Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Manequim: 04-2012-2211 (Skirt (Saia)) - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 94 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:Kathhhhhy
photo
About Kathhhhhystarstar
MD USA
Member since: 7/21/09
Reviews written: 107
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 105
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/19/13 9:51 AM
Project Photo:Manequim: 04-2012-2211 by Kathhhhhy

Manequim: 04-2012-2211 by Kathhhhhy  Manequim: 04-2012-2211 by Kathhhhhy  
Pattern Photo:

Pattern Info provided by Kathhhhhy

Pattern Rating:Recommend, with Modifications
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Polyester Charmeuse  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description: A lovely lined skirt with pleating details on the waist, front, back and hemline. It's a Marc Jacobs knockoff.

Pattern Sizing: 36-40-44. I made a 44.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Very close, but I had to make some changes.

Were the instructions easy to follow? The instructions are all in Portuguese, and I don't read a bit of the language. I tried to translate some of the directions on Google Translate but it was so tedious... so I did what I wanted.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I really liked the swooshy, soft a-line with the pleating details on the waist, front, back and hemline. But the skirt was NOT an a-line at all, it was a full straight skirt. The panels were all rectangles. But I did alter it to make it into an a-line. I made a muslin and quickly realized that the hemline pleats were weighing it all down in an awkward way. I got rid of those and the hem ends up soft and pretty.

Fabric Used: A soft, drapey floral poly... it acts like a rayon challis.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I didn't use the directions so I went at it on my own. I got rid of the hem pleats (because they did not allow the skirt to hang properly). I made the skirt into an a-line. I improvised with the waist... there are several pieces and I had a difficult time figuring out how to replicate the three pleats in the technical drawing. I ended up with two pleats.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I would sew it again, but don't exactly need this same skirt in my closet. I do not recommend it to beginners who don't read Portuguese, you'll won't be able to get through it. More advanced seamstresses who don't read Portuguese will be able to work with this for sure. I can't vouch for the directions either way if you can read the language

Conclusion: This was my first try with a Manequim pattern. I've been dying to give them a try! They are generally really fashion forward... I chose this more moderate design because I knew I'd wear it on a regular basis! I am usually a Burda size 42 and need to make a 44 in Manequim patterns. The fit was perfect! I really want to make more of their patterns.

I made this skirt for a sewing competition I am in. You can see more photos of the skirt plus the other two garments I made for this outfit here on my blog Kathy Sews.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
4 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mc Donna said...
Great save and pretty fabric.
11/19/13 10:18 AM
caper81 said...
Beautiful skirt:) Looks so nice with the top and blazer in your other review:)
11/19/13 12:01 PM
MrsCharisma said...
I couldn't comment on your blog for some reason but, this is amazing! I love the too so much!!
11/19/13 1:28 PM
Levone said...
Pretty skirt!
11/22/13 10:03 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Understanding Sheer Fabrics
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Understanding Sheer Fabrics

Vogue Patterns V1137
photo
Review by stitchywit... on 6/26/10
Read Review

You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern
You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket
Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Fresh Bloom Frock Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Fresh Bloom Frock Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Wrapped Maternity Top Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Wrapped Maternity Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2603
photo
Review by NC Carol on 1/23/10
Read Review

Simplicity 2373 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Simplicity 2373 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1695 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18 )
Simplicity 1695 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us