SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8954 (Misses' Vest)

1 more reviews
Viewed 540 times 
Reviewed by:sfshaza
photo

 
 
About sfshazastar
CA USA
Member since: 9/12/07
Reviews written: 160
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 89 people
patterns reviewed: 160
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/22/13 1:32 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Vogue Patterns: 8954 by sfshaza  Vogue Patterns: 8954 by sfshaza  
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MrsCharisma said...
Really cute Shams!
11/22/13 2:16 PM
tanyamaile said...
Love it, Shams!
11/22/13 2:39 PM
mm said...
Next pattern sale this one is going in my basket.
11/22/13 4:17 PM
carolynw said...
I saw this pattern and though meh! Now it's in the bag next sale. As usual your making of this top is just perfect. Love the fabric choice
11/22/13 4:22 PM
bonnie said...
Shams-what an interesting fabric to use for this pattern. you really open up the mind for new options.......bought a similar fabric recently from EOS...Wonderful creativity.
11/22/13 6:04 PM
NancyZL said...
This looks great! I'm in the process of finishing up my version & also found the collar droopy so ended up facing it.
11/22/13 6:28 PM
Barbara V said...
Fantastic Shams! Your striped knit fabric is just perfect for this fun vest. It looks great on you.
11/22/13 7:44 PM
marthamyers said...
Another great piece. What an interesting statement piece. Thanks for sharing!
11/22/13 8:32 PM
SewLibra said...
Now that's a bold statement! I like it!
11/23/13 0:09 AM
Dilliander said...
Lovely to see this made up. The stripes work really well with the seaming, it looks great!
11/23/13 0:49 AM
petro said...
Great result, the stripey fabric shows off the pattern seaming brilliantly. Like Carolyn I didn't see the potential in this pattern in the catalogue, but you have made a stiking top with it.
11/23/13 2:22 AM
ceedee said...
Wasn't aware of this pattern but I now have to have it! Love what you did with the stripes; I can see how other talented people could take advantage of the design for decorative stitches, embroidery, using various color/texture fabrics. The sky is the limit for design opportunities with this vest. Thanks for the post (and it looks great and so comfy on you!).
11/23/13 5:24 AM
VivianZ said...
Cute, cute, cute!
11/23/13 7:10 AM
Fran G said...
I knew this was a creation of yours while only a partial view was visible! Your fabric choices are always so cool! Always a statement piece.
11/23/13 7:59 AM
mmcp said...
Great top, and very helpful sizing tip.
11/23/13 8:34 AM
Danvillegirl said...
This is so your style! Cute!
11/23/13 8:39 AM
Sue Parrott said...
Your vest is super cute on you! I do really like it but one thing that has held me back is the fact that it is so very large! Going down a size will help, and after seeing yours, I have to get this pattern. Cute!!!
11/23/13 9:44 AM
DorothyK said...
Fabulous! Love this in stripes. The pattern has so much potential. Can't wait to make it.
11/23/13 11:09 AM
grey ann said...
Very snazzy. You always inspire me! I don't look so good with the wider shoulders hanging down my arms. How simple do you think it would be to angle those armscyes so they shoulders would end at my natural shoulder line???
11/23/13 12:54 PM
sfshaza said...
Thanks, everyone! Grey ann, I think you could modify the armhole pretty easily. You will need to adjust the armhole binding, accordingly, but it doesn't seem hard to me.
11/23/13 1:34 PM
lamstu said...
Using stripes is a fabulous choice. You've done a great job with a difficult fabric!
11/23/13 6:40 PM
sewingcanary said...
So many comments, what can I say?! Great food for thought on a jacket Im planning, especially about the seam. Re collar - Im curious if Vogue recommended interfacing. Perhaps a tricot or biased woven would help next time. Kudos.
11/23/13 10:27 PM
TJSEWS said...
I've been eyeing this pattern. After seeing how fabulous your turned out, I may have to get it!
11/24/13 4:25 PM
Annie P said...
A great job! Your vest looks much nicer than the one on the pattern envelope, which just looks boring.
11/25/13 5:28 PM
Tina Rathbone said...
Another great meld of fabric to pattern. I just acquired this one, and with all the suggested fabric types on the pattern, I can't go wrong. Hoping to finish this before our SFO Opera trip in May!
2/5/14 2:48 AM
Gloria M said...
Absolutely wonderful!! And thank you so much for the sizing tip. I have some striped silk that I can't wait to use with this pattern.
7/30/14 11:46 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

McCall's 6460

photo
by: couturemom

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 162225-1002

photo
by: UglyCute

Review
You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Buy Now