SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Cake patterns> 0369 (Red Velvet Dress)

4 more reviews
Viewed 679 times 
Reviewed by:michellep74
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About michellep74starstarstar
WA United States
Member since: 7/19/07
Reviews: 172 (patterns: 148)
Body Type:
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 130 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/11/13 3:26 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 
Cake patterns: 0369 by michellep74 Cake patterns: 0369 by michellep74 
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 23 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $14.06 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $14.06 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MNBarb said... (1/24/14 9:03 PM) Reply
Both prints work for this well-fitted dress. Nice work!
Heatherrique said... (12/15/13 10:25 PM) Reply
Sleek looking dresses on you, Michelle!
The Dreamstress said... (12/15/13 6:03 PM) Reply
Great dress, and GREAT review! I think we really have to be realistic that almost no pattern is going to fit the majority of women right out of the packet, and everyone has preferences in how they like to sew.
sewtime said... (12/12/13 11:40 AM) Reply
Your dress is cute!
Mufffet said... (12/12/13 10:57 AM) Reply
Very nicely done! Love that print!
Baja Susana said... (12/12/13 7:43 AM) Reply
Very nice reviews. I have Tiramisu, and haven't yet opened the envelope. The Red Velvet looks nice in you, and like several others, I like the print. But the binding on the striped dress caught my eye. Nice work.
Rebecca D said... (12/12/13 6:46 AM) Reply
Thanks for such a thorough review. Love both dresses.
sandra17 said... (12/12/13 4:19 AM) Reply
Really helpful review Michelle - I've been looking out for this review from you! Lovely dresses.
3HoursPast said... (12/12/13 0:44 AM) Reply
Great review, Michelle! :) I think you're right about choosing to use the techniques that feel best for you in your sewing room, absolutely. As for converting the bodice to a connect-the-dots similar to Espresso, that's an excellent idea. I tried, dear me, I tried. I have an idea for another way to approach it but the sticking point is usually the pleats, and also the sheer variety of bust sizes and volumes and spacing. I figured I'd need four or five "dot points" at least, and it's troublesome to present it in a clear and non-scary way. So I opted instead to write in comprehensive fit help. I hope that doesn't come off as defensive or anything, I just wanted to mention, especially since I'm finding it impossible to find time to simply write about these kinds of things... :) Love your dresses, beautiful work, and thanks for sewing along! :)
SewLibra said... (12/12/13 0:34 AM) Reply
Nice dresses! I particulary love the black and white print.
MrsCharisma said... (12/11/13 9:58 PM) Reply
Very cute dresses! Glad you persevered on the pattern. It looks great on you. And, OMG the ITY is gorgeous!
Debbie Cook said... (12/11/13 6:29 PM) Reply
Your dresses look great! The print is my fav ... but then I'm a sucker for prints so they always grab my attention first. As the host of the unfortunate trainwreck, I think my final verdict of the finished dress itself was lost in the derailing ... I do like my finished dress and, as you found, the pattern works fine with the same modifications you mention. At some point, I'll pull out the pattern again and make another. (Love your hands/rings photo too ... so romantic!)
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2013-106

photo
by: CissieW

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2013-121

photo
by: Kemish

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern

Pattern Details
Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

Pattern Details