Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5720 thumbsup - Type:Accessories
Review submitted in 2013 Holiday Sewing (November 15 - December 31) Contest    printable version
Viewed 142 times 18 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:MrsCharisma
photo
Friend of PR
About MrsCharismastarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 2/1/13
Reviews written: 109
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 40 people
patterns reviewed: 106
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/14/13 2:54 PM
Last Updated:12/17/13 11:10 AM
Project Photo:McCall's: 5720 by MrsCharisma

McCall's: 5720 by MrsCharisma  McCall's: 5720 by MrsCharisma  
Pattern Photo:McCall's 5720
McCall's Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Crafts    
Available for sale on PR: $12.76 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description:
Package includes patterns and instructions to make aprons; apron A has contrast overskirt, ties, pockets and bias binding; apron B has contrast pockets, ties and strap; apron C has contrast flounces and ties; optional contrast bow for kids.

Pattern Sizing:

S-XL, I cut a small for this one

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

yes!!

Were the instructions easy to follow?

Very easy.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

This pattern is super fast to make. The main portion used just 1 yard of fabric and 1/2 yard for the coordinating pieces.

I would use the wide ties for view C when I make it again. I love those.

I disliked the fact that the sides of the skirt are a separate piece. I assume the side piece is just large enough that it wouldn't allow a single piece to fit on 44" fabric.

Fabric Used:

Christmas quilting cotton from JoAnn. Lining material is broadcloth.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

I shortened the neckband 1". I lined the pockets and the entire apron.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

Yes and yes!!

Conclusion:

A gift for a sweet and giving coworker. Hope she loves it.
Buy this pattern for $12.76  List Price: $15.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mm said...
You are more advanced than I am. I have got as far as selecting the fabric from my stash for the apron I am planning as a Christmas present. I hope mine looks as nice as yours.
12/14/13 8:07 PM
SewLibra said...
Adorable apron! I used to make them years ago, but kind of forgot about them since I get so hot in the kitchen. Great idea for gifts and I'm sure your coworker will love it.
12/15/13 0:49 AM
MrsCharisma said...
Thanks ladies! Mm you've got time. :) I have to ship mine and we'll, to say the US postal service can be unreliable is an understatement.
12/15/13 8:44 AM
dhsewsalittle said...
Very nice! It's a great look for the holidays, and I love that you lined the whole thing (especially the pockets). Gives it a very finished look, and it should wear well through many a holiday feast. :)
12/16/13 9:59 AM
MrsCharisma said...
Thanks!! And, she LOVES it! She's actively wearing it around the office! :)
12/17/13 11:10 AM
mary in FL said...
I like the fabric combination. It looks great!
12/17/13 5:07 PM
canei said...
Nice!
12/18/13 12:50 PM
MrsCharisma said...
Thank you!
12/18/13 3:16 PM
madbadger said...
Nice job!
1/3/14 12:05 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Butterick 5520
photo
Review by Mahogany S... on 9/29/10
Read Review

Kwik Sew 105 Pattern
Kwik Sew 105 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4131 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22 )
Butterick 4131 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 2851
photo
Review by unfinished... on 7/3/09
Read Review

Oliver S Field Trip Cargo Pants and Raglan T-Shirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver   S Field Trip Cargo Pants and Raglan T-Shirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Ruched Maternity Skirt Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Ruched Maternity Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern
SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

HANDBAG CONSTRUCTION - A CD Book By Kenneth King
HANDBAG CONSTRUCTION - A CD Book By Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us