Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 12-2010-101 (loose unlined coat) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 349 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:sfshaza
photo
About sfshazastar
CA USA
Member since: 9/12/07
Reviews written: 156
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 85 people
patterns reviewed: 156
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/1/13 8:28 PM
Project Photo:BurdaStyle Magazine: 12-2010-101 by sfshaza

BurdaStyle Magazine: 12-2010-101 by sfshaza  BurdaStyle Magazine: 12-2010-101 by sfshaza  
Pattern Photo: BurdaStyle Magazine Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Sweater Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description: A knee-length unlined coat from Burda. It was in the Dec 2010 magazine, but I purchased it as a download.

Pattern Sizing: It comes in sizes 36 - 44. I traced off a size 40, and did a vertical-only FBA.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Pretty much, except for my changes.

Were the instructions easy to follow? I don't recall looking at them. This is a very straightforward coat, with no lining or facings. All you really have to sew is the shoulder seams, side seams, and then sew and insert the sleeves.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I love this coat! It is not too oversized, but casual. It will be perfect for our chilly San Francisco weather.

Fabric Used: I used a wool sweater knit from Emma One Sock. It has a lot of loft.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: Other than the vertical-only FBA, I changed the in-seam pockets to curved welt pockets. I finished the front/neckline with a double binding made from a sweater knit. I also added optional closures. Finally, I made an infinity cowl/scarf from a faux Persian lamb that I can wear as a collar.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Yes, I LOVE this coat! It may be one of my favorite makes, ever.

Conclusion: I love this coat! More on the blog.

thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christas said...
Super cute!!! I love it!
12/1/13 8:37 PM
Adaire said...
Really stunning on you! Love it!
12/1/13 8:56 PM
FreyaStark said...
Agreed - really cute. It looks great.
12/1/13 8:57 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
This is FANTASTIC! A million times better than the Burda photo. How clever to use that cute closure. I've been lusting after that fabric on the EOS site!
12/1/13 8:57 PM
madbadger said...
Looks warm - and stylish!
12/1/13 9:39 PM
Dilliander said...
You look a million dollars, that is one fabulous coat!!
12/1/13 9:43 PM
SewWil said...
Amazing coat! I love everything about it. Great job!
12/1/13 10:04 PM
mhoutz said...
FABULOUS! Perfect pairing of fabric/pattern...
12/1/13 10:04 PM
Annette Wright said...
Totally awesome, and fits you much better than the magazine photo.
12/1/13 10:26 PM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous in every way !!!!!
12/1/13 10:35 PM
beanchor said...
I love this coat! Everything about it!
12/1/13 11:09 PM
Annette1 said...
Oh, maaaaaaaaaaaaaaan, I LOVE IT, TOO! With the COLLAR, it is truly DIVINE! :O)
12/2/13 0:08 AM
rivergum said...
That is a very sharp coat. Love the asymmetric front. The fur collar should keep you toasty too. Surprising how a bit of fur around the neck warms you up.
12/2/13 4:22 AM
ceedee said...
Love this look and would love to have it - looks great on you, too and so comfy! The cowl = perfect touch.
12/2/13 5:05 AM
Tiffy5t said...
Your coat looks amazing. Great work.
12/2/13 6:31 AM
BillieJean said...
Lovely coat!
12/2/13 6:54 AM
mnitts said...
Love this fab!
12/2/13 11:57 AM
Barbara V said...
sfshaza, it looks so rich, cozy and warm! Lovely job and a great style on you!
12/2/13 7:13 PM
TJSEWS said...
What a beautiful coat - a million times better than the pattern photo that's for sure!
12/2/13 10:25 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
Shams, I love your coat too, perfect for San Francisco weather or anywhere you need a light coat. Stylish too of course.
12/23/13 0:48 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Simplicity 2406 Misses Dresses
photo
Review by BlossomKyl... on 5/29/11
Read Review

Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Classic T-Strap Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 3-18 mos )
Peek-A Boo Classic T-Strap Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 3-18 mos )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2008-108
photo
Review by Amy-may on 10/6/08
Read Review

You Sew Girl Beret Pattern
You Sew Girl Beret Pattern

Details
Price: $15.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern
Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 5017 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
McCalls 5017 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $16.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3513 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3513 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us