SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8954 (Misses' Vest)

1 more reviews
Viewed 599 times 
Reviewed by:sfshaza
photo

 
 
About sfshazastar
CA USA
Member since: 9/12/07
Reviews written: 165
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 97 people
patterns reviewed: 165
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/22/13 1:32 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Vogue Patterns: 8954 by sfshaza  Vogue Patterns: 8954 by sfshaza  
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewmadd said...
I just ordered the red linen fabric as shown on the pattern front.....I can't wait to make this....I love red.
12/4/14 12:31 PM
Gloria M said...
Absolutely wonderful!! And thank you so much for the sizing tip. I have some striped silk that I can't wait to use with this pattern.
7/30/14 11:46 AM
Tina Rathbone said...
Another great meld of fabric to pattern. I just acquired this one, and with all the suggested fabric types on the pattern, I can't go wrong. Hoping to finish this before our SFO Opera trip in May!
2/5/14 2:48 AM
Annie P said...
A great job! Your vest looks much nicer than the one on the pattern envelope, which just looks boring.
11/25/13 5:28 PM
TJSEWS said...
I've been eyeing this pattern. After seeing how fabulous your turned out, I may have to get it!
11/24/13 4:25 PM
sewingcanary said...
So many comments, what can I say?! Great food for thought on a jacket Im planning, especially about the seam. Re collar - Im curious if Vogue recommended interfacing. Perhaps a tricot or biased woven would help next time. Kudos.
11/23/13 10:27 PM
lamstu said...
Using stripes is a fabulous choice. You've done a great job with a difficult fabric!
11/23/13 6:40 PM
sfshaza said...
Thanks, everyone! Grey ann, I think you could modify the armhole pretty easily. You will need to adjust the armhole binding, accordingly, but it doesn't seem hard to me.
11/23/13 1:34 PM
grey ann said...
Very snazzy. You always inspire me! I don't look so good with the wider shoulders hanging down my arms. How simple do you think it would be to angle those armscyes so they shoulders would end at my natural shoulder line???
11/23/13 12:54 PM
DorothyK said...
Fabulous! Love this in stripes. The pattern has so much potential. Can't wait to make it.
11/23/13 11:09 AM
Sue Parrott said...
Your vest is super cute on you! I do really like it but one thing that has held me back is the fact that it is so very large! Going down a size will help, and after seeing yours, I have to get this pattern. Cute!!!
11/23/13 9:44 AM
Danvillegirl said...
This is so your style! Cute!
11/23/13 8:39 AM
mmcp said...
Great top, and very helpful sizing tip.
11/23/13 8:34 AM
Fran G said...
I knew this was a creation of yours while only a partial view was visible! Your fabric choices are always so cool! Always a statement piece.
11/23/13 7:59 AM
VivianZ said...
Cute, cute, cute!
11/23/13 7:10 AM
ceedee said...
Wasn't aware of this pattern but I now have to have it! Love what you did with the stripes; I can see how other talented people could take advantage of the design for decorative stitches, embroidery, using various color/texture fabrics. The sky is the limit for design opportunities with this vest. Thanks for the post (and it looks great and so comfy on you!).
11/23/13 5:24 AM
petro said...
Great result, the stripey fabric shows off the pattern seaming brilliantly. Like Carolyn I didn't see the potential in this pattern in the catalogue, but you have made a stiking top with it.
11/23/13 2:22 AM
Dilliander said...
Lovely to see this made up. The stripes work really well with the seaming, it looks great!
11/23/13 0:49 AM
SewLibra said...
Now that's a bold statement! I like it!
11/23/13 0:09 AM
marthamyers said...
Another great piece. What an interesting statement piece. Thanks for sharing!
11/22/13 8:32 PM
Barbara V said...
Fantastic Shams! Your striped knit fabric is just perfect for this fun vest. It looks great on you.
11/22/13 7:44 PM
NancyZL said...
This looks great! I'm in the process of finishing up my version & also found the collar droopy so ended up facing it.
11/22/13 6:28 PM
bonnie said...
Shams-what an interesting fabric to use for this pattern. you really open up the mind for new options.......bought a similar fabric recently from EOS...Wonderful creativity.
11/22/13 6:04 PM
carolynw said...
I saw this pattern and though meh! Now it's in the bag next sale. As usual your making of this top is just perfect. Love the fabric choice
11/22/13 4:22 PM
mm said...
Next pattern sale this one is going in my basket.
11/22/13 4:17 PM
tanyamaile said...
Love it, Shams!
11/22/13 2:39 PM
MrsCharisma said...
Really cute Shams!
11/22/13 2:16 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Vogue Patterns 8590

photo
by: Fabric Hog

Review
PerfectFuseTailorUltra White

PerfectFuseTailorUltra White

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern

Buy Now