Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2226 ( Learn to Sew Misses' Skirt) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 171 times 34 more reviews
Reviewed by:CounttyGirl619
photo
About CounttyGirl619
VA USA
Member since: 11/16/13
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/26/13 7:10 AM
Project Photo:Simplicity: 2226 by CounttyGirl619

Pattern Photo:Simplicity 2226
Simplicity Pattern Info

More Info provided by CounttyGirl619

Pattern Rating:Easy & Great for Beginners
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton Twill  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description: Simplicity's Learn to Sew pattern collection. Misses' skirt in two lengths and tie belt.

Pattern Sizing: A (6-8-1-12-14-16-18)

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Oh, yes it did!

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, although I made a mistake doing the gathering but that's cause it was after 10:00pm and I was so tired! I should have stopped earlier, it would have kept me from ripping out so may seams!

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? This was my first time sewing a skirt, and I had a hard time with the sizing on the waistband. I did a muslin piece, but I still wasn't sure it was the correct size. I am very short waisted so I need to wear things on my hips, as opposed to my waist as the pattern states. Had this been my second, or third, time making a skirt I would have been more comfortable. I plan on making another one (or two, or three!) and now feel more confident. I was so focused on making the waistband fit that I forgot I wanted the shorter version, but it came out the perfect tea length on me! I truly love this skirt, and can't wait to find other fabric to use to make another.

Fabric Used: Cotton twill from fabric.com

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: No alterations the first time, but now that I know my waistband size, I plan on doing the body of the skirt a much smaller size. It definitely runs big in that area. I made a 16 waistband (I'm only a size 8!) and body of skirt, but next time will do the 14 waistband with 10 skirt body. It won't be as full, which will be fine because I don't want to use such a thick fabric. If I was doing corduroy I would probably still do a little less in the skirt body to not make so big. Mine doesn't drape straight down since the fabric is thicker.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I will DEFINITELY be doing this skirt again!

Conclusion: Loved this skirt, can't wait to make another. Great wardrobe builder! I am going to do the pocket, waistband and probably add a bottom portion in a different color to change it up. Very versatile, if you let your imagination create it!
Buy this pattern for $15.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MarieV said...
Good job, love the fabric you have used for this pattern
11/26/13 7:57 AM
CookMJ0531 said...
This looks great! I am definitely adding this pattern to my list of Simplicity patterns to get on Black Friday at Hancocks. Great job!
11/26/13 8:31 AM
Guelphgurl said...
Congratulations on your first skirt and first review!
11/26/13 8:55 AM
Guelphgurl said...
Congratulations on your first skirt and first review!
11/26/13 8:55 AM
MrsCharisma said...
Looks good! And, great first skirt! :) I agree that it would look great with a band of color on the bottom
11/26/13 3:08 PM
Sheenagh said...
Great job and love the grey and white colour combination!
3/20/14 6:21 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Burda 8343
photo
Review by artkat on 2/4/07
Read Review

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )
Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern
Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Maia Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Maia Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things The Flight Cap Digital Pattern (004)
Simple Things The Flight Cap Digital Pattern (004)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2558
photo
Review by BrightFeat... on 7/29/10
Read Review

Vogue 8907 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Vogue 8907 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3813 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3813 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us