Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8633 (Misses' Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 401 times 17 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:slmstyle
photo
Friend of PR
About slmstylestarstarstar
OR USA
Member since: 9/17/08
Reviews written: 119
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 49 people
patterns reviewed: 116
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/15/13 12:23 PM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 8633 by slmstyle

Vogue Patterns: 8633 by slmstyle  
Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 8633
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Great Wardrobe Builder
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Denim  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description: Vogue Easy Options close fitting dress (or fit and flare) with raised neckline collar, self lined bodice and extended shoulders.

Pattern Sizing: 6-8-10-12. I made view C in a 12. It fits pretty well, but I should have made a slight pattern adjustment through the hip to fit me a little better here.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes, it does.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, they were easy. I made this version up as a wearable muslin for my previously reviewed leather bodice version I reviewed over a year ago.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I like the high collar neckline and the fitted shape. I also like the various views included to make in this pattern, including the longer skirt that I made for this version. No dislikes.

Fabric Used: Dark denim with a slight stretch. I think I bought the fabric at Mill End Store in Milwaukie, OR.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: None!

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Well, I already sewed it twice, so probably no, but I do recommend it.

Conclusion: I have only worn this dress once, but should really break it out and wear it more. I got a couple of compliments on it when I wore it the one time, and my pooch Oliver likes it too, so I guess it's a good one!
Buy this pattern for $25.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
imsewcrazy said...
Love this dress! You look stunning in it! As you do with everything you make. Your dog is loving this dress on you as well!
12/15/13 12:42 PM
CissieW said...
This dress is beautiful on you! Another pattern that is in my stash. Inspired by you, I'm going to pull it out!
12/15/13 1:04 PM
missyyz said...
Fabulous dress. The shape is so flattering. (love the puppy lol)
12/15/13 1:58 PM
atymonw said...
Very flattering on you! Love your little admirer looking up at you so lovingly:)
12/15/13 2:13 PM
stonecutter17 said...
It fits you so well, I don't know if it's the dress or you that makes it look so good!
12/15/13 5:47 PM
Jrhee said...
Very trim and chic!
12/15/13 6:11 PM
Couturemum said...
Love this on you! Very chic
12/15/13 6:43 PM
MrsCharisma said...
Super cute. Fits like a glove!
12/15/13 6:43 PM
ntpolite said...
Very cute and chic! Looks wonderful on you
12/15/13 9:04 PM
cmcarr said...
If I had a dress that looked like this on me, I would wear it at least once a week. Fantastic.
12/15/13 9:47 PM
Melwyk said...
Beautiful. I love the fit on this, and the way it looks both casual and elegant!
12/15/13 11:33 PM
SewLibra said...
Great style and fit on you!
12/16/13 1:15 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
This is definitely a good one! Hope you'll wear it more :)
12/16/13 7:34 AM
Sheenagh said...
This looks amazing in the denim! I remember when you made the leather bodice one too - both dresses are gorgeous!
3/20/14 3:53 PM
jjc said...
Looks very nice
4/1/14 5:48 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Vogue Patterns 8379
photo
Review by Dei on 10/5/08
Read Review

PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Copy Shop - Large Sheet)
PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Copy Shop - Large Sheet)

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Pleated Mary Janes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Pleated Mary Janes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8380 MISSES' DRESS
photo
Review by Wendy VanC on 7/15/10
Read Review

Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)
Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Details
Price: $26.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 401 Pattern
Petite Plus 401 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1004 Pattern ( Size 20 )
Vogue 1004 Pattern ( Size 20 )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1773 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1773 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us