SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3285 

1 more reviews
Viewed 2197 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 386 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/16/05 5:57 PM
Last Updated:5/16/05 6:24 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    Tops    Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Susan Dryer said...
Great knock-off of the Eileen Fisher wrap which costs(!) for what it is. Love it!
5/16/05 6:16 PM
MaryBeth said...
This looks easy enough to do without a pattern. Nice, flow-y, staying-put wrap :)
5/16/05 6:19 PM
Jill Giard said...
This is a great wrap! It can be worn in so many ways - open, one side wrapped, both sides wrapped, overlapped and belted. Any way you wear it it is definately a statement! Nice job.
5/16/05 6:51 PM
Vonnevo said...
Gorgeous Anne...everything you sew is :)) I have a similar pattern from our Spotlight here in Oz. How did you finish the edges?
5/16/05 6:52 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
The Kwik Sew pic doesn't do this justice. Wow! That is spectacular! Perfect combo of fabric and pattern!
5/16/05 7:21 PM
Mariella said...
Eileen Fisher has a sweater/wrap like this in her collection for a princely sum and I couldn't believe it when I saw this pattern in the KwikSew catalogue. I've contemplated getting this pattern and think that I might - it's a lovely, graceful wrap!
5/16/05 7:26 PM
Teri said...
Ann, your wrap is great! I love the look.
5/16/05 7:29 PM
CarolynGM said...
That is so pretty -- a very wearable muslin. It will be lovely in jersey.
5/16/05 7:39 PM
Rennie Ashby said...
So graceful! Does anyone know where I can see the Eileen Fisher version? I love to do knock offs. That skirt is TDF too, Ann. Did you make it? Is it leather?
5/16/05 7:50 PM
Modiste Madness said...
Had my eye on this one and your creation confirmed it. I always look forward to your next review.
5/16/05 8:02 PM
Rebecca D said...
I love this wrap, thanks for reviewing it, it would never have occured to me to even think about this pattern, but now it's a must have.
5/16/05 8:25 PM
Deepika said...
Ann, what a great project. Love the wrap. Now I am going to have to make this too :) Love the black outfit too. Is it leather?
5/16/05 9:22 PM
flowermama said...
Love the dramatic elegance! I too love your skirt and am curious about it. Everything you do is beautiful.
5/16/05 9:41 PM
flowermama said...
oops!
5/16/05 9:42 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Pretty, and so dramatic! Thanks for telling us about the sleeve width and how it stays put.
5/16/05 9:56 PM
Mariella said...
Rennie Ashby, if you type "Eileen Fisher" into google, you'll find her site, or you can just go to www.eileenfisher.com Once you get there, click on the left "our favourite looks" and then choose "occasions" and you should see it shown in white. If you don't see it there, click on "sweaters" in the "shop by item" section. It is considerably shorter in terms of how long the drape is but that is probably pretty easy to compensate for. Interestingly, the Eileen Fisher one has sold out....guess we're not the only ones who like this look!
5/16/05 10:31 PM
Ann Smith said...
Thank you everyone for your lovely comments. Vonnevo, the edges are just turned twice and topstitched. Rennie and Deepika, my skirt is leather but no, I didn't make it. I love it anyway.
5/17/05 1:39 AM
Kathryn said...
Ann, if your review doesn't send hundreds of us out to buy that pattern, I'll be wondering why! Thank you so much for finding the pattern and inspiring us with the great wrap version that you made. Another wonderful review...no wonder you're on my "favorite reviewers" list!
5/17/05 6:06 AM
JDpenelope said...
PERFECT! Thank you so much for this review--I'm been making some lightweight, drapey capes for summer wraps-- I don't like fiddling with a shawl. Now I'm going to buy this pattern TODAY for several upcoming events. Thanks for sizing tips!
5/17/05 6:31 AM
Lisa Laree said...
tres kewl! "A long rectangle and a sleeve"...I wonder if I could figure out where to put a sleeve on a long rectangle ;)
5/17/05 7:41 AM
Lorna C. Newman said...
I can see this in a burnout velvet or a chiffon for a formal wrap ... maybe with some fringe ...hmmmmmm may have to buy this one!
5/17/05 9:45 AM
Tiner W said...
I need this one, too! Yours is so dramatic! I love it.
5/17/05 1:44 PM
PhyllisC said...
Bravo Ann! I really love this kind of thing, even though I can't wear it...maybe in my next lifetime though - you've definitely inspired me.
5/17/05 2:45 PM
AnneM said...
Neat, Ann. I bet this would cost an arm & a leg RTW (and a couple of the comments indicate that it would).
5/17/05 4:02 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Oh my goodness! I made one of these without a pattern because I couldn't find one at the time. I copied my sister's RTW that cost about $100. I have taken photos but haven't got around to do a review. I think I had better!
5/17/05 7:24 PM
kc said...
That is a beautiful wrap. You said it is a little long. I wonder if you shortened the length of the rectangle at both ends it might make the wrap shorter. I'm going to buy this pattern and thanks for the tips on the sleeves.
11/8/05 10:18 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Wow, Ann, I missed this review! Stunning, as usual!
11/8/05 10:30 AM
KallaLily said...
Helpful info. I saw this in purple slinky material on a Red Hat site, for $120 ! I will definetly make this! Thanks!
3/24/06 5:48 PM
KallaLily said...
I like this reviewer also. Even though it is a few years after this reviews, the look remains classic.
12/27/08 11:51 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns

Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns

Buy Now
Shapes Eleven Eleven Skirt Pattern

Shapes Eleven Eleven Skirt Pattern

Buy Now