Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 1805 (Misses and Plus Tops) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 255 times 15 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:knitsewmuch
photo
Friend of PR
About knitsewmuchstar
VA USA
Member since: 10/31/08
Reviews written: 37
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 13 people
patterns reviewed: 36
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/14/13 4:15 PM
Last Updated:12/14/13 4:30 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 
Project Photo:Simplicity: 1805 by knitsewmuch

Pattern Photo:Simplicity 1805
Simplicity Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Plus    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:ITY Jersey  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description: Misses & Plus Size pullover knit top in two lengths with sleeve variations. I made a combination of views A and C.


Pattern Sizing: Misses & Plus sizes XXS to XXL.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I did not like the pattern instructions for finishing the neckline but otherwise I love how quick and easy it is to sew.

Fabric Used:. ITY knit from Fabric Mart

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: With this being my second time with this pattern I applied the neckline binding by sewing into a loop using wider seam allowances in order to snug up the neckline a little more. I then folded in half lengthwise with wrong sides together and pressed the binding. I marked both the neckline and neck binding in quarters, matched raw edges and sewed together, matching the markings and stretching the binding to fit as I sewed.

Also I shortened the length of the bodice by 2 inches.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?Yes and yes

Conclusion: This pattern will be added to my TNT collection of patterns.
Buy this pattern for $15.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MrsCharisma said...
Looks great! I've wanted to see this pattern made up. Is it sad that I recognized that ITY knit as being from FM before I read it? :)
12/14/13 5:01 PM
mary in FL said...
That fabric looks much better on you than on the sample, and the top turned out great!
12/14/13 7:22 PM
knitmachinequeen said...
Very nice. Especially like the fabric. TFS
12/14/13 10:15 PM
Obrooks770 said...
Cute top, I really like the fabric & it looks great on you!
12/15/13 0:15 AM
Obrooks770 said...
Cute top, I really like the fabric & it looks great on you!
12/15/13 0:16 AM
Obrooks770 said...
Cute top, I really like the fabric & it looks great on you! Sorry about the duplicate comments, my computer is acting up.
12/15/13 0:16 AM
SewLibra said...
Very pretty top and I love the fabric. Too cool how you placed the photo in the garment! You must have photoshop or something?
12/15/13 0:26 AM
imsewcrazy said...
Very pretty! Love the fabric! Great choice!
12/15/13 7:59 AM
Sue Parrott said...
Love it and your fabric is so cute!
12/15/13 9:19 AM
knitsewmuch said...
SewLibra, I use an app called FrameMagic.
12/16/13 6:38 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Simplicity 2283
photo
Review by Sherril Mi... on 3/6/11
Read Review

Oliver + S Class Picnic Blouse & Shorts Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Class Picnic Blouse & Shorts Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Lavender Handbag Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Lavender Handbag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6779 Misses Dress
photo
Review by LawsonVall... on 4/10/09
Read Review

You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $17.65
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Alex & Olive Tops
Sewing Workshop Alex & Olive Tops

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8943 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 8943 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6702 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
McCalls 6702 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us