Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 6799 (Misses' Skirts) - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 225 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:Aroura
photo
About Arourastarstarstar
OR USA
Member since: 7/30/09
Reviews written: 137
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 132
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/30/13 4:12 AM
Last Updated:11/30/13 4:16 AM
Project Photo:McCall's: 6799 by Aroura

McCall's: 6799 by Aroura  McCall's: 6799 by Aroura  
Pattern Photo:McCall's 6799
McCall's Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Easy & Great for Beginners
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $14.36 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Rayon Challis  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description:
Misses' skirts have waistband, self lined yolks (B cut on cross grain), back zipper and narrow hem. C, D: Side front and side back seams.

I made view B.

Pattern Sizing:
6 through 14. My measurements called for a 14, but knowing McCall's tends to run large, I cut a 12, and got a great fit.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes. I was afraid the drape would be exaggerated on the line drawing, but honestly it really is that fabulous! It moves like water, I LOVE walking in it! Still pictures do not do it justice.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
The instructions are fine, though there is an issue with the top of the zipper. The way the instructions have you finish, if I read them correctly, here is a small gap between the top of the zipper and the eye hook on the waistband. this doesn't look too great. It seems like since they had a lap for the hook, it should have been a lapped zipper, too. I suppose this is possibly more of a pattern design complaint than an instruction one.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
This is my first project ever fully cut on the bias, and I have to say, it gives impressive results! It falls so beautifully, and moves so fluidly, I feel like a runway model when I'm wearing it. I really also like the waistband and yoke combination. The waistband gives a secure fit, while the yoke allows a little room for a more, ahem, mature figure and totally hides it.

Just FYI, this pattern does have quite a lot of hand sewing. The yoke AND the waistband finish, and the hem as well of you like to do that, as well.

My ONLY dislike is that little gap between the zipper top and the waistband in the back, but I know I can fix that next time by making the zipper lapped, now that I know it is there.

Fabric Used:
A rayon Challis, black background with autumn orange, gold and red flowers, with paisley mixed in. My Great Aunt gave me 2 large bags full of remnants and unused fabrics from her stash last year, and this was a very special one I set aside for the "perfect" pattern. I am really glad I plucked up the courage to use this fabric on this pattern!

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
None at all.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
If I ever want another full skirt, yes I will absolutely sew this again. It is great for fall/winter skirts especially. My husband is really a fan of this, and said it was the prettiest thing I'd ever made. So yes, I am sure I'll make it again, assuming I can match another fabric to it.
I would totally recommend it to others looking for full, bias draped skirts, as long as you are aware of the zipper issue.

Conclusion:
I have not been much of a skirt wearer the last few years, but this pattern has changed that. I wore it all day Thanksgiving, and plan to wear it out shopping this weekend. This skirt is just fabulous in every way!

Please check out my Blog for all the pictures in one place.

Buy this pattern for $14.36  List Price: $17.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
camaro1952 said...
So very pretty!
11/30/13 5:03 AM
Adaire said...
Beautiful! I need this pattern.
11/30/13 7:51 AM
ArtAttack said...
Beautiful skirt!
11/30/13 9:00 AM
greengrapes88 said...
Just beautiful!
11/30/13 9:01 AM
cleverkitty said...
I'm impressed with this beautiful fabric your aunt gave you, perfect choice for this skirt. Very pretty!!!!!
11/30/13 9:10 AM
Scheri said...
Your skirt fits like a dream.
11/30/13 1:00 PM
SewWil said...
Very pretty skirt!
11/30/13 3:42 PM
Terri A said...
Pretty skirt!!!
12/1/13 1:51 AM
sewingcanary said...
Gorgeous colors! Absolutely. Many years ago I traced a friendís pattern that was this skirt shorter and included slash pockets inserted in the yoke. It was from Mc Callís Mary Quant Collection. At the time, I didnít realize it was a half circle. I still have 2 of these early skirts however, due to age my waist has thickened and I shortened the yokes several times. Iím planning a new one for spring/summer. Chances are this will be your favorite skirt pattern. Do try it in different lengths. They are SO comfortable to wear plus they look and feel GOOD. You have a winner!
12/1/13 1:31 PM
sewingcanary said...
PS. I used lightweight cottons similar to mist quilter's cottons. As they softened, the drape got even better.
12/1/13 1:44 PM
Leora said...
Pretty!
12/28/13 0:37 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Ottobre Design Magazine 03-2009-32
photo
Review by brissie71 on 2/24/12
Read Review

You Sew Girl Beauty Case Pattern
You Sew Girl Beauty Case Pattern

Details
Price: $18.15
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Ahsley Knit Ruffle Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Ahsley Knit Ruffle Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Espresso Leggings Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Espresso Leggings Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used No pattern used 2009-01-Baby
photo
Review by katlew03 on 2/20/09
Read Review

Simplicity 1703 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
Simplicity 1703 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6730 Pattern
New Look 6730 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us