Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5786 (Hi/Lo Blouse) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 336 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:slmstyle
photo
Friend of PR
About slmstylestarstarstar
OR USA
Member since: 9/17/08
Reviews written: 120
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 49 people
patterns reviewed: 117
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/13 2:21 PM
Project Photo:Butterick: 5786 by slmstyle

Butterick: 5786 by slmstyle  Butterick: 5786 by slmstyle  
Pattern Photo:Butterick 5786
Butterick Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Great Wardrobe Builder
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Silk Crepe  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description: Loose-fitting shirt has collar band, mock front bands, shaped hemline and narrow hem

Pattern Sizing: 8-10-12-14-16. I made a 14 according to some of the finished measurements on the pattern pieces and how they compared to my body measurements, and I would purchase a top like this in a small or medium.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? I suppose so, it's hard to tell in the black fabric I made it in.

Also, I combined the sleeveless view A with the long sleeve of view D.

Were the instructions easy to follow? They were well written, but I would not make this a beginner project, just due to the fact that, for one, the top is cut out on the bias, and also, there is some hand stitching to do on the collar and cuffs. It wasn't bad overall, just not super easy.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I love the hi/low hem style. I am not crazy how the fit turned out as I have to fuss with it a bit to look and hang straight, especially at the bottom of the front opening. This may be due to me not cutting it out exactly on the bias, plus I used buttons that are kind of heavy, maybe too much for my delicate silk fabric.

I wanted to make a blouse like ones I have seen in stores and on Pinterest. Here is an inspiration top photo I pinned in Pinterest. I love the color of the blouse in my inspiration photo, so I might have to make this again in that kind of jewel tone color.

Fabric Used: Silk crepe from Mill End Store and vintage glass buttons from Button Emporium, both in Portland, Oregon.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: None, just combining the views A and D, and making french seams for the side and center back seam.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I would sew it again, but I'd probably would not cut the front and back pieces on the bias, just on the straight of grain, as that would take less fabric and be easier to handle. I might also lengthen the front a bit as I would want it to go slightly lower in the front.

I do recommend it as a cool shirt pattern.

Conclusion: I love this blouse, but it took me a couple of months to complete as I could only work on it a little bit at at time as I am back in college getting another degree and homework has taken over all of my free time
I am happy with the results, I just wish it fit a little better.
Buy this pattern for $17.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elke said...
Very cute and it looks great on you!
11/21/13 3:28 PM
carolynw said...
It looks wonderful on you. Very sharp with the skinny jeans.
11/21/13 3:56 PM
CissieW said...
You are certain to be the coolest girl on campus in this! Love the long sleeves.
11/21/13 4:30 PM
PattyE said...
Oh, I love this pattern and would like to make another one too. This looks super on you!
11/21/13 5:28 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
I think it looks really nice and hope you become comfortable wearing it. Love the fabric too!
11/21/13 6:13 PM
SewWil said...
Very pretty top!
11/22/13 0:16 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I like the shirt very much. Looks great with the jeans!
11/22/13 7:09 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
So nice on you. (love your short hair, too!)
11/22/13 8:56 AM
wildberrymom said...
I'm not a big fan of uneven hemlines but this one is perfect on you--Bravo!
11/22/13 12:10 PM
sewmytime said...
This top looks fantastic on you!
11/23/13 3:13 PM
marec said...
Just wonderful and so close to your inspiration...
11/23/13 7:36 PM
Dei said...
Loving this top! Looks great on you.
12/3/13 8:30 PM
Heatherrique said...
Very sleek, slmstyle!
12/3/13 8:36 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Pink Chalk Studio Mail Sack Mail Sack
photo
Review by Shelly Gir... on 6/3/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Lil-Long Johns Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Lil-Long Johns Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Firefly Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver   S Firefly Jacket Digital  Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2011-104
photo
Review by Christina ... on 8/3/11
Read Review

Christine Jonson Straight Shirt
Christine Jonson Straight Shirt

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern
Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2542 Pattern ( Size XS-S-M )
Simplicity 2542 Pattern ( Size XS-S-M )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6625 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6625 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us