SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 319885-1000 

Viewed 165 times 
Reviewed by:sewing genie
photo

 
 
About sewing geniestar
BC CANADA
Member since: 1/24/13
Reviews written: 40
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 40
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/14/13 11:00 PM


Self Drafted Pattern: 319885-1000 by sewing genie  Self Drafted Pattern: 319885-1000 by sewing genie  
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewLibra said...
So cute and an excellent idea for gifts! I keep thinking I will take a break from garment sewing and make bags or accessories, and you have given me inspiration.
12/15/13 0:23 AM
sewing genie said...
I love making bags, too. I'm thinking about a lunch bag. ~.~
12/15/13 1:24 AM
jacqui583 said...
I love this! Functional and pretty.
12/15/13 6:44 AM
Baja Susana said...
Innovative design, how nice! I have been thinking of getting back to bag making, you have given me a nudge
12/15/13 7:14 AM
grey ann said...
Very clever. Like the polka dots!
12/15/13 7:39 AM
caper81 said...
Great idea! I love that it has a pocket for a cell phone:)
12/15/13 9:24 AM
sewingcanary said...
Hi Genie! You make such cute things! These will make super gifts. This is sort of a design question/suggestion. What I found with most of the close-up bags is they seem to not fold up so easy after theyíve been used a while. Have you found this? Iím not sure of the cause, but I get frustrated with them - like the pocket is too small or something. Or, they are too much hassle. After a while I donít bother. One of my faves has a bottom which folds in half and zips around. Closed it looks like a wide wallet or flat make-up bag. Itís a nice middle size, not as big as most grocery bags. One side of the zipper runs from centre across, down the shorter edge of the bottom, then across to centre again. Ditto the other. The longest side of the bottom has the shorter zipper section. A friend made me a great bag. Some of her gifts are odd. I wondered why on earth sheíd made me a tank top that was obviously too short for my long waist. Surprise! It fits perfectly in the rack that holds the storeís bags. It stays wide open for packing. Making it zip closed would be even better. Nylon wears almost forever. I made a little RED one - my ďGO BAGĒ. Itís for things I need to take next time I shop or whatever. Before I go out the door, I grab it. Itís about 11Ē x 8Ē x 4Ē. Iíve used it for years. The thread wore out and I restitched it. All these years and I donít think thereís one hole in the fabric. Itís a great size, however I didnít make the handles long enough to go over my winter coat easily. Cheers and Happy New Year Genie!
12/15/13 3:55 PM
sewing genie said...
This is my first time to make this kind of bag, so I am not sure that how it will be to fold them after it has been used a while. So far it is easy to fold and use. I didn't try the zipper versions yet. Happy new year, everyone.
12/17/13 2:33 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Simplicity 4076

photo
by: SueT

Review
Pamela's Patterns #109

photo
by: pt6356

Review
Sewing Workshop Helix Tee and Pants

Sewing Workshop Helix Tee and Pants

Buy Now
SewBaby Five Easy Booties Pattern

SewBaby Five Easy Booties Pattern

Buy Now