Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8151 (MISSES' TOP) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 374 times 79 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:ladyithis
photo
About ladyithisstar
WA USA
Member since: 6/5/08
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 23
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/1/13 12:49 PM
Last Updated:12/1/13 12:50 PM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 8151 by ladyithis

Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 8151
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Great Wardrobe Builder
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Rayon Poly Lycra Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Blog post

Pattern Description

Pull-over knit top, ... with DARTS! (and half-length sleeve)

Pattern Sizing

I opted for the pattern for bust size 34.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

Almost exactly, unintentionally. The pattern shows a blue ribbed shirt, mine's silver.

Were the instructions easy to follow?

Oh, Sandra. I did get a little scared at first when I saw the wall-of-text per instruction, but as I read, you were VERY clear on your instruction, so that a lesser experienced sewist would know exactly what to do. I mostly skimmed the instructions after that, making sure that I was assembling the shirt in the correct order and hemming up the sleeves in the specified amount.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

I really like the darts. I'm not a busty girl, so even if I'm wearing a "girly" t-shirt, my bust looks rather... small. It's not that I want to BE busty, but the darts do a very good job of adding another dimension to an otherwise generic shirt. Including the collar band and excluding the optional ties (which I left optional), there's only four pattern pieces. If I had given the pattern more thought, I would have probably cut out the long sleeves, but since the weight of the fabric is pretty light weight, the half-length sleeves worked out really well and I can wear this shirt into the spring. No complaints about this pattern at all, actually.

Fabric Used

A sparkly silver knit from Fabric.com that's a rayon/poly blend.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made

Left the bottom hem a little longer than instructed, but I like longer shirts. And even though I top stitched the collar band, I still put a smidge of hem tape under it to make sure that it would stay put and not flip up.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

If I needed another basic shirt, I'd definitely go with this one first. Highly recommended.

Conclusion

The thing this shirt pattern has over other knit shirt patterns are the darts. It's a subtle, but nice detail that gives the garment more depth and a better looking fit.
Buy this pattern for $22.50     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
FreyaStark said...
Your T-shirt is a perfect fit and looks great on you. This is certainly a classic pattern.
12/1/13 4:11 PM
MariannaSew2Pro said...
Great look and I love the fabric!
12/1/13 5:06 PM
sewing for fun said...
Love the sparkly look! The fit is great, too. I made this T-shirt some years back in a textured knit. The darts allowed an easy method FBA for those who need it, it would be great also in sparkly lace or stretch sequins, as well as casual fabrics.
12/1/13 8:00 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Great looking shirt and a wonderful fit.
12/1/13 9:14 PM
Levone said...
Cute top!
12/1/13 11:48 PM
canei said...
Nice! I love your fabric!!!!!
12/2/13 7:48 AM
ladyithis said...
Thanks all! Sewing for fun, you're right, this would be an excellent pattern for gals who need a FBA :) (I never think about it, because it's not usually an adjustment I make :) )
12/2/13 1:26 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
This was my first successful Tshirt pattern and the one I use to judge the fit on any other Tshirt pattern. Yours looks lovely and I'm sure you'll use the pattern again. Love your choice of fabric.
12/23/13 0:42 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Butterick 5196
photo
Review by marvelous on 5/20/10
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Verona Jacket & Coat
Sewing Workshop Verona Jacket & Coat

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sabrina Shirttail Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Sabrina Shirttail Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lily Bird Studio Overall / Romper/ Jumpsuit Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Overall / Romper/ Jumpsuit Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2594
photo
Review by MrsCharism... on 3/3/13
Read Review

Burda 6904 Pattern
Burda 6904 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8930 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Vogue 8930 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us