easy to follow?

Directions? The front and back are cut on the fold plus sleeves. My kind of pattern.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

Dislikes? There are two issues I have and both are very easily fixed.

1) there is a TON of ease at the waist. The Simplicity size 14 measurements are 36/28/38 so there is wearing/design ease of 1.5" at the bust and 7" at the hip and 9.5" (!!!) at the waist.

2) the upper part of the sleeve through the elbow is very fitted, then it just continues to the wrist as opposed to narrowing. I will have to take the wrist in a bit as there's 2" of fabric there.

Likes? This dress is pretty much perfect other than those 2 small things. I LOVE the fit. It flatters the figure just right and you can really change the feel of it easily.

Leave it longer for a more conservative look. But it makes a perfect mini dress and would be great in fall/winter with leggings or tights and boots. It would be cute in summer as a mini with flats.

It is so quick and easy to construct. It took just a few minutes to cut it out (okay unless you're matching a pattern) and I constructed it totally on the serger.

The sleeve cut out is inconspicuous and kind of different. I like it.

It's such a simple design (no darts, gathers, tucks, etc) that you can really go wild with a fabric selection...makes it interesting

Fabric Used:

Striped double knit from SR Harris in Minneapolis.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

I added an inch above the elbow to the sleeve and should've added extra at the end too. I have a 5/8" hem and the sleeves are maybe bracelet length.

There is a pattern piece for the binding at the neckline but I didn't cut it out...it's a rectangle. It measured 2" x 21" for the size 14. I just cut out the appropriate size rectangle from my pattern.

I was nervous about the finished garment measurements compared to mine so I used 3/8" seams (5/8" at the shoulders) giving myself an extra inch. however, I didn't need this extra at the waistline. I ended up taking it in through the waist, removing about an inch total.

I fully intended to do a swayback adjustment but was talking to my parents on the phone when I started cutting it out and FORGOT! Darn it. I needed it too.

Another thing to note, I did not need to do a narrow shoulder adjustment on this one.

The photo Here shows the full length before hemming. I didn't like it quite that long and then I decided to end at the white part because the sleeves ended there. When I pinned it up I liked it as a mini and decided to go that route.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

I definitely plan to sew this again. I want a full length version, I want a version with 3/4 sleeves...I want. I want. I want!

Conclusion:

I know this is an old pattern but I'm bringing it back. I know it looks like a sack somewhat on the pattern but I think it's one of those sleeper patterns. It fits wonderfully and is so comfortable!

I'm also very proud of my binding at the neckline! Also added by serger!!
Buy this pattern for $17.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
40 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marec said...
LOVE this, as an option for myself and as a dress on you! This is really cute and your use of the striped fabric is perfect.
11/18/13 11:00 AM
ArtAttack said...
This is adorable on you! Very bombshell!
11/18/13 11:42 AM
Aixoise said...
You really are on a roll! First the terrific cardigans and now this smashing dress. I've made the cardi, and now might have to try this dress. Thanks for keeping us inspired!
11/18/13 12:01 PM
WinterQueen said...
Looks great on you! Great fabric choice also :)x
11/18/13 12:17 PM
CraftAddict said...
Too cute!
11/18/13 12:31 PM
carrie18584 said...
Very very cute! Great use of the stripes on this pattern - I adore that fabric!!
11/18/13 12:55 PM
PattyE said...
Look at those gams! LOL Nicely done!
11/18/13 12:58 PM
AngelaSews said...
Wow, this looks fabulous on you. Your stripe placement really elevates the dress's appeal.
11/18/13 1:02 PM
Levone said...
Cute dress! You are on a roll with the projects, I need some kind of motivation to sew up all of the ideas in my head.
11/18/13 1:12 PM
Terri A said...
Your dress is so smart looking! Wow! Love this... :)
11/18/13 1:15 PM
Myspirit4 said...
whoa! Look at you, I LOVE IT! The fabric is positively perfect!
11/18/13 1:35 PM
Deepika said...
Cute dress! I had been looking for a pattern for a dress exactly like this! I agree with the shorter length too.
11/18/13 2:38 PM
MrsCharisma said...
Thank you everyone for the kind words! I have been on a crazy kick the past few weeks. I'll take it! I hemmed and hawed over the stripe placement, specifically the band of white over my belly area. But I like it. I think it works :)
11/18/13 3:37 PM
Judy Kski said...
You rock the dress!
11/18/13 3:50 PM
mnitts said...
You look hot! Great great dress on you.
11/18/13 3:55 PM
Rhoda K said...
What a cute dress, especially with the stripes. You sure have been busy!
11/18/13 5:02 PM
carolynw said...
You have been busy! This dress fits you perfectly - another great addition to your closet
11/18/13 7:35 PM
caper81 said...
Look at you Mrs. Charisma! Hot!:) I love the new length!
11/18/13 7:57 PM
SewWil said...
Wow! I love your dress. Looks great on you.
11/18/13 8:20 PM
Bobbi B said...
Wow. Excellent decision to shorten it.
11/18/13 8:25 PM
turtleandi said...
Work it! I love it!
11/18/13 10:51 PM
Mc Donna said...
Ooohhh Mrs. C...you are rrrocking those ssstripes!
11/18/13 11:54 PM
SewPrincess said...
So cute, and those stripes are PERFECT!!!
11/19/13 0:10 AM
SewLibra said...
Great top and stripe placement. Super cute with the leggings. I don't know how you find time for all this sewing lately!
11/19/13 0:45 AM
JDpenelope said...
It's all been said already. You have an eye for what looks good on you the wearer and for picking the right fabric for a pattern. Your reviews are also fun to read (important!) and packed full of useful info.
11/19/13 6:08 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I love the stripe fabric for this dress!
11/19/13 6:45 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
Nothing more to add other than WOW! This one is off the charts!
11/19/13 7:25 AM
MrsCharisma said...
I am blushing! Thanks all!! I am eagerly awaiting date nite! :)
11/19/13 9:04 AM
Mufffet said...
THAT is so cute! You look great in this - it could be worn in so many instances! Office, church, party in the evening, out shopping - well, how handy! Love the fabric is great - looks like sweater knit in the pictures! :)
11/19/13 10:11 AM
3kids1036 said...
Super cute!
11/19/13 10:51 AM
atymonw said...
Love your dress! I just made this up for the second time and agree with you -- a super simple pattern with great results.
11/19/13 3:39 PM
butterflyfly said...
Cute dress! Love the stripy fabric!
11/19/13 5:15 PM
Erin D said...
Your mini dress is so cute, and the fabric choice is perfect.
11/23/13 11:29 PM
MrsCharisma said...
Thanks everyone :) I was all prepared to wear it out but we're hanging in single digits!
11/24/13 0:24 AM
Claire in Montreal said...
Oh my goodness, that's a fabulous dress ! I've noticed lately I really enjoy everything you're making. If I ever get off my butt and get to sewing, I may copy your closet LOL :-) Right now, I've got a stripey ponte that I really, really want to use and only had 2 patterns to decide from (this one and Butterick 5247). So here I am trying to make a decision and this review jumped up. With your detail, measurements, full hem pics and adjustments, it is done - this is next on my table. Thanks !!!!
11/24/13 10:04 AM
MrsCharisma said...
Aww, thanks Claire! B5247 is pretty cute with the cowl and they both have the same basic shape so I think you'll be doing great whichever you choose!
11/25/13 10:34 AM
Sue Parrott said...
Wow! You go girl! This is totally hot!
11/28/13 8:28 PM
Taryn1 said...
Wow, what a fantastic dress. The length is perfect. I think we're all jealous of your fabric too! :)
12/4/13 11:59 PM
MrsCharisma said...
Thank you! :)
12/20/13 10:01 PM
Nessa09 said...
Wow! You look amazing in this dress! And you took these stripes to a whole notha' level!!!
1/29/14 11:28 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2007-121 Jumperdress
photo
Review by Katrin7 on 11/16/07
Read Review

Simplicity 1416 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 1416 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 6006 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )
Butterick 6006 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Loes Hinse Designs 5208 Bianca Sweater
photo
Review by Lori V on 1/27/06
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Gracie Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Gracie Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Dixie DIY Summer Concert Tee
Dixie DIY Summer Concert Tee

Details
Price: $4.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern
Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us