Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 11-2013-103 (Back keyhole neck blouse) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 158 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:kristylee
photo
Friend of PR
About kristyleestar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 2/15/06
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/1/13 6:31 AM
Last Updated:12/1/13 6:36 AM
Project Photo:BurdaStyle Magazine: 11-2013-103 by kristylee

BurdaStyle Magazine: 11-2013-103 by kristylee  
Pattern Photo: BurdaStyle Magazine Pattern Info

More Info provided by kristylee

Pattern Rating:Easy & Great for Beginners
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:cotton-voile  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description:
A blouse with a pleated, high crew neck and cuffed sleeves, and the back neckline features a little keyhole for fit.

Pattern Sizing:
sizes 36-44, I made a size 36. This is a very loosely fitted top with loads of ease, although the neckline is oddly tightly fitting.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes, although I shortened my sleeves to elbow length.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Surprisingly for a Burda pattern the pattern instructions were quite understandable and helpful! Make sure you accurately trace the curved sewing line on the shoulder darts to get a nice rounded finish but apart from that the pattern is very easy and straightforward.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I quite like the pleated neckline and the raglan sleeves with shoulder darts that fall nicely over my shoulders. I didn't like the length of the top - it's too long for a normal top because there was a lot of fabric to tuck in but too short for a tunic.

Fabric Used:
A thin cotton voile in a small floral print from my stash.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I shortened the sleeves to just below elbow length because I want to wear this during summer. I also added a long loop to the button at the neckline so that the neckband wasn't too tight around my neck. If I make this again I would make the neckband longer so it's more comfortable.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes, I can see myself making a long sleeved version of this in winter in a soft, draping fabric. I'd definitely recommend this to others, especially beginners - there's minimal fitting required but if you make it from a drapey fabric it will still look flattering, and it has raglan sleeves which are far easier to sew than set in sleeves.

Conclusion:
A nice simple pattern that could look really elegant in the right fabric, or casual in another type of fabric. More details in my blog
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Vintagelover said...
I love it! the fabric really suits this
12/1/13 10:05 AM
velosewer said...
Lovely work Kristy.
12/1/13 4:16 PM
Dilliander said...
What a lovely cool outfit for the summer holidays! Isn't it great when serendipity prevails... you make something a little different to your usual style and it turns up trumps :) Definitely a success and a winter version would be gorgeous too.
12/1/13 4:31 PM
karen n said...
So cute with the shorter sleeves!
12/2/13 0:04 AM
Mufffet said...
This is a lovely top! :) Looks very nice on you.
12/2/13 11:05 AM
mm said...
Nice pattern and very well sewn.
12/5/13 0:01 AM
Levone said...
Cute top!
12/11/13 9:08 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

HotPatterns 1101
photo
Review by Gemaki on 1/15/11
Read Review

Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern
Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern
Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Madeleine Skirt Digital Pattern
Victory Madeleine Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Patterns Cowl Neck Tunic Digital Pattern
Christine Jonson Patterns Cowl Neck Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 7161 Soft Bags
photo
Review by 2BSewing on 4/30/09
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3631 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3631 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3913 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3913 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us