Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Other: Thread Catcher Pattern (Sew & Style Thread Catcher) - Type:Crafts    printable version
Viewed 189 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:sfshaza
photo
About sfshazastar
CA USA
Member since: 9/12/07
Reviews written: 156
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 85 people
patterns reviewed: 156
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/10/13 1:22 AM
Last Updated:12/10/13 1:44 AM
Project Photo:Other: Thread Catcher Pattern by sfshaza

Other: Thread Catcher Pattern by sfshaza  Other: Thread Catcher Pattern by sfshaza  
Pattern Photo:

Pattern Info provided by sfshaza

Current Tags What is a Tag:
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description: A thread catcher pattern with detachable pincushion, optional posy and scissors tab. I purchased the downloadable pattern from this vendor.

Pattern Sizing: n/a

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? pretty much

Were the instructions easy to follow? they were good

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I was looking for a gift to make for a sewist and I saw this one on ebay. I liked the look of it.

Fabric Used: The pattern assumes quilting-weight cottons, but I used home dec fabric samples. I used stash fabrics, though I did have to buy some supplies, but not fabrics or interfacing.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: The fabric samples are very limited in size, so I had to make it work. I did change the dimensions of the thread catcher, very slightly. I also used a different weight to stabilize the thread catcher, so I changed the shape of my pincushion, too.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Yes, I like my thread catcher! I made two, one to bring as a gift to a sewing meeting, the other to keep for myself.

Conclusion: A nice little project. Once I had assembled the supplies, it went together pretty quickly. I did make some changes, but this is outlined on my blog.

thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
4 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CookMJ0531 said...
This is great! I would love to make something like this for me and my mom!
12/10/13 9:00 AM
61sew4fun said...
Great idea, thanks for sharing!
12/10/13 12:08 PM
Rhoda K said...
What great gifts and so pretty.
12/10/13 4:59 PM
Barbara V said...
Cute sewing aid for self or gift and great way to use up remnant fabrics.
12/13/13 3:55 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Simplicity 2406 Misses Dresses
photo
Review by dianconia on 3/13/14
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Basic Bolero Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Basic Bolero Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Art Smock Digital Pattern ( Size 2T-7 )
Peek-A Boo Art Smock Digital Pattern ( Size 2T-7 )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1816
photo
Review by Linda0902 on 9/23/13
Read Review

Victory Ava Paper Pattern
Victory Ava Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King
ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6643 Pattern
New Look 6643 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4486 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG )
Butterick 4486 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us