Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 12-2013-119 (Cowl Top) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 235 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:Celticstitcher
photo
About Celticstitcherstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 5/7/11
Reviews written: 12
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/15/13 9:33 AM
Last Updated:12/15/13 3:30 PM
Project Photo:BurdaStyle Magazine: 12-2013-119 by Celticstitcher

Pattern Photo: BurdaStyle Magazine Pattern Info

More Info provided by Celticstitcher

Pattern Rating:Great Wardrobe Builder
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Polyester Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description: relaxed fit jersey top with waterfall effect collar created by pleats at the shoulders, elasticated waist and batwing sleeves. Can also be lengthened to short or long dress

Pattern Sizing:36-44 european sizing

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?yes it did

Were the instructions easy to follow?only if you can sew. I found I was looking for pictures to help. This is my first Burda pattern and the instructions are on the basic side.
I still can't find where you hem the facing edge and there are no instructions on seam finishes or stitch type for using stretch fabric.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?I love the look and how easily it comes together, I made this in an evening. I dislike all the tracing and the lack of markings, notches etc. I think I've been spoiled by paper patterns.

Fabric Used:a lovely polyester knit with a nice sheen to it. quite stable and easy to work with. I had already tried to make a cowl tunic from this fabric, it nearly worked. I cut this up and used the fabric I still had left, this led to a problem with the lower front, but I don't think it's too noticable

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:ah yes, where to start? From my measurements I traced a size 44 and made a 3"FBA on each side. I used this method and it resulted in a VERY deep cowl, quite indecent. I then carried out a further adjustment here to remove the 3" that the FBA had increased the width (depth) of the cowl. This worked a treat, although it could be raised even more. The FBA also increases the waist which is fine for me as I need extra fabric to cover my tummy and the elastic contours the top to my actual waist.

I increased the width of the lower front to match the new upper front.

I have a narrow back at the top so I re-profiled the centre back and added a seam.

Due to fabric shortage I had to cut my lower front with a centre seam, but I tried to disguise it with the pattern.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?Yes and yes. I'm planning to make a longer version in black now that I have a pattern that fits.

Conclusion: An easy pattern to sew up quickly and looks very stylish, however using Burda patterns is definately a learning curve for me and I wouldn't suggest a complete beginner uses it as the instructions are so basic.

thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
imsewcrazy said...
Beautiful top! I love the way it drapes. Looks great on you!
12/15/13 12:45 PM
sewingcanary said...
Gorgeous fabric! Iíve always blouses with additional fabric in front fearful of unwanted fullness, but I can see here itís all in the fabric. I was curious how your adjustments and discovered about Ĺ of your links donít work - tried them twice. You may want to check that out. Cheers!
12/15/13 1:37 PM
Celticstitcher said...
thank you sewingcanary I've fixed them. thank you imsewcrazy, the drape is due to the pleats at the shoulders and so eady to do
12/15/13 3:32 PM
Sew Whatever said...
This looks very good on you! worth all the effort!
12/15/13 6:43 PM
SewLibra said...
Lovely top and I agree with you about Burda instructions.
12/16/13 1:32 AM
JDpenelope said...
Lots of fiddling, but in the end you got a very nice top. I bought this issue on ebay, based on another review. Hoping that the drapey cowl, shoulder pleats and batwing sleeves will mean there's no need for a full bust adjustment.
12/16/13 7:41 AM
Celticstitcher said...
JD I think it depends how big an FBA you need, mine is 6" overall so I always do one, but it is roomy
12/16/13 8:15 AM
Quickie said...
This fabric is so nice, You did a lot of work in adapting the cowl
12/19/13 1:35 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Vogue Patterns 7610
photo
Review by velosewer on 4/11/09
Read Review

SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern
SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

JSM-Pant 1
JSM-Pant 1

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Digital Pattern
Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

HotPatterns 1107
photo
Review by Sue Anfang on 2/19/11
Read Review

Burda 7378 Pattern
Burda 7378 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5850 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 5850 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us