SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8430 (MISSES' JACKET)

30 more reviews
Viewed 562 times 
Reviewed by:jewelea
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About jeweleastar
TX USA
Member since: 10/19/05
Reviews written: 42
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 21 people
patterns reviewed: 41
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/15/13 3:32 PM


Vogue Patterns: 8430 by jewelea  
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 22 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
blue mooney said...
Beautiful! Love your simple, sophisticated embellishment, too.
12/17/13 8:00 AM
grey ann said...
Love your jacket and the mods you made to improve the fit. But I perused the rest of your photos and was wowed by the dyed and embellished tank tops! I found your blog entry for the fish shirt. Where (month?) can I find more?? Thanks.
12/16/13 6:19 PM
said...
Wonderful. The collar detail is a great improvement and all your "extras" really enhance the design.
12/16/13 4:26 PM
rivergum said...
Love your version of this jacket and I am in awe of someone brave enough to felt their own fabric. Fantastic result! Re the pattern, I have made this jacket too, lengthened to a short coat, and I absolutely love wearing it. The width of the sleeves is perfect as far as I am concerned, just right to go over my Lagenlook tops. I have several more pieces of boiled wool and have ben looking around for patterns, but I haven't found any better than this one. The only thing I will change next time is to make the collar wider, and I think your treatment of the shoulder/collar seam is brilliant.
12/16/13 3:04 PM
redside said...
I love your version of this popular jacket. The details make it special.
12/16/13 10:29 AM
VivianZ said...
I love this jacket and the decorative stitching. I especially like you method with the collar seam. I have also boiled wool, but used a woven and like the result. Yours is an inspiration to try again, especially as i was gifted a lot of wool that I want to use up.
12/16/13 9:27 AM
CissieW said...
What a great jacket! Looks very cozy, too!
12/16/13 7:37 AM
Rebecca D said...
Simple and elegant. Thanks for the tip on sewing the shoulder and collar seam.
12/16/13 7:23 AM
Denise L Perry said...
This is a very helpful review and stunning jacket. I may try my hand at it after reading this review. Thank you!
12/16/13 7:15 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Very nice! Great job working around moth holes and fabric shrinkage!
12/16/13 6:50 AM
wendyrb said...
This is a simply thrilling jacket. I love the saga and how you shared it in your review and blog. Funny too. Since you are constitutionally incapable of sewing anything quickly you might want to check out the slow sewing thread for tortoises. Why sew quickly when you can turn out such personal and impeccable work? Thanks for documenting your process in your photos. Helpful.
12/16/13 1:16 AM
SewLibra said...
Wow, nice save on the fabric and it looks fantastic! Love the plum color and the topstitching.
12/16/13 1:06 AM
cmcarr said...
This is beautiful.
12/15/13 9:22 PM
MrsCharisma said...
Amazing. From the hole-y fabric to felting to the stitching...this is just fantastic.
12/15/13 6:42 PM
carolynw said...
Beautiful jacket - I too love this pattern and have made the back longer and really like that. Thanks for such a helpful review
12/15/13 4:59 PM
jlg said...
I love this!
12/15/13 4:52 PM
frame said...
This is a very nice looking jacket. I don't know what a two-step stitch is, though. Perhaps you mention it on your blog. I will go check it out. :)
12/15/13 4:31 PM
eleda said...
Great review & great jacket.
12/15/13 4:31 PM
Dee2 said...
I love your jacket! The fabric is perfect & the stitching you added really makes it special. I have this pattern & have been in a bit a quandary about making it b/c of problems encountered by other sewists & you have addressed all the issues that were plaguing me! Thanks for a great review.
12/15/13 3:48 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

McCall's M6604

photo
by: twinkle72

Review
Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern

Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt

Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt

Buy Now
New Look 6570

photo
by: myraminx

Review