Online Sewing Class: Perfectly Fitted Shirt
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 1642 (Misses Skirt and Top)

Viewed 325 times 
Reviewed by:ak21
photo

 
 
About ak21starstar
AUSTRIA
Member since: 5/11/10
Reviews: 95 (patterns: 68)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 16 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/15/13 8:13 AM


Simplicity: 1642 by ak21  
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewLibra said... (12/16/13 1:03 AM) Reply
Love the color and without the "hole" in it. Great save! Looks better than the envelope.
ak21 said... (12/15/13 2:43 PM) Reply
thanks all & thanks @sewingcanary for your comment. it is really difficult to deal with knits at the best of times so yes, it could have been that it wasn't sitting straight to begin with. although, the problem i was experiencing more was that the pressure foot seemed to be stretching the seam out making it gape....something Ive not had with knits before. it may be that my machine just needs a good service so I'm taking her in & will try a knit thereafter to see if its improved. it may also just be the nature of that knit. Either way, Im loving this red top & Im getting stacks of wear from it already. x
sewingcanary said... (12/15/13 2:15 PM) Reply
Hard to say what went wrong without seeing what happened, however if you cut the pieces on the fold each side may not be the exact same size and grain direction. Multiply the error by 2 for top and lower section. When cutting, it can be difficult to get the under layer to be the same as the top, especially with light knits. If that’s the cause of the mis-fit, you could trace out the pattern so you cut full pieces instead of pieces on the fold. Also, knits are woven in bands, usually about 2”-3” wide. Perhaps you’ve seen some of the newer T-shirts that look like they’re almost cut on the bias? Getting the grain of the knit straight across and perpendicular to the long grain is important in how things lie – and hang. Everything needs to be lined up square before cutting, including the facings. Then pieces need to be squared up before pinning or glue-sticking. It’s rare that hand basting is a waste of time. Lay them flat rather than holding pieces while you pin. Having a marked board can be very helpful. I have little space for cutting etc and have found one of the fold-up cardboard ones fabulous. It’s covered with a 1” grid and includes 45 degree angles with parallel lines, and even includes some scallops, etc.. They are inexpensive and stashable. I love mine, not only for cutting but for pattern adjustments etc. What I think as ‘straight’ sometimes proves to be off. Knits are forgiving in terms of fit, but can take more care in aligning before cutting and sewing. Hope this is helpful. Good luck on your next.
thrillme said... (12/15/13 11:33 AM) Reply
nicely done!
Renee' S said... (12/15/13 10:56 AM) Reply
Your version looks great, love it. I looked at this pattern months ago, but decided I didn't really want the open front. Now it's on my wish list again, thanks for posting your review.
halleyscomet said... (12/15/13 10:45 AM) Reply
I actually like it better the way you did it!
RadarRadiance said... (12/15/13 10:05 AM) Reply
I really like what you did with the pattern to save it! I actually like it better and think you gave it a great design detail! Beautiful color too!!!
imsewcrazy said... (12/15/13 8:21 AM) Reply
LOVE LOVE LOVE this! I have never notice this pattern before. The color is great for the holiday. I think it looks great with the front gap closed. It would also look nice color-blocked.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Class Details

No Pattern Used Draft Your Own Maxi Skirt

photo
by: catintheha...

Review
Petite Plus D202 DVD

Petite Plus D202 DVD

Pattern Details
Fanny Pack or Purse Paper Pattern

Fanny Pack or Purse Paper Pattern

Pattern Details