SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Christine Jonson> 945 (cuff pant)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1286 times 
Reviewed by:CycleGal
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About CycleGalstar
CA USA
Member since: 3/14/03
Reviews written: 64
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 59
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/18/05 10:54 AM
Last Updated:5/18/05 10:54 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $18.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $18.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mini said...
Thanks for a candid review. The pattern drawing makes it hard to tell what to expect from this pattern, so your photo is very helpful. If you like pleated tapered pants (my personal worst look of all time LOL), maybe you could get a similar style in Burda or Neue Mode that will have a better fit. The Neue Mode pants you reviewed look like a perfect fit.
5/18/05 1:34 PM
bunz said...
Good for you for sticking it out. Sounds like you learned some stuff. I've shied away from her patterns bec I don't want to sew and THEN shrink. Makes me too nervous:-)
5/18/05 7:47 PM
AnneM said...
Congrats on persevering (hmm, I have to look up how to spell that word). Personally, I think this no preshrinking thing is just a gimmick; fabrics have different shrink rates so you never know what you will get unless you buy her specific fabric.
5/19/05 7:00 AM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Your perserverance paid off with a nice pair of pants. Congratulations! To avoid taking a chance with fit, I preshrink all my fabrics before I sew, even CJ's cotton lycra. When using CJ patterns, do a flat pattern measurement before you cut, no matter what fabric you're using. Make fit adjustments to the pattern, and then cut your fabric, knowing your garment will fit. Incidentally, in my opinion, CJ's cotton lycra is well worth the price. The large part of the shrinkage happens in the length. You'll find that this fabric wears for literally years. It is best washed with the garment inside out, with lots of water in the agitator, so as to avoid rubbing the garment against other clothes. ALso, as a reminder -- it's a good idea to line dry, as the dryer wears clothing out quickly.
5/19/05 7:41 AM
cecelia said...
I just finished these difficult, for me, pants and also had trouble with the pocket/dart--figured I must just be stupid. I am long waisted, and the crotch was still low on me. I shortened the pants 4 inches on the pattern, then another 4 after making them. Who were these pants designed for anyway?? I admit--they are comfortable, love the fabric. I will probably go home tonight, redo the cuffs and the waistband now that I'm less frustrated.
5/15/06 2:44 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
More Knits
More Knits

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Simplicity 2831

photo
by: sunnysewin...

Review
Fit For Art Trouser Details for Eureka Pants

Fit For Art Trouser Details for Eureka Pants

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Children's Corner 275

photo
by: Jstarr4250

Review