SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 965 (Choice of Camisoles)

29 more reviews
Viewed 1759 times 
Reviewed by:MaryBeth
photo

 
 
About MaryBethstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 1/1/03
Reviews written: 103
Favored by: 40 people
patterns reviewed: 90
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/18/05 5:22 PM
Last Updated:5/18/05 5:45 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Lingerie    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lou05 said...
Thanks for all the great hints on slinky. You may tempt me into a try because I love wearing slinky. You look terrific in the blouse and I love the middle photo jacket on you. You were brave AND successful. Nice job!
5/26/05 1:17 AM
PixieCat said...
Thank you so much for this informative review. I have a piece of slinky and a wonderful pattern but have been intimidated to try it. I'll save your review and read it a few more times before I begin. Great tops!
5/19/05 3:02 PM
MaryBeth said...
Everybody: thanks for the comments. The top with the ruffle is a different kind of slinky than the black/patterned fabric. It was a total surprise! Hopefully we'll get more/better slinky info when dear mentor (DM hehehehe) posts.
5/19/05 12:57 PM
PegL said...
MaryBeth, I've enjoyed reading all about your sewing adventures lately! Your outfits are all turning out great with such good fit! As for sewing on slinky...it's the reason I've invested mucho dinero at Chicos! Love the stuff but sewing with it is definitely a challenge! Kudos to you for conquering it!
5/19/05 9:10 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Nice looking tops. Looking good!
5/19/05 5:49 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Well the ruffle looks great! I will save this review for when I attack my slinky - which is ageing very nicely, thank you.
5/19/05 5:40 AM
Amanda L said...
I have an expensive RTW top with just the sort of ruffle you created as a "fix!" Thanks for sharing your process. It seems slinky is universally troublesome but oh-so-wonderful when you get it right. And you did!
5/18/05 10:38 PM
BjP said...
I love slinky, too.....I love the freedom of movement. Your garments look great...I especially like the squared design fabric. Lovely outfit!
5/18/05 10:08 PM
lmg said...
Great outfit and great review. Thanks for all the tips on slinky. I am not yet brave enough to try it. I like this pattern a lot as well.
5/18/05 8:59 PM
CarolynGM said...
Thanks so much for the slinky sewing lesson -- it seems a little intimidating, but your adventurousness paid off. I really must try this stuff. You are on quite the sewing rampage aren't you! Your closets will be full to bursting any day now .
5/18/05 8:17 PM
Karla Kizer said...
MaryBeth, I can barely keep up with reading your reviews lately, much less compete with the garments you are finishing. Thanks for the slinky lesson.
5/18/05 7:56 PM
bunz said...
These look great on you! Thanks for all the slinky lessons and kudos to you for being brave enough to try it. Wonder how it will feel during the heat of summer (if you get that there).
5/18/05 7:34 PM
Nickle said...
I really enjoyed your review, you have a great sense of humor. I think the ruffle looks good. The outfit looks very nice on you.
5/18/05 6:51 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

McCall's 5742

photo
by: ThreadsofF...

Review
SewBaby Easy Pieces Jumper Pattern

SewBaby Easy Pieces Jumper Pattern

Buy Now
DVD - Will this fabric work for you?

DVD - Will this fabric work for you?

Buy Now