SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4674 (Threads tiered skirt)

5 more reviews
Viewed 1554 times 
Reviewed by:Emmetropia*
photo

 
 
About Emmetropia*star
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 11/8/03
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/16/05 4:41 PM
Last Updated:5/16/05 5:04 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Frogstitcher said...
I don't blame you for wanting to keep it. It fits you so well and it looks really cute on you. Nice job.
5/16/05 4:45 PM
candyo said...
Very cute!
5/16/05 5:07 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Wow - what a great looking skirt on a great looking body. Many of us wish we could look like that in a beautiful low riding skirt. You did an excellent job. I don't blame you for keeping it. Hmmm Since you have already made this once - it would be very quick to make another one for your sis.
5/16/05 5:15 PM
CarolynGM said...
You have a whole month to make another one before your sister's birthday. I can understand why you don't want to give it up -- it's very cute on you.
5/16/05 5:36 PM
Gus2 said...
A waist, haven't seen one of those in years! You really do have a delema with that skirt. You need to make another one!
5/16/05 5:37 PM
BjP said...
Thanks for a good review. I wondered how tall you were? I made it for my 5'4" daughter and ended up cutting off a significant amount of each flounce to get it the right length for her. It really is a very cute skirt and it really looks wonderful on you. Love the color. Enjoy your waist.....mine left me years ago. :)
5/16/05 5:47 PM
NancyDaQ said...
BjP, it appears that this skirt is designed to be fairly short. The skirt length ranges from only 18 1/2" to 23", depending on the view. You can view the pattern envelope by clicking the link above, then clicking again on "see catalog information". I'm 5'4" and I could probably wear this without changing anything.
5/16/05 5:57 PM
jlg said...
This is so cute. I've been trying to decide if I like the return of the tiered skirts; your skirt makes me think that I definitely do.
5/16/05 6:17 PM
cutiepie said...
Gorgeous skirt!!! Very modern :) And you've paired the contrasting fabric and trim really nicely to create something very eye-catching. I'm definitely buying this one!
5/16/05 6:20 PM
Rennie Ashby said...
I'd kill for a defined waistline like that! Is your sister named Scarlett by any chance? :-)
5/16/05 7:57 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
That skirt looks adorable on you! If I had your figure, I would definitely keep it and make an A-line skirt for my DSis! :D -Ann
5/16/05 8:39 PM
Emmetropia* said...
Aaw, thank you everyone! BjP - I'm 5'8" and wear a 34" leg, so this is about as short as I'd want to go! Athank you so much for the waist compliments! It's the reason I sew! Anything RTW that fits my other curview areas gapes around the middle and I look like a sack of potatoes.
5/16/05 10:21 PM
JDpenelope said...
Keep the skirt! Only girls with figures like yours should wear low rise garments! Nice job.
5/17/05 6:55 AM
AnneM said...
You will have to make a 2nd version (either for her or you). Very nice for summer.
5/17/05 4:03 PM
Sweeta said...
I agree with the above's it's a keeper! Well done ;)
5/17/05 10:12 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Vogue Patterns V2820

photo
by: miausiau

Review
McCall's 6599

photo
by: Sandi S

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Salsa Blouse Pattern

Sewing Workshop Salsa Blouse Pattern

Buy Now