SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8430 (MISSES' JACKET)

30 more reviews
Viewed 492 times 
Reviewed by:jewelea
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About jeweleastar
TX USA
Member since: 10/19/05
Reviews written: 40
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 21 people
patterns reviewed: 39
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/15/13 3:32 PM


Vogue Patterns: 8430 by jewelea  
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 21 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Dee2 said...
I love your jacket! The fabric is perfect & the stitching you added really makes it special. I have this pattern & have been in a bit a quandary about making it b/c of problems encountered by other sewists & you have addressed all the issues that were plaguing me! Thanks for a great review.
12/15/13 3:48 PM
eleda said...
Great review & great jacket.
12/15/13 4:31 PM
frame said...
This is a very nice looking jacket. I don't know what a two-step stitch is, though. Perhaps you mention it on your blog. I will go check it out. :)
12/15/13 4:31 PM
jlg said...
I love this!
12/15/13 4:52 PM
carolynw said...
Beautiful jacket - I too love this pattern and have made the back longer and really like that. Thanks for such a helpful review
12/15/13 4:59 PM
MrsCharisma said...
Amazing. From the hole-y fabric to felting to the stitching...this is just fantastic.
12/15/13 6:42 PM
cmcarr said...
This is beautiful.
12/15/13 9:22 PM
SewLibra said...
Wow, nice save on the fabric and it looks fantastic! Love the plum color and the topstitching.
12/16/13 1:06 AM
wendyrb said...
This is a simply thrilling jacket. I love the saga and how you shared it in your review and blog. Funny too. Since you are constitutionally incapable of sewing anything quickly you might want to check out the slow sewing thread for tortoises. Why sew quickly when you can turn out such personal and impeccable work? Thanks for documenting your process in your photos. Helpful.
12/16/13 1:16 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Very nice! Great job working around moth holes and fabric shrinkage!
12/16/13 6:50 AM
Denise L Perry said...
This is a very helpful review and stunning jacket. I may try my hand at it after reading this review. Thank you!
12/16/13 7:15 AM
Rebecca D said...
Simple and elegant. Thanks for the tip on sewing the shoulder and collar seam.
12/16/13 7:23 AM
CissieW said...
What a great jacket! Looks very cozy, too!
12/16/13 7:37 AM
VivianZ said...
I love this jacket and the decorative stitching. I especially like you method with the collar seam. I have also boiled wool, but used a woven and like the result. Yours is an inspiration to try again, especially as i was gifted a lot of wool that I want to use up.
12/16/13 9:27 AM
redside said...
I love your version of this popular jacket. The details make it special.
12/16/13 10:29 AM
rivergum said...
Love your version of this jacket and I am in awe of someone brave enough to felt their own fabric. Fantastic result! Re the pattern, I have made this jacket too, lengthened to a short coat, and I absolutely love wearing it. The width of the sleeves is perfect as far as I am concerned, just right to go over my Lagenlook tops. I have several more pieces of boiled wool and have ben looking around for patterns, but I haven't found any better than this one. The only thing I will change next time is to make the collar wider, and I think your treatment of the shoulder/collar seam is brilliant.
12/16/13 3:04 PM
said...
Wonderful. The collar detail is a great improvement and all your "extras" really enhance the design.
12/16/13 4:26 PM
grey ann said...
Love your jacket and the mods you made to improve the fit. But I perused the rest of your photos and was wowed by the dyed and embellished tank tops! I found your blog entry for the fish shirt. Where (month?) can I find more?? Thanks.
12/16/13 6:19 PM
blue mooney said...
Beautiful! Love your simple, sophisticated embellishment, too.
12/17/13 8:00 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Vogue Patterns V2820

photo
by: miausiau

Review
Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern

Buy Now