Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8940 (Men's Jacket and Pants) thumbsup - Type:Mens - Jackets    printable version
Viewed 310 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:choisserd
photo
About choisserd
MN USA
Member since: 9/12/13
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/27/13 2:28 AM
Last Updated:11/27/13 2:29 AM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 8940 by choisserd

Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 8940
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info

More Info provided by choisserd

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Jackets    Mens - Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Wool Coating  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
I just started sewing three months ago and made this jacket. This was one of my first big projects.

The directions were awesome in showing me what needed to be done and how to do it. Every step I went along the way I tried my coat on and made sure it fit correctly.

I had to make the arms in my coat 1 1/2" longer than the pattern put in.

I made my coat out of italian coating wool. It was very easy to work with, minimal stretching and shedding.

This pattern was a great experience to work on. I will have to try making the short coat.
Buy this pattern for $30.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MinaLMcGrady said...
You did a great job to be just starting out... I love the coat..
11/27/13 2:52 AM
KathleenS said...
Wow, great work for a beginner. Quite an ambitious choice you know. Enjoy wearing it!
11/27/13 4:32 AM
debbieB said...
Wow! Excellent job!
11/27/13 7:58 AM
kushami said...
Very impressive for a 'beginner' (I don't think you can call yourself that any more!). Look forward to seeing what you make next.
11/27/13 8:16 AM
sacjeanie said...
Very impressive for an early project. Sewn buttons and buttonholes also. I was very happy to read your post. Good luck on the next project and I look forward to reading more reviews from you.
11/27/13 9:17 AM
SewRaeMe said...
For a beginner, you have set your bar pretty high!
11/27/13 9:30 AM
Cristinagf said...
Looking sharp!
11/27/13 10:19 AM
carolynw said...
Three months and you made this!! Congratulations on diving in right away and producing this coat - great job!
11/27/13 12:45 PM
ImSewMom said...
Great job! I'm impressed that you would even attempt this at 3 mos. sewing. :)
11/27/13 1:07 PM
ImSewMom said...

11/27/13 1:07 PM
bakertoo said...
Good job!
11/27/13 1:40 PM
atymonw said...
Nice coat! Am amazed that you made this after only 3 months of sewing:)
11/27/13 1:59 PM
MrsCharisma said...
Nicely done!!
11/27/13 4:34 PM
tsedai said...
Very classy. Looks awesome - great job!
11/27/13 5:24 PM
MinaLMcGrady said...
I can't wait to see what your next project will be- newby... LOL
11/28/13 0:12 AM
Bernadette W said...
Two words- you rock!!! What an accomplishment!
11/28/13 0:15 AM
SewLibra said...
You chose quite a project for sewing for only 3 months. Seriously, a coat?! You did an excellent job and should be very proud!
11/28/13 1:09 AM
craigrama said...
That's an ambitious project to start with. Great job. Keep it up.
11/28/13 8:57 AM
margy.64 said...
Very impressive sewing. You should wear this with pride. Very well done.
11/28/13 10:07 PM
Jrhee said...
Classic coat, and impressive accomplishment!
11/29/13 11:06 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

McCall's 3762 Jumper
photo
Review by SewingSusa... on 1/24/04
Read Review

Christine Jonson Taper Pant & Wide Leg Pant
Christine Jonson Taper Pant & Wide Leg Pant

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Purse-Nickities
Purse-Nickities

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver & S Woodland Stroll Digital Pattern
Oliver & S Woodland Stroll Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Super Skinny Pants Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Super Skinny Pants Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Alabama Chanin Corset
photo
Review by Lynn67 on 11/10/13
Read Review

Simplicity 1784 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Simplicity 1784 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1352 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 1352 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us