SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6412 

3 more reviews
Viewed 1330 times 
Reviewed by:pittysmom
photo

 
 
About pittysmom
TN USA
Member since: 7/21/04
Reviews written: 19
Sewing skills:Beginner
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/20/05 0:14 AM
Last Updated:5/20/05 7:51 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coordinates    Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    Pants    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
dbsewer said...
I have this pattern also and am glad to see a review. It's a lovely outfit. Post your picture, I'm quite anxious to see yours. Do you think the sizing runs true, or does it seem on the loose side?
5/20/05 8:50 AM
PVA said...
What a beautiful outfit, it looks wonderful on you! Thanks for the review & congratulations on the zipper!
5/20/05 9:54 PM
jlg said...
Cute skirt. I really like the fabric.
5/21/05 5:14 AM
Debbie Spriggs said...
Lovely outfit! It looks great on you! I'm adding this pattern to my wish list!
5/21/05 7:11 AM
AnneM said...
Nice skirt, nice outfit. I was just looking at this pattern for the jacket. Is that ridge at the top of the hem?
5/21/05 7:41 AM
Mini said...
Very cute skirt, and nice color combination. I think I know what caused the ridge effect. It is easy to pull the thread too tight when blindhemming. It's also possible that the thread shrank ia bit when it was pressed. Either way, there are some things you can do about it: A. take the stitching out and re-do it with the thread a bit looser. You can try making a sample on some scrap fabric to get a feel for this. Pull the sample blind hem open and press to see what happens. B. Sew some ribbon or trim around the hem covering up the ridge. C. pretend it was supposed to be that way and call it a design feature!
5/21/05 9:37 AM
Hilary said...
Very nice! I love the pretty print, it goes beautifully with the top. This is very flattering on you!
5/21/05 2:09 PM
pittysmom said...
Thanks for all the great feedback. I can't wait to make the next one. I like Mini's idea for the ribbon trim, I think I'll do that, as I don't really fancy hemming this by hand again. (note to self: must get that machine blindhem foot out and practice with it tonight!) BTW, isn't this a cute top? Looks just like KS2694, but I wish they had done a FBA on it before they made it...LOL. I got it at Kohl's, they have lots of spring colors to match my skirts!
5/21/05 5:48 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Pretty skirt -- I love the colors. And what a great pair of legs to go with it! :-) Nice to have you reviewing patterns here.
5/29/05 8:44 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Simplicity 8735

photo
by: abbythomas

Review
New Look 6852

photo
by: valgal

Review
You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Buy Now