Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Christine Jonson: 945 (cuff pant) - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 1279 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:CycleGal
photo
Friend of PR
About CycleGalstar
CA USA
Member since: 3/14/03
Reviews written: 64
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 59
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/18/05 10:54 AM
Last Updated:5/18/05 10:54 AM


See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $18.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $18.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mini said...
Thanks for a candid review. The pattern drawing makes it hard to tell what to expect from this pattern, so your photo is very helpful. If you like pleated tapered pants (my personal worst look of all time LOL), maybe you could get a similar style in Burda or Neue Mode that will have a better fit. The Neue Mode pants you reviewed look like a perfect fit.
5/18/05 1:34 PM
bunz said...
Good for you for sticking it out. Sounds like you learned some stuff. I've shied away from her patterns bec I don't want to sew and THEN shrink. Makes me too nervous:-)
5/18/05 7:47 PM
AnneM said...
Congrats on persevering (hmm, I have to look up how to spell that word). Personally, I think this no preshrinking thing is just a gimmick; fabrics have different shrink rates so you never know what you will get unless you buy her specific fabric.
5/19/05 7:00 AM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Your perserverance paid off with a nice pair of pants. Congratulations! To avoid taking a chance with fit, I preshrink all my fabrics before I sew, even CJ's cotton lycra. When using CJ patterns, do a flat pattern measurement before you cut, no matter what fabric you're using. Make fit adjustments to the pattern, and then cut your fabric, knowing your garment will fit. Incidentally, in my opinion, CJ's cotton lycra is well worth the price. The large part of the shrinkage happens in the length. You'll find that this fabric wears for literally years. It is best washed with the garment inside out, with lots of water in the agitator, so as to avoid rubbing the garment against other clothes. ALso, as a reminder -- it's a good idea to line dry, as the dryer wears clothing out quickly.
5/19/05 7:41 AM
cecelia said...
I just finished these difficult, for me, pants and also had trouble with the pocket/dart--figured I must just be stupid. I am long waisted, and the crotch was still low on me. I shortened the pants 4 inches on the pattern, then another 4 after making them. Who were these pants designed for anyway?? I admit--they are comfortable, love the fabric. I will probably go home tonight, redo the cuffs and the waistband now that I'm less frustrated.
5/15/06 2:44 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Truly Victorian TV-420
photo
Review by Nikki S. on 11/2/10
Read Review

Miranda Day Bag
Miranda Day Bag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things The Flight Cap Digital Pattern (004)
Simple Things The Flight Cap Digital Pattern (004)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Marissa Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Marissa Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2921
photo
Review by brissie71 on 7/19/12
Read Review

Vogue 8346 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )
Vogue 8346 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5841 Pattern ( Size ONESIZE )
Butterick 5841 Pattern ( Size ONESIZE )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us