Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2555 (Child and Misses Adjustable Aprons) - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 71 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:Judy Kski
photo
Friend of PR
About Judy Kskistar
FL USA
Member since: 10/26/08
Reviews written: 66
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 63
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/13/13 0:28 AM
Last Updated:12/13/13 0:37 AM
Project Photo:Simplicity: 2555 by Judy Kski

Simplicity: 2555 by Judy Kski  
Pattern Photo:Simplicity 2555
Simplicity Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Easy & Great for Beginners
See other patterns in this category: Accessories    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
  • Tip: Narrow Hem for Bandanas
  • Current Tags What is a Tag:
    Fabric:Cotton - Quilting  [See other projects in this fabric]
    Related Links  
    Click on to add a link
    Pattern Description: Child's and Misses' Adjustable Aprons.

    Both of these aprons were made as Christmas gifts for my great niece and nephew who love to bake with their Grandma. The tie straps are criss-crossed in the photos just to keep them neat looking.

    Pattern Sizing: Size A: Child's S - L; Misses' S - L; the Race Car apron is a Size M and the Butterfly apron is a Size L.

    Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? For the most part. I made a few minor changes to the trim on View B.

    Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, they were well written.

    What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
    LIKES

    - The two styles included in the pattern which made it easy for me to make one apron for a little girl (View A: with the gathered skirt) and another for a little boy (View B: with flat construction).
    - The neck strap and back ties combined all in one which helps for fit adjustment as the child grows.

    DISLIKES

    - None.

    Fabric Used: All fabrics used are 100% cotton. I used John Deere green broadcloth for the pockets, armhole facings and ties on the Race Car Apron. These same elemets have been made with Andover Purple Dimples on the Butterfly Apron.

    Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

    - On the Race Car Apron, I left off the trim at the side edges and at the waist. Even though I had the yardage, I felt ribbon trim on the edge of the pockets was sufficient.
    - With the exception of the mitered corner detail, I used the technique above for hemming the bottom and sides of both aprons.

    Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Of course. Aprons are always nice to have, especially when they come in sizes for children AND adults.

    Conclusion: In making this pattern, I found a lot of beginner concepts. Some of these include:

    1. Patch pockets
    2. Trim application
    3. Gathering
    4. Understitching
    5. Narrow hemming
    6. Topstitching

    This would be a perfect pattern to use to teach a beginning sewing class.

    Buy this pattern for $15.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
     
    thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
    Merchants on PR
    SewBaby
    Unique Sewing Patterns
    Deals!
    Budo Bear Designs
    Asian Designs
    Web site
    Patterns from the Past
    vintage sewing patterns
    Deals!
    << Previous      Next >>
    6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
    r e n said...
    What fun aprons! Great way to help the kiddos make some memories.
    12/13/13 1:21 AM
    wendyrb said...
    Your bright and beautiful aprons are perfect gifts to enthuse children into the kitchen. Thanks for pointing out the principles of basic sewing in this pattern. These are excellent points to share in a review. Nice to have kiddlies and grownups all in one pattern envelope.
    12/13/13 1:45 AM
    MinaLMcGrady said...
    OMG- too cute and fun. I love to make aprons, i'll have to try this pattern or use some fun fabric..
    12/13/13 2:02 AM
    CookMJ0531 said...
    I love it. I am going to make matching mother daughter aprons for me and my toddler. I love this pattern!
    12/13/13 9:09 AM
    Michele Lommasson said...
    Such nice aprons. What nice gifts. My daughter had a little apron made. By a friend that she just loved to wear, I'm sure your niece and nephew will love theirs too.
    12/13/13 6:00 PM
    Pj3g said...
    Very cute! And wonderful presents they will make!
    12/13/13 7:20 PM
    Login
    Online Sewing Classes
    10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
    Fee: $49.00
    (Regular $49.00)
    10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

    Online Sewing Classes
    Altering Jackets
    Fee: $19.99
    (Regular $59.00)
    Altering Jackets

    Butterick 3955
    photo
    Review by mowse on 11/30/07
    Read Review

    Chelsea
    Chelsea

    Details
    Price: $8.00
    Add to Bag Add to Bag

    Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern
    Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

    Details
    Price: $22.95
    Add to Bag Add to Bag

    Peek-A Boo Pyper Ruffle Cardi Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
    Peek-A Boo Pyper Ruffle Cardi Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

    Details
    Price: $7.95
    Add to Bag Add to Bag

    Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)
    Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)

    Details
    Price: $15.95
    Add to Bag Add to Bag

    Vogue Patterns 1150 DRESS
    photo
    Review by Sandi S on 4/2/13
    Read Review

    Simplicity 1513 Pattern ( Size ONE )
    Simplicity 1513 Pattern ( Size ONE )

    Details
    Price: $16.95
    Add to Bag Add to Bag

    Kwik Sew 3772 Pattern
    Kwik Sew 3772 Pattern

    Details
    Price: $11.99
    Add to Bag Add to Bag


    Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
    Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us