Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Jalie: 965 (Choice of Camisoles) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1758 times 29 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:MaryBeth
photo
About MaryBethstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 1/1/03
Reviews written: 103
Favored by: 40 people
patterns reviewed: 90
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/18/05 5:22 PM
Last Updated:5/18/05 5:45 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Lingerie    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nickle said...
I really enjoyed your review, you have a great sense of humor. I think the ruffle looks good. The outfit looks very nice on you.
5/18/05 6:51 PM
bunz said...
These look great on you! Thanks for all the slinky lessons and kudos to you for being brave enough to try it. Wonder how it will feel during the heat of summer (if you get that there).
5/18/05 7:34 PM
Karla Kizer said...
MaryBeth, I can barely keep up with reading your reviews lately, much less compete with the garments you are finishing. Thanks for the slinky lesson.
5/18/05 7:56 PM
CarolynGM said...
Thanks so much for the slinky sewing lesson -- it seems a little intimidating, but your adventurousness paid off. I really must try this stuff. You are on quite the sewing rampage aren't you! Your closets will be full to bursting any day now .
5/18/05 8:17 PM
lmg said...
Great outfit and great review. Thanks for all the tips on slinky. I am not yet brave enough to try it. I like this pattern a lot as well.
5/18/05 8:59 PM
BjP said...
I love slinky, too.....I love the freedom of movement. Your garments look great...I especially like the squared design fabric. Lovely outfit!
5/18/05 10:08 PM
Amanda L said...
I have an expensive RTW top with just the sort of ruffle you created as a "fix!" Thanks for sharing your process. It seems slinky is universally troublesome but oh-so-wonderful when you get it right. And you did!
5/18/05 10:38 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Well the ruffle looks great! I will save this review for when I attack my slinky - which is ageing very nicely, thank you.
5/19/05 5:40 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Nice looking tops. Looking good!
5/19/05 5:49 AM
PegL said...
MaryBeth, I've enjoyed reading all about your sewing adventures lately! Your outfits are all turning out great with such good fit! As for sewing on slinky...it's the reason I've invested mucho dinero at Chicos! Love the stuff but sewing with it is definitely a challenge! Kudos to you for conquering it!
5/19/05 9:10 AM
MaryBeth said...
Everybody: thanks for the comments. The top with the ruffle is a different kind of slinky than the black/patterned fabric. It was a total surprise! Hopefully we'll get more/better slinky info when dear mentor (DM hehehehe) posts.
5/19/05 12:57 PM
PixieCat said...
Thank you so much for this informative review. I have a piece of slinky and a wonderful pattern but have been intimidated to try it. I'll save your review and read it a few more times before I begin. Great tops!
5/19/05 3:02 PM
Lou05 said...
Thanks for all the great hints on slinky. You may tempt me into a try because I love wearing slinky. You look terrific in the blouse and I love the middle photo jacket on you. You were brave AND successful. Nice job!
5/26/05 1:17 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

BurdaStyle Downloadable 7969
photo
Review by julliams on 3/25/10
Read Review

Miranda Day Bag
Miranda Day Bag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern
Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Make-Up Purse Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Make-Up Purse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Santa Monica Sweetheart Tankini Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Santa Monica Sweetheart Tankini Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 03-2009-111
photo
Review by MichelleE on 11/22/10
Read Review

Burda 2509 Pattern
Burda 2509 Pattern

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7047 Pattern
Burda 7047 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us