Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5692 - Type:Kids(boys & girls)    printable version
Viewed 122 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:MinaLMcGrady
photo
Friend of PR
About MinaLMcGradystar
OH USA
Member since: 11/6/13
Reviews written: 34
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 33
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/27/13 1:40 AM
Last Updated:11/28/13 8:39 PM
Project Photo:McCall's: 5692 by MinaLMcGrady

McCall's: 5692 by MinaLMcGrady  
Pattern Photo:McCall's 5692
McCall's Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Easy & Great for Beginners
See other patterns in this category: Kids(boys & girls)    
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Corduroy  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description: Children's/Girls' Jumpers

Pattern Sizing: I cut a size 3- to me Mccalls pattern run a little big. My daughter is 3.75 yrs old and wears a 4, but this size 3 I made is the perfect fit.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?. YES!!

Were the instructions easy to follow? they probably were; I sewed this dress with my eyes closed. (;

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I just love love love these dresses on my daughter, oh and the fact that it was so easy to sew ...
Fabric Used: I used a light weight courdoroy.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
No..but, you really don't need a 12' zipper, you could use a 7' one. I just thought the zipper was just way to long. And, I would advise to always use an invisible zipper, it just adds poshness to this little simple dress. I made this dress before, but by another patter company and put in a regular zipper, it just took so much away from the dress.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? oh yes!! I think. Will make it in black or another solid color and have fun with it using trims- I think I may even put my embroidery attachment on my machine and put an A for Aminah in the upper left for my baby girl..

Conclusion: my daughters favorite color is purple- as I was sewing it, she asked was it for her, I told her yes. After I finished it she told me he didn't like it because it wasn't purple- this is why she refused to model it. Instead she told me she would show the dress with her hand, as you will see in the photo. I guess the dress has grown on her, because at the end of the day she did come to me and say she also likes pink and that she does love her new dress...hmmm, what a personality at 3yrs old.

UPDATE: my daughter took a picture for me in her new dress on Thanksgiving.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
caper81 said...
What a sweet dress! Great review, kids are funny:)
11/27/13 8:37 AM
Chempac said...
The dress is soo cute! I'm sure she looks adorable in it.
11/27/13 8:43 PM
Pj3g said...
Oh so funny reading about your daughter and the dress! Cute little miss personality and so is the dress!
11/27/13 8:47 PM
Jrhee said...
Darling dress! Perfect in corduroy.
11/29/13 10:48 AM
Dee2 said...
Very cute dress--love the fabric & glad that she now loves it too!
11/30/13 12:25 PM
margy.64 said...
Just gorgeous.
12/1/13 3:35 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2011-124
photo
Review by Heatherriq... on 7/24/11
Read Review

SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern
SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern
Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Tiny Pocket Tank
Tiny Pocket Tank

Details
Price: $6.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Dana Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Dana Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1059 MISSES' PANTS
photo
Review by kidmd on 10/7/12
Read Review

New Look 6777 Pattern
New Look 6777 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6854 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6854 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us