Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Cake patterns: 2222 (Cabarita Knit Top) thumbsup - Type:Plus    printable version
Viewed 193 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:sassykat
photo
About sassykatstar
BC CANADA
Member since: 5/24/13
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 29
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/27/13 1:52 AM
Last Updated:11/27/13 1:54 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 
Project Photo:Cake patterns: 2222 by sassykat

Pattern Photo:Cake patterns 2222
Cake patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $10.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Modal Blend Jersey Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
I love the Cake Patterns. Yes, they do take a bit of thought, sewing knowledge and willing to play around with sizes. 1. Take proper measurement. Don't worry about the numbers you will be the only one that knows. 2. A French curve ruler is very helpful 3. Go to the Sewing Cake website to see other projects, get answers to questions and see pictures and helpful suggestions. 4. I recommend that you use a good quality of tracing paper when you are making your pattern. I make notes on my pieces and date them. The date helps remind me if I need to re measure.

I have made this top before in two different fabrics and wear both often. This time I wanted the v-neck to be at the front and added a bow details. I feel the bow adds a bit of dressiness to the top. I also extended the length of the top.

I love the shape of this top. I like my curves so I moved the pattern in at the waist and flared it out over the stomach and hips. I made a neckband and doubled stitched it. The sleeves and the hem was double turned and stitched. The material is a lovely burnt orange, red, and turquoise. It has a great weight to it but not thick; so it drapes. It looks great with jeans or a skirt. It is great for traveling as it washes well and could be worn with different items.

I find that the longest part of making this tops was when I was measuring, tracing and cutting out the pieces but once that is done it's quick to sew up.
Buy this pattern for $10.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
2 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
michellep74 said...
Cute top! I like your addition of the bow detail.
11/27/13 12:17 PM
BeaJay said...
Your top looks lovely. Nice bow.
11/27/13 4:06 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2013-119 Blouse
photo
Review by MNBarb on 8/21/13
Read Review

Jalie 976 Pattern
Jalie 976 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6501 Pattern ( Size 101/2-12 1/2-14 1/2-16 1/2 )
McCalls 6501 Pattern ( Size 101/2-12 1/2-14 1/2-16 1/2 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1033 OOP
photo
Review by FreyaStark on 11/7/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Charlotte Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Charlotte Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S After-School Shirt + Pants Digital Pattern (6M-4)
Oliver + S After-School Shirt + Pants Digital Pattern (6M-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 502 Pattern
Petite Plus 502 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

A-Door-Ables
A-Door-Ables

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us