Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8954 (Misses' Vest) - Type:Vests    printable version
Viewed 485 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:sfshaza
photo
About sfshazastar
CA USA
Member since: 9/12/07
Reviews written: 156
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 85 people
patterns reviewed: 156
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/22/13 1:32 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 8954 by sfshaza

Vogue Patterns: 8954 by sfshaza  Vogue Patterns: 8954 by sfshaza  
Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 8954
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Vests    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Rayon-Lycra Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description: Very loose-fitting, unlined vest has single-layer collar and collar band (wrong side shows), seam detail, French seams stitched to right side of fabric, and shaped hemline. Front closings: purchased pin A, hook & thread eye B and button C. A and C: narrow hem. D: cut on length/crosswise grain, wrong side shows on front opening. Fabric note: not suitable for one-way designs. No provisions provided for above or below waist adjustment.

Pattern Sizing: XS (4-5) to XXL (24-26). This is a generously sized pattern. Marcy recommends, on her blog, to go down one size if you want a closer fit. I would normally make a size 14 (medium) and then to do an FBA. But for this, I used a small and did NOT do an FBA.

The size was perfect.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Pretty much.

Were the instructions easy to follow? They were great.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? The interesting piecing!

Fabric Used: I used a rayon lycra knit. It is very unstable, very lightweight, very prone to rippling.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: Other than sizing down, none.

Next time I would do two things differently. First, I would sew all three pieces seams on each front with the reverse French seam, not just the first and third. I wear this vest open and the conventionally sewn seam allowance (which I serged) shows.

Also, if I were to use another droopy fabric, I would eliminate the collar. It's difficult to make it lie nicely in this droopy fabric. That would not be an issue in a more substantial fabric.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Yes, I would sew it again. I really like it.

Conclusion: A very interesting, very fun vest! More on my blog.

Buy this pattern for $27.50     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MrsCharisma said...
Really cute Shams!
11/22/13 2:16 PM
tanyamaile said...
Love it, Shams!
11/22/13 2:39 PM
mm said...
Next pattern sale this one is going in my basket.
11/22/13 4:17 PM
carolynw said...
I saw this pattern and though meh! Now it's in the bag next sale. As usual your making of this top is just perfect. Love the fabric choice
11/22/13 4:22 PM
bonnie said...
Shams-what an interesting fabric to use for this pattern. you really open up the mind for new options.......bought a similar fabric recently from EOS...Wonderful creativity.
11/22/13 6:04 PM
NancyZL said...
This looks great! I'm in the process of finishing up my version & also found the collar droopy so ended up facing it.
11/22/13 6:28 PM
Barbara V said...
Fantastic Shams! Your striped knit fabric is just perfect for this fun vest. It looks great on you.
11/22/13 7:44 PM
marthamyers said...
Another great piece. What an interesting statement piece. Thanks for sharing!
11/22/13 8:32 PM
SewLibra said...
Now that's a bold statement! I like it!
11/23/13 0:09 AM
Dilliander said...
Lovely to see this made up. The stripes work really well with the seaming, it looks great!
11/23/13 0:49 AM
petro said...
Great result, the stripey fabric shows off the pattern seaming brilliantly. Like Carolyn I didn't see the potential in this pattern in the catalogue, but you have made a stiking top with it.
11/23/13 2:22 AM
ceedee said...
Wasn't aware of this pattern but I now have to have it! Love what you did with the stripes; I can see how other talented people could take advantage of the design for decorative stitches, embroidery, using various color/texture fabrics. The sky is the limit for design opportunities with this vest. Thanks for the post (and it looks great and so comfy on you!).
11/23/13 5:24 AM
VivianZ said...
Cute, cute, cute!
11/23/13 7:10 AM
Fran G said...
I knew this was a creation of yours while only a partial view was visible! Your fabric choices are always so cool! Always a statement piece.
11/23/13 7:59 AM
mmcp said...
Great top, and very helpful sizing tip.
11/23/13 8:34 AM
Danvillegirl said...
This is so your style! Cute!
11/23/13 8:39 AM
Sue Parrott said...
Your vest is super cute on you! I do really like it but one thing that has held me back is the fact that it is so very large! Going down a size will help, and after seeing yours, I have to get this pattern. Cute!!!
11/23/13 9:44 AM
DorothyK said...
Fabulous! Love this in stripes. The pattern has so much potential. Can't wait to make it.
11/23/13 11:09 AM
grey ann said...
Very snazzy. You always inspire me! I don't look so good with the wider shoulders hanging down my arms. How simple do you think it would be to angle those armscyes so they shoulders would end at my natural shoulder line???
11/23/13 12:54 PM
sfshaza said...
Thanks, everyone! Grey ann, I think you could modify the armhole pretty easily. You will need to adjust the armhole binding, accordingly, but it doesn't seem hard to me.
11/23/13 1:34 PM
lamstu said...
Using stripes is a fabulous choice. You've done a great job with a difficult fabric!
11/23/13 6:40 PM
sewingcanary said...
So many comments, what can I say?! Great food for thought on a jacket Im planning, especially about the seam. Re collar - Im curious if Vogue recommended interfacing. Perhaps a tricot or biased woven would help next time. Kudos.
11/23/13 10:27 PM
TJSEWS said...
I've been eyeing this pattern. After seeing how fabulous your turned out, I may have to get it!
11/24/13 4:25 PM
Annie P said...
A great job! Your vest looks much nicer than the one on the pattern envelope, which just looks boring.
11/25/13 5:28 PM
Tina Rathbone said...
Another great meld of fabric to pattern. I just acquired this one, and with all the suggested fabric types on the pattern, I can't go wrong. Hoping to finish this before our SFO Opera trip in May!
2/5/14 2:48 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Self Drafted Pattern 146547-1000
photo
Review by FL Girl on 10/30/10
Read Review

You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $9.05
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern
SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

MariaDenmark Audrey Dress Digital Pattern ( Sized For B-Cup Bust )
MariaDenmark Audrey Dress Digital Pattern ( Sized For B-Cup Bust )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Eucalypt Tank & Dress Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Eucalypt Tank & Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3617
photo
Review by Nujoi1908 on 1/31/10
Read Review

Simplicity 2058 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )
Simplicity 2058 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3699 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3699 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us