SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5526 (Misses' Shirt)

32 more reviews
Viewed 468 times 
Reviewed by:Handshake
photo

 
 
About Handshakestar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 7/19/13
Reviews written: 21
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/22/14 1:17 PM
Last Updated:10/7/14 9:15 AM
Project Photo:Butterick: 5526 by Handshake

Butterick: 5526 by Handshake  Butterick: 5526 by Handshake  
Pattern Photo:Butterick 5526
Butterick Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Great Wardrobe Builder
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 Pattern Details
Fabric:Cotton - Quilting  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
Shirt with various sleeves and seams; see previous reviews.

Fabric Used:
I chose this old-fashioned print from the quilting shop back in December. After a while I decided it looks too much like a pajama top and went off it, hence the delay in finishing (nearly two months), but I got all the buttonholes and buttons in today, just to get it done! I still think it looks like a pajama top and may never wear it.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
Wanting another sewing challenge, I cut a new collar pattern with curved tips instead of points.

Piped the edge of the collar, the edges of the button/buttonhole bands, and cuffs, where they meet the sleeves.

I'm not sure I'd go through that again, but it was kinda interesting.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I already did. This is my third go-around of this Butterick pattern.

Edited to add: You'll be pleased to hear that I found a delighted recipient for this blouse, and here is a photo of her wearing it.



Available for sale on PR: $17.95 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Vancouvergirl said...
Incredible sewing job! Your shirt is gorgeous!
10/7/14 6:18 PM
Handshake said...
Thanks all! Now that I've successfully donated that shirt, I'm thinking of donating another finished garment which I will never wear. They think I've made these things for them, so it's a win-win. This one: http://sewing.patternreview.com/review/pattern/97507
10/7/14 12:57 PM
NEMDF said...
I think it turned out very nice, and LOVE the use of piping! I don't think it looks like PJs, but would be pretty with a vest, maybe, in coordinating reddish color? Your recipient is lucky for this fabulous gift!
10/7/14 12:17 PM
material excess said...
It has a very Victorian feel to it, but the photo say "shirt" to me, not pjs. I guess its' different in person. Glad you found its' true wearer!
10/7/14 10:41 AM
hopflower said...
It does not look like a pyjama top to me. It looks beautiful and you did splendid work. I love it.
10/7/14 9:53 AM
patternaddict said...
So -- make matching bottoms and wear it as pajamas. Problem solved!
10/7/14 9:28 AM
Truegem said...
Wear it! Really nice job!
3/5/14 5:10 AM
EleanorSews said...
I certainly hope you wear this. It makes me smile, so sunny and happy looking. I do like the buttons on that fabric to. All in all, I would wear this and so you have too!
1/24/14 12:01 PM
Pj3g said...
I think it is so pretty and dainty! I really love it!
1/24/14 11:15 AM
jacqui583 said...
I agree with the others, your workmanship is beautiful. I like the piping detail!
1/24/14 8:29 AM
Zoomitron said...
I didn't see "pajamas" at all. I'm a fool for yellow though. You should wear it, the finishing is beautiful.
1/23/14 3:34 PM
Helen near Sydney said...
Wow, I aspire to making a pyjama top like this!!!
1/23/14 2:00 AM
Handshake said...
Thanks again ladies! You are so kind. It's not perfect, I'm really hard on myself, you see. The only garment I've made which came up anywhere near my exacting standards was this one (a lined vest with bound pockets) http://sewing.patternreview.com/review/pattern/92628
1/22/14 5:52 PM
OlindaM said...
Such wonderful sewing, you must wear it!
1/22/14 5:40 PM
21wale said...
It's very pretty. I hope you wear it.
1/22/14 3:41 PM
carolynw said...
This looks so well done - everything finished so very nicely - I do hope you will wear this often - it deserves to be shown off a lot!
1/22/14 3:38 PM
Handshake said...
Thanks, ladies! Quilting cotton is very soft and lovely to sew. I forgot to mention in the review that I added plackets again. I love sleeve plackets and the extra work involved. (But you probably noticed that from the photographs ;-) )
1/22/14 2:37 PM
madbadger said...
Very nicely done!
1/22/14 2:34 PM
Adaire said...
I don't think it looks like a pj top at all. I second Sheeney.
1/22/14 2:34 PM
frame said...
Your fabric looks so soft. The buttons are perfect! Nice job.
1/22/14 2:08 PM
Sheeney said...
I would wear it with an orange pullover and faded jeans or Khakis -- fun retro look.
1/22/14 1:40 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

Buy Now
Perfect Pouches

Perfect Pouches

Buy Now
Simplicity Vintage 7147

photo
by: guineveres...

Review