Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3285 - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 2195 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 347
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 381 people
patterns reviewed: 344
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/16/05 5:57 PM
Last Updated:5/16/05 6:24 PM


See other patterns in this category: Vests    Tops    Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Susan Dryer said...
Great knock-off of the Eileen Fisher wrap which costs(!) for what it is. Love it!
5/16/05 6:16 PM
MaryBeth said...
This looks easy enough to do without a pattern. Nice, flow-y, staying-put wrap :)
5/16/05 6:19 PM
Jill Giard said...
This is a great wrap! It can be worn in so many ways - open, one side wrapped, both sides wrapped, overlapped and belted. Any way you wear it it is definately a statement! Nice job.
5/16/05 6:51 PM
Vonnevo said...
Gorgeous Anne...everything you sew is :)) I have a similar pattern from our Spotlight here in Oz. How did you finish the edges?
5/16/05 6:52 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
The Kwik Sew pic doesn't do this justice. Wow! That is spectacular! Perfect combo of fabric and pattern!
5/16/05 7:21 PM
Mariella said...
Eileen Fisher has a sweater/wrap like this in her collection for a princely sum and I couldn't believe it when I saw this pattern in the KwikSew catalogue. I've contemplated getting this pattern and think that I might - it's a lovely, graceful wrap!
5/16/05 7:26 PM
Teri said...
Ann, your wrap is great! I love the look.
5/16/05 7:29 PM
CarolynGM said...
That is so pretty -- a very wearable muslin. It will be lovely in jersey.
5/16/05 7:39 PM
Rennie Ashby said...
So graceful! Does anyone know where I can see the Eileen Fisher version? I love to do knock offs. That skirt is TDF too, Ann. Did you make it? Is it leather?
5/16/05 7:50 PM
Modiste Madness said...
Had my eye on this one and your creation confirmed it. I always look forward to your next review.
5/16/05 8:02 PM
Rebecca D said...
I love this wrap, thanks for reviewing it, it would never have occured to me to even think about this pattern, but now it's a must have.
5/16/05 8:25 PM
Deepika said...
Ann, what a great project. Love the wrap. Now I am going to have to make this too :) Love the black outfit too. Is it leather?
5/16/05 9:22 PM
flowermama said...
Love the dramatic elegance! I too love your skirt and am curious about it. Everything you do is beautiful.
5/16/05 9:41 PM
flowermama said...
oops!
5/16/05 9:42 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Pretty, and so dramatic! Thanks for telling us about the sleeve width and how it stays put.
5/16/05 9:56 PM
Mariella said...
Rennie Ashby, if you type "Eileen Fisher" into google, you'll find her site, or you can just go to www.eileenfisher.com Once you get there, click on the left "our favourite looks" and then choose "occasions" and you should see it shown in white. If you don't see it there, click on "sweaters" in the "shop by item" section. It is considerably shorter in terms of how long the drape is but that is probably pretty easy to compensate for. Interestingly, the Eileen Fisher one has sold out....guess we're not the only ones who like this look!
5/16/05 10:31 PM
Ann Smith said...
Thank you everyone for your lovely comments. Vonnevo, the edges are just turned twice and topstitched. Rennie and Deepika, my skirt is leather but no, I didn't make it. I love it anyway.
5/17/05 1:39 AM
Kathryn said...
Ann, if your review doesn't send hundreds of us out to buy that pattern, I'll be wondering why! Thank you so much for finding the pattern and inspiring us with the great wrap version that you made. Another wonderful review...no wonder you're on my "favorite reviewers" list!
5/17/05 6:06 AM
JDpenelope said...
PERFECT! Thank you so much for this review--I'm been making some lightweight, drapey capes for summer wraps-- I don't like fiddling with a shawl. Now I'm going to buy this pattern TODAY for several upcoming events. Thanks for sizing tips!
5/17/05 6:31 AM
Lisa Laree said...
tres kewl! "A long rectangle and a sleeve"...I wonder if I could figure out where to put a sleeve on a long rectangle ;)
5/17/05 7:41 AM
Lorna C. Newman said...
I can see this in a burnout velvet or a chiffon for a formal wrap ... maybe with some fringe ...hmmmmmm may have to buy this one!
5/17/05 9:45 AM
Tiner W said...
I need this one, too! Yours is so dramatic! I love it.
5/17/05 1:44 PM
PhyllisC said...
Bravo Ann! I really love this kind of thing, even though I can't wear it...maybe in my next lifetime though - you've definitely inspired me.
5/17/05 2:45 PM
AnneM said...
Neat, Ann. I bet this would cost an arm & a leg RTW (and a couple of the comments indicate that it would).
5/17/05 4:02 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Oh my goodness! I made one of these without a pattern because I couldn't find one at the time. I copied my sister's RTW that cost about $100. I have taken photos but haven't got around to do a review. I think I had better!
5/17/05 7:24 PM
kc said...
That is a beautiful wrap. You said it is a little long. I wonder if you shortened the length of the rectangle at both ends it might make the wrap shorter. I'm going to buy this pattern and thanks for the tips on the sleeves.
11/8/05 10:18 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Wow, Ann, I missed this review! Stunning, as usual!
11/8/05 10:30 AM
KallaLily said...
Helpful info. I saw this in purple slinky material on a Red Hat site, for $120 ! I will definetly make this! Thanks!
3/24/06 5:48 PM
KallaLily said...
I like this reviewer also. Even though it is a few years after this reviews, the look remains classic.
12/27/08 11:51 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Self Drafted Pattern 9151-1013
photo
Review by Ody on 12/4/08
Read Review

MariaDenmark Laura Lounge Digital Pattern
MariaDenmark Laura Lounge Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.20
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Blank Tank Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Blank Tank Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cutting Line Designs Fun with Fabrics
photo
Review by 2 Airedale... on 5/20/12
Read Review

Mini Miranda Bag
Mini Miranda Bag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4136 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 4136 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 4646 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
McCalls 4646 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $11.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us