Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 6792 (Misses' Top and Dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 424 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:caper81
photo
Friend of PR
About caper81star
CANADA
Member since: 9/24/11
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 22 people
patterns reviewed: 31
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/26/13 9:25 AM
Last Updated:11/26/13 10:32 AM
Project Photo:McCall's: 6792 by caper81

Pattern Photo:McCall's 6792
McCall's Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $15.96 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton-Lycra Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description: Loose-fitting, pullover top and dresses have seam detail. Narrow hem on necklines, and slits D. Designed for medium weight moderate stretch knits.

My Blog

Pattern Sizing: 8-16

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes!

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, though it took me a few minutes to figure out how to sew in the colour-blocked piece.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I just love this look! It's an easy-wearing style, that is very easy to sew.

Dislikes: Well, this dress has *not much* shaping to speak of. The side seams and centre-back seam are pin-straight. This is fine if that's the fit you're looking for or if you're planning to wear a belt to cinch in the waist.

For myself however, I wanted to wear this dress without a belt (and not look like a sack of potatoes). As in my last dress, reviewed here, I used a dress that I already had as a guide to add shaping to the side seams and centre-back seam.

Fabric Used: For most of the dress I used a Navy cotton knit that's made to look like a dark-wash denim. For the insert, I used a pink ponte knit.

Both knits are pretty stable, and were great to work with This was my first experience with ponte knit and it washed and dried well with not much shrinkage.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: Like I mentioned above, adding some curves to the side seams and CB seam.

I narrowed the skirt near the hem (one inch at each side seam) a bit to make it more "pencil-like" (more on my blog).

I actually sewed this dress using their recommendation (a double-stitched seam). I tried doing it another way, but the seams were wonky.

Note: I used a plain old *straight stitch* even though "stretch seams" or a narrow zigzag seam are usually recommended when sewing with knits. It just didn't work for me with this project, and my way turned out just fine

This isn't a change, but I thought I'd mention that I did use neck facings for this version, as my knit was a bit bulky for binding. I did lower the neckline slightly as I did in my last version, but didn't make it any wider (much better!)

I used a double-needle for the bottom hem and sleeves (I forgot to make them longer, watch the sleeve length, you may find it a bit short).

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Absolutely to both!!

Conclusion: Now that Christmas is just around the corner, I'm going to have to take a break from "me sewing", as I have plenty of things to do (including a few sewing projects for family I would love to sew this dress again in the New Year
Buy this pattern for $15.96  List Price: $19.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MrsCharisma said...
I love it! The contrast is so pretty and agree that adding some shaping works better. Now I want one! :)
11/26/13 9:52 AM
sewbehind said...
That looks really cute on you. Nice job.
11/26/13 9:59 AM
Melwyk said...
Oh, my, I love this! The shaping really makes the difference. The colour blocking is great, too. Have to move this one up on my list!
11/26/13 10:30 AM
sewmytime said...
Very pretty!
11/26/13 10:38 AM
LizJ58 said...
I've been wondering what this pattern would look like on a real person! Looks really good on you!
11/26/13 11:42 AM
ArtAttack said...
I love it! Adorable on you and great colors!
11/26/13 1:50 PM
atymonw said...
Such a wearable dress! And great save on the corner:)
11/26/13 3:35 PM
slmstyle said...
Nice dress! I like the fit changes you made.
11/26/13 4:10 PM
CissieW said...
Great dress. It doesn't look like the work of a "beginner" to me!!! Good job
11/26/13 8:38 PM
Chempac said...
What a beautiful creation! Nice color choices.
11/26/13 10:15 PM
SewWil said...
Beautiful dress. Looks great on you!
11/27/13 0:38 AM
caper81 said...
Thanks ladies! :) xo
11/27/13 10:04 AM
mangoflavor said...
This looks really stylish on you. Great job
11/27/13 12:24 PM
SewLibra said...
Super cute and shapely! I like your blog, too. I use a straight stitch on long seams on knits, as well. It almost always looks the best.
11/27/13 2:13 PM
beanchor said...
Lovely, love your color choices.
11/27/13 3:59 PM
Sue Parrott said...
So adorable on you! I just love this! It looks comfortable and cozy. Well done!
11/27/13 7:58 PM
1SewSweet said...
Very nice dress on you! I've added this pattern to my wish list!
11/27/13 11:44 PM
madbadger said...
Great dress! Love the color blocking!
11/28/13 10:30 AM
norie creates said...
I love your version! I have this pattern and have been reluctant to try it but I think I'll give it a go! Thanks for the shaping tip!
12/6/13 2:54 PM
janimal said...
This is great! I bought fabric for this yesterday. Grey and with a red block also. So pleased to read your tips before getting started. Cheers!
12/18/13 9:39 AM
janimal said...
This is great! I bought fabric for this yesterday. Grey and with a red block also. So pleased to read your tips before getting started. Cheers!
12/18/13 9:39 AM
sewin said...
This is so cute and trendy looking. Great job.
12/21/13 10:16 PM
JDpenelope said...
It's the new year. Are you going to make another one? This one came out great.
1/21/14 9:43 PM
Buttercookie said...
I love your shaping tip ! I made this dress an even went down a size and it was still "roomy " . I will make it again and follow you advice !
2/7/14 1:35 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Simplicity 9505
photo
Review by dynacam on 7/6/08
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)
Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Zippy Jacket Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Zippy Jacket Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Belle Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Belle Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2004-121 Skirt
photo
Review by hongkongsh... on 11/23/06
Read Review

Butterick 3875 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Butterick 3875 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $14.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5419 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 5419 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us