Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6910 thumbsup - Type:Dresses
Review submitted in Cocktail Outfit Contest Contest    printable version
Viewed 588 times 14 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:Tonya P
photo
About Tonya Pstar
AL USA
Member since: 9/6/13
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/15/13 1:31 PM
Last Updated:12/15/13 1:43 PM
Project Photo:New Look: 6910 by Tonya P

New Look: 6910 by Tonya P  New Look: 6910 by Tonya P  
Pattern Photo:New Look 6910
New Look Pattern Info

More Info provided by Tonya P

See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Brocade  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description: Misses' Dresses and Lined Jacket - This description is from the Simplicity website and it is incorrect. The jacket is not lined. However, the dress bodice is.

Pattern Sizing:Sizes 8 - 18 I cut view D in a size 12

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? I left off the attached belt, but otherwise it does look like the pattern photo. Dare I say better?

Were the instructions easy to follow? The written instructions are fairly basic for a dress with a lined bodice and a jacket. The illustrations were helpful as well. I didn't have any issues.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I love the princess seams and the bateau neckline. The only real problem I had is with the armscye. It is crazy wide. I made this pattern once before in a size 14 and thought if I took it down a size that would take care of some of it, but sadly, no. I have no experience with altering patterns, so I hit up the message board. While I did receive fantastic advice, this brocade fabric wasn't having anything to do with alterations so I took it on the chin and left it as is. I didn't like all the hand sewing, but thems the breaks. The jacket calls for hand stitching at the sleeves and bottom hem. The dress calls for hand stitching at the bottom hem as well as where the lining attaches to the waist and zipper area. The pattern instructions were clear and concise. The jacket and dress came together quite easily.

Fabric Used: The dress is a burgundy/gold paisley metallic brocade with a bordeaux polyester lining (bodice only). The jacket is a burgundy merino wool.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: As I mentioned earlier, I have no experience with pattern alterations but I should have made a petite adjustment in order to get rid of the side bewb. I left off the attached belt. I put it on the practice dress ( I was experimenting with fabric other than my normal quilting cotton) I made and was less than thrilled with the look. I think the belt I found on clearance ($4! heck yeh! it is a large belt, but a couple stitches later and tada! it was a small) gives it a little more zing.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I have found so many other patterns that I will be moving on to so no, I won't be sewing it again. I do recommend it to others as it is a lovely dress with nice options.

Conclusion: What I have learned on this particular sewing journey Notes to self:

* There is a vast difference between sewing a dress for myself at age 15 and then at age *ahem* 40 something. MAKE A MUSLIN FIRST!

* I am a petite and need to make pattern adjustments accordingly. MAKE A MUSLIN FIRST!!

* I never really looked at my "lines" until I sewed this dress. My shoulders do indeed slope forward. MAKE A MUSLIN FIRST!!!

* Sewing brocade fabric is probably out of my league. Good thing my DGDs are happy with quilting cotton and fleece. I'm thinking my next project will be a knit fabric. I'll be MAKING A MUSLIN FIRST!!!!

* My DH isn't exactly a professional photographer, but he was very patient and did a great job.
Buy this pattern for $4.49     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
dinagideon said...
I am a magpie, so my eye was immediately drawn to this shiny dress. It is beautiful, and I would love to see it on you! Enjoy wearing it!
12/8/13 10:11 AM
CissieW said...
Gorgeous fabric! Can't wait to see it finished!
12/8/13 11:03 PM
dinagideon said...
Gorgeous on you!!!
12/10/13 10:53 PM
LauraHarkawik said...
Beautiful dress - well done!
12/11/13 8:49 AM
Quickie said...
this will make you very pretty
12/11/13 12:48 PM
slmstyle said...
Pretty dress! I love the neckline, so flattering!
12/15/13 1:54 PM
atymonw said...
I think your dress turned out gorgeous! I also love it with the jacket and the shoes:) You may have been sewing out of your comfort zone, but you got great results.
12/15/13 2:11 PM
sewin said...
Love this and the fabric is stunning. Good job!
12/15/13 5:45 PM
cmcarr said...
This is perfect.
12/15/13 9:41 PM
Heatherrique said...
Elegant and very flattering on you.
12/15/13 10:27 PM
Pj3g said...
Great review! It's gorgeous and so are you in it!
12/15/13 10:34 PM
SewLibra said...
From one who makes a muslin rarely, only when I HAVE to, I probably would on this dress due to your advice. Your dress is so pretty and looks so nice on you. Love your accessories, too! Your DH can join the club with my DH on the photography...except my pics come out blurry and yours are great!
12/16/13 1:29 AM
SewWil said...
Beautiful dress and jacket! Great job!
12/16/13 3:53 AM
mnitts said...
The two pieces together look fab! Very elegant.
12/16/13 5:40 AM
Dianne22 said...
Tonya, your dress and jacket turned out beautiful! Your choice of belt is also perfect and the fit looks great. Now let me tell you a secret: if you think sewing for a 40 year old body is different from sewing for a 15 year old, just wait till you hit 70! LOL
12/16/13 10:36 AM
mesewlot said...
Wow! Beautiful, and the fit is great!
12/18/13 9:37 AM
ClioBklyn said...
Beautiful dress and wise words!
12/18/13 10:42 PM
JanElise said...
This looks great on you! The fabric is beautiful.
12/28/13 9:55 AM
Aroura said...
Stunning dress, and love your accessories!
1/1/14 3:33 AM
leoniep said...
Great dress! Elegant and flattering.
1/2/14 10:37 PM
madbadger said...
Very nice! I hate making muslins too, lol - but sometimes necessary.
1/3/14 11:46 AM
butterflyfly said...
Beautiful dress and jacket! love the shiny fabric. And your shoes go so well with your outfit!
1/4/14 10:18 AM
lyndle said...
Beautiful dress! I hope you get some great occasions to wear this to, it is stunning on you.
1/4/14 10:44 PM
Margaret said...
Great dress! Wonderful style for this stunning fabric!
1/5/14 10:43 AM
Sherry Art said...
You may not have had much experience in altering but this dress looks like a perfect fit in the photos. You have a good eye for fabrics too! Great job.
1/6/14 11:44 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Material Things 102
photo
Review by Anne Franc... on 3/26/06
Read Review

McCalls 6689 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
McCalls 6689 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2188 Pattern( Size XXS-XS-S-M-L-XL-XXL )
Simplicity 2188 Pattern( Size XXS-XS-S-M-L-XL-XXL )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2345 Misses'
photo
Review by PAMomof3 on 7/8/11
Read Review

Lily Bird Studio Juliette's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Juliette's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Tea Party Sundress, Bloomers, and Playsuit Digital Pattern ( Size birth - 24m )
Oliver + S Tea Party Sundress, Bloomers, and Playsuit Digital Pattern ( Size birth - 24m )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 604 Pattern
Petite Plus 604 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us