Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Colette Patterns: 1026 (Hawthorn) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 173 times 21 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:lalalauren
photo
About lalalaurenstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/1/12
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/1/13 9:16 AM
Last Updated:12/1/13 9:26 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 
Project Photo:Colette Patterns: 1026 by lalalauren

Colette Patterns: 1026 by lalalauren  Colette Patterns: 1026 by lalalauren  
Pattern Photo:Colette Patterns 1026
Colette Patterns Pattern Info

More Info provided by lalalauren

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $18.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Chambray  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description:
Turn heads in this curve-hugging classic that combines gamine styling with a flattering and feminine fit.

A semi-circle skirt provides volume without the extra bulk of pleats or gathers at your waist, so you get a clean, streamlined look that's still beautifully feminine. The bodice is fitted with waist darts, while still providing just enough room to keep things comfortable.

While a flat collar and fitted shape give Hawthorn that late 1950s charm, menswear-inspired details like the sleeve cuff and placket lend classic touches that never go out of style. You'll be wearing Hawthorn year round, easily styling it with belts, cardigans, and jewelry.

Version 1 is a short sleeved peplum blouse, which pairs perfectly with a pencil skirt or our slim Clover pants. Version 2 has 3/4 length sleeves with a cuff and menswear-style placket. Version 3 is sleeveless, with armholes finished with bias tape inside (so no annoying facings poking out).

Pattern Sizing:
0-18. I made a size 6.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
It certainly did!

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Colette instructions are wonderful, and the Hawthorn sewalong posts cleared up any slight confusions I could have had (although I felt pretty confident sewing this up). My only minor frustration was I snipped notches in the armholes (out of habit), and because I wasn't attaching the sleeves and was using the bias tape, I had to do a patch-up job when I used the bias tape, because it was stitched with a 1/4" seam allowance and my notches were probably just more than 1/4". I will definitely remember this for next time!

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I am a huge fan of the drape of the skirt and the cuuuuute collar. I pretty much love all shirt dresses of all descriptions. I'm looking forward to making the peplum blouse, and perhaps one day the dress with 3/4 length sleeves! There were no "dislikes" but I reckon this dress would be ultra cute with pockets!

Fabric Used:
A polka dot chambray purchased off eBay from the UK. I think all up the fabric was about $40 AUD.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I sewed this up pretty much as the pattern is designed, with some length taken out of the bodice and even more removed from the back. I think I took about 1" from the bodice front and possibly 1.5" from the bodice back. I had to redraw the button holes, but that was about it. Bless Colette Patterns and their drafting for a C cup!

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I looove this dress and I looove the fabric. I'd love to make this dress again, and it really wasn't that time consuming. I would definitely recommend it to others - it's such a cute dress that suits many body shapes and is a wardrobe essential!

Conclusion:
I wholeheartedly recommend this pattern to other seamstresses. It's a cute dress that can be made in so many different fabrics/styles and I envision more Hawthorns in my future!

Thanks for reading! Feel free to check out my blog for more rambling/thoughts on the Hawthorn.
Buy this pattern for $18.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Vintagelover said...
thanks for the review. will have to give this one a try:)
12/1/13 10:08 AM
michellep74 said...
Very cute dress!
12/1/13 1:52 PM
ceedee said...
Very cute pattern and adorable in this fabric. Fits you to a T. Good to know Collette instructions are good - so frustrating when they aren't well thought out.
12/2/13 5:09 AM
SewLibra said...
Love your dress and red belt! Great fit, too.
12/2/13 8:26 PM
Meomyart said...
Great dress and fit.
1/4/14 11:03 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Self Drafted Pattern 106177-1002 jeans
photo
Review by geraldine on 10/23/08
Read Review

New Look 6889 Pattern
New Look 6889 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1280 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 1280 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 130436-1001
photo
Review by NicholeMc on 8/17/08
Read Review

Archer Shirt
Archer Shirt

Details
Price: $10.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Cascade Skirt Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Cascade Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern
Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt
Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us