Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3250 (Men Shirts) - Type:Mens - Shirts    printable version
Viewed 1547 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:lisaquilts
photo
About lisaquiltsstar
VA USA
Member since: 4/24/05
Reviews written: 52
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 13 people
patterns reviewed: 48
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/17/05 10:40 AM
Last Updated:5/23/05 9:55 AM


See other patterns in this category: Mens - Shirts    Mens    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mary Stiefer said...
I'm sorry you DH didn't like this. Perhaps another piece of fabric would work if you put some grommets on each side of the opening and closed it a bit with a piece of coordinating rawhide as a tie. I do appreciate your review and all the steps that you went through. Don't give up.
5/17/05 10:49 AM
Hilary said...
I agree, with Mary, I think some eyelets and some cording would be a great solution. It looks really good, and it would be well worth it to see if you can make it work. I hope you'll let us know what you decide!
5/17/05 10:56 AM
flowermama said...
Sorry you had trouble with this pattern but Mary's idea sounds great to perhaps make this wearable for DH. BTW I recently made Simiplicity 4922, an "It's so Easy"pattern for my DH which is similar to this KS pattern. It has a banded collar option that my DH prefers to to the spreading collar. Perhaps your DH would like type of collar also. In any case, please update - I may have to get this KS pattern too! :)
5/17/05 11:24 AM
Cami said...
Nice save on the shirt, too bad that DH was disappointed. Mary's idea sounds good. Another way to go would be to sew in a dickey. Very informative review. Don't give up.
5/17/05 1:03 PM
Skymom said...
This shirt looks great--maybe you should buy your husband a nice t-shirt to wear under it!
5/17/05 1:13 PM
Mini said...
I was also disappointed with this pattern. In addition to the collar problem, I just didn't think was especially well drafted. It is very oversized, so checking finished measurements is a good idea. The armholes the larger sizes are awfully low even for a tall guy. I have the Simplicity pattern mentioned by flowermama, and like it better. The finished shirt looks more like the picture, too.
5/17/05 4:15 PM
AnneM said...
Thanks for the sizing warning. Perhaps a stiffer interfacing might make the opening edges stay "straight" and not reveal as much chest. The Simplicity pattern mentioned in the comments seems to be OOP.
5/18/05 5:03 AM
Celeste said...
I made several shirts just like this back in the 70's using a very similar Simplicity pattern (the collar was cut with longer and bigger points, since this was the disco era) but both patterns are basically the same. You shouldn't have redrafted the slit in the neck opening in the front. It may not have seemed like the picture but with the collar turning over it opens the neck edge out very nicely. Also the fabric needs to have some body so as not to look like pajamas. The fabrics I used were seersuckers and a homespun-type weave. I bought this pattern since my husband loved those ol' shirts I made him back when. I want to get one of those tropical prints that have a little body, like the nice weight quilting cotton which should work nicely. Anyway, give it another try and use the existing draft for the neck opening and a little heavier body fabric. You can see from the picture that it is a loose fitting shirt in order to fit over the head since there is not front button opening.
5/21/05 8:49 PM
AnneM said...
Love that fabric for your 2nd shirt. Thanks for this review. Celeste - thanks also for your comment. I will keep the fabric selection in mind. The RTW top DH has like this is a home-spun style fabric.
5/23/05 10:25 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Simplicity 2377
photo
Review by Yoggod on 2/2/12
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank
Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern
Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver & S Forest Path Cape Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver & S Forest Path Cape Digital Pattern  ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Skater Shoes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Skater Shoes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used curtains curtains
photo
Review by Passion4Se... on 1/5/10
Read Review

McCalls 6283 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
McCalls 6283 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8146 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 8146 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us