Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Self Drafted Pattern: 319885-1000 - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 159 times
Reviewed by:sewing genie
photo
About sewing geniestar
BC CANADA
Member since: 1/24/13
Reviews written: 40
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 40
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/14/13 11:00 PM
Project Photo:Self Drafted Pattern: 319885-1000 by sewing genie

Self Drafted Pattern: 319885-1000 by sewing genie  Self Drafted Pattern: 319885-1000 by sewing genie  
Pattern Photo:

Pattern Info provided by sewing genie

Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton Blend  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
I made these bags for Christmas presents for my coworkers. I used cotton - polyester blend with lovely polka dot prints. It's a simple bag with a case part sewn in, so it will not go missing. I made a prototype with the case part at the top, and tried to use it myself. That kind of made the top of the bag heavy because I put my phone and keys in it. After these experiment (~.~) I decided to put the case part a little lower. Once they are folded, they look like little purses. Phones can be tucked in, too. I also used some velcro to keep them folded nicely. I really like them. I will make some more with nylon. (It will be strong and handy on rainy days.)
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewLibra said...
So cute and an excellent idea for gifts! I keep thinking I will take a break from garment sewing and make bags or accessories, and you have given me inspiration.
12/15/13 0:23 AM
sewing genie said...
I love making bags, too. I'm thinking about a lunch bag. ~.~
12/15/13 1:24 AM
jacqui583 said...
I love this! Functional and pretty.
12/15/13 6:44 AM
Baja Susana said...
Innovative design, how nice! I have been thinking of getting back to bag making, you have given me a nudge
12/15/13 7:14 AM
grey ann said...
Very clever. Like the polka dots!
12/15/13 7:39 AM
caper81 said...
Great idea! I love that it has a pocket for a cell phone:)
12/15/13 9:24 AM
sewingcanary said...
Hi Genie! You make such cute things! These will make super gifts. This is sort of a design question/suggestion. What I found with most of the close-up bags is they seem to not fold up so easy after theyíve been used a while. Have you found this? Iím not sure of the cause, but I get frustrated with them - like the pocket is too small or something. Or, they are too much hassle. After a while I donít bother. One of my faves has a bottom which folds in half and zips around. Closed it looks like a wide wallet or flat make-up bag. Itís a nice middle size, not as big as most grocery bags. One side of the zipper runs from centre across, down the shorter edge of the bottom, then across to centre again. Ditto the other. The longest side of the bottom has the shorter zipper section. A friend made me a great bag. Some of her gifts are odd. I wondered why on earth sheíd made me a tank top that was obviously too short for my long waist. Surprise! It fits perfectly in the rack that holds the storeís bags. It stays wide open for packing. Making it zip closed would be even better. Nylon wears almost forever. I made a little RED one - my ďGO BAGĒ. Itís for things I need to take next time I shop or whatever. Before I go out the door, I grab it. Itís about 11Ē x 8Ē x 4Ē. Iíve used it for years. The thread wore out and I restitched it. All these years and I donít think thereís one hole in the fabric. Itís a great size, however I didnít make the handles long enough to go over my winter coat easily. Cheers and Happy New Year Genie!
12/15/13 3:55 PM
sewing genie said...
This is my first time to make this kind of bag, so I am not sure that how it will be to fold them after it has been used a while. So far it is easy to fold and use. I didn't try the zipper versions yet. Happy new year, everyone.
12/17/13 2:33 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Simplicity 2951
photo
Review by amiaow on 2/26/10
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3979 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3979 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6214 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )
New Look 6214 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2921
photo
Review by dorothyn on 2/1/11
Read Review

Oliver + S Nature Walk Pullover & Knit Pants Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Nature Walk Pullover & Knit Pants Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Fairy Tale Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver   S Fairy Tale Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 201 Pattern
Petite Plus 201 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern
You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us